We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Service and attention to every detail.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
House of Waine
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Service and attention to every detail.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the House of Waine before and after our safari. I can't say enough nice things about this hotel. The rooms were beautiful, the food was delicious and the service was incredible. From the moment you arrive you are pampered. The grounds are gorgeous. I would highly recommend staying here. We spent our first night in Nairobi here and enjoyed breakfast in the sunroom and dinner in the dining room. On the way home from our safari we just booked a hospitality suite and were given another beautiful room with all the amenities we needed and then had lunch and dinner there, before heading back to the airport. This made our long layover very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us before and after your Safari, we are glad you had a wonderful time on both stays.

We appreciate and are grateful for the encouraging feedback as we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    30
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
76
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We arrived quite late after a very long journey expecting to be immediately ushered to our room. To our surprise, we were greeted and attended to by a very alert, professional and extremely friendly staff. My first impression...gorgeous, absolutely gorgeous; and that impression stayed throughout our short stay. Everything was beyond our expectations, food, grounds and oh that marvelous staff, they even helped us learn some basic Swahili. We couldn't have been more pleased. Thank you all for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pwani room; very spacious, looked out over the magnificent gardens. Quite lovely s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are glad we were able to help you relax after a long trip as well as make your stay with us comfortable and enjoyable.

Thank you for the great feedback as we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We arrived at House of Waine about 10:15 pm after a 27 hour flight from California. We were immediately made welcome. We spent two nights and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. Beautiful grounds. The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. We had the best Snapper we've ever eaten. Edwin, Alex, Bernard, Douglas and the entire staff were there to make for a remarkable stay. We would recommend the House of Waine to anyone traveling to Nairobi, Kenya.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for the great feedback. We are glad our facilities and staff made your stay relaxing and enjoyable.

We look forward to hosting you on your next stay in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I'm pleased to read the reviews of House of Waine are still as I remember. We stayed at HoW back in 2005 when they just opened. It was my husbands' 30th birthday surprise and we Loved it! It was fabulous customer service and they created a very special private dining area for us on the day. It was very romantic, super service and good food. I got everything planned as I had asked for and they were more than generous:) i
I'm a very high maintanance type of gal and HoW went above and beyond to make this gal happy!!. It is very romantic so best for couples.
We still talk about it to this day but we left Kenya right afterwards and havent gotten a second chance to visit, whenever we move back to Kenya, we will definitely go back to HoW. I must add that it is quite pricy but worth it.
I would definitely recommend anyone that can visit it try out HoW. It's the gem of Nairobi suburbia!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are happy you have great memories from your stay with us and will be delighted to host you when you are back in Kenya..

We look forward to your visit.

Thank you on behalf of House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights and were overwhelmed by the attentive service and wonderful accommodation. Everything here is first class. We even arrived back from our day out with muddy shoes and the staff took them from us and cleaned them. Decorated in decadent leather and timber, this place has a warm and inviting feeling.
The food is sensational and the staff are very friendly. We are very pleased that we chose House of Waine as our accommodation in Nairobi and would recommend this place to anyone wanting a fabulous experience.

Room Tip: Rooms are enormous and the bathrooms are palatial. Every room will be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are glad you chose House of Waine and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your encouranging feedback and hope to host you on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you on behalf of House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the welcome to departure, House Of Waine is a refuge from a sometimes hectic travel schedule. There is an atmosphere of relaxation, regrouping and restoration as every need is attended to one hundred percent. The grounds are amazing - the rooms superb. No attention to detail is missed - highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback and we are glad you chose us. We look forward to continue making your stays in Nairobi memorable.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sighisoara, Romania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Kenya is new to me, but since becoming a regular traveller to Nairobi in 2013, I have been delighted by my experiences at House of Waine. The location is ideal, close enough to the city, but set away in a green and quiet area close to many attractions. But it is not the location that thrills, but the House itself and the service one experiences. Set in its own gardens, this former private home feels exactly that, with numerous details worth writing home about eg rooms are not numbered but named, my favourite being Tembo, thus themed on elephants, Tembo meaning Elephant in Swahili, the menu is short but varies at lunch and dinner and all dishes are outstanding And finally the staff are wonderful, being courteous and always going the extra mile to assure one's comfort

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we are glad your experiences with us are delightful.

We highly appreciate your feed back and the whole team look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Waine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.