We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
House of Waine
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the House of Waine for one night on the way back from our honeymoon at the Masai Mara and on the way to Mauritius.

We wish we could have stayed longer tho, bcoz the little and charming hotel was amazing!! We got upgraded to to the biggest suite in the house and with a wonderful balcony facing the pool.

We had a delicious and romantic dinner for only the two of us and the breakfast was delicious too!

Totally recommended and aproved!

Thanks to all the staff!

Greetings from Sweden,
Paula & Anders Lentell

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellkity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and the great feedback. We look forward to hosting you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I decided to go on a volunteer vacation with "me to we", the first night we stayed at 'House of Waine'. It is located in the Karen area of Nairobi, it was very nice, absolutely beautiful decor, large rooms, swimming pool and lovely yard. It is also walking distance to 'Karen Blixen' museum. The staff was absolutely very welcoming and out of all the places I have visited, Kenyans are the nicest people!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for the feedback, we highly appreciate it.

We are glad you had a wonderful experience of our Kenyan experience.

Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went on safari for our honeymoon and stayed at the hotel before and after the trips to the bush. The staff was wonderful, place was lovely, and food was great. couldn't have asked for anything more when traveling through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your honeymoon. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and appreciate your feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I spent 4 nights at House of Waine with 16 colleagues and it was phenomenal. The conferencing facilities are up to par and I would recommend it as a conference destination for groups of 15 or fewer.

The rooms are very clean and all have a different theme and are tastefully decorated as is the entire house. The staff is friendly and call you by name from the moment you arrive, making you feel at home right away. Their menu is classic and there are a variety of items to pick from even at breakfast. The bread and muffins are home made and taste like heaven....

The grounds are manicured and tranquil offering several areas to relax including garden chairs and a lovely pool side.

Room Tip: If you prefer to have a standing shower, be sure to request for that as some rooms only have a batht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this facility for 2 nights it was nice affordable and a peaceful stay this is what we were looking for and sophisticated in all ways , nice food , clean rooms , great pool area over all worth staying but a little far of the city , but we never regretted it as it was what we were looking for.Thanks to all the management for making our first time stay in Africa a good one .

Room Tip: They have only 10 or 12 spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at the House of Waine in June 2012 and it was beautiful. A very tranquil setting and nice pool. The only downside was the hideous traffic on the Langata Road due to construction to widen it to a dual carriageway. The staff was friendly and the food quite nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for 6 days on business. Was skeptical at first as I've always stayed in the city center in one of the international hotel chains.
This is truly a lovely hotel if you are looking for something relaxing and quiet. The hotel's got only 10/12 spacious rooms. My room had everything i needed including air conditioning. There's a lovely swimming pool and pool area where you can unwind after a day at work.
The restaurant only has a one-page menu, but the food was VERY good each and every night. Service was top-notch and all the staff very friendly - they even greet you on your name every day.

The only 2 things against the hotel: There's no gym and its quite far from the city center (only an issue if you need to go there)

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
8.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.4 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#2 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#8 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#13 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#9 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing