We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of Waine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Save Saved
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House of Waine
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“House of Waine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I decided to go on a volunteer vacation with "me to we", the first night we stayed at 'House of Waine'. It is located in the Karen area of Nairobi, it was very nice, absolutely beautiful decor, large rooms, swimming pool and lovely yard. It is also walking distance to 'Karen Blixen' museum. The staff was absolutely very welcoming and out of all the places I have visited, Kenyans are the nicest people!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for the feedback, we highly appreciate it.

We are glad you had a wonderful experience of our Kenyan experience.

Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
67
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went on safari for our honeymoon and stayed at the hotel before and after the trips to the bush. The staff was wonderful, place was lovely, and food was great. couldn't have asked for anything more when traveling through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your honeymoon. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and appreciate your feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I spent 4 nights at House of Waine with 16 colleagues and it was phenomenal. The conferencing facilities are up to par and I would recommend it as a conference destination for groups of 15 or fewer.

The rooms are very clean and all have a different theme and are tastefully decorated as is the entire house. The staff is friendly and call you by name from the moment you arrive, making you feel at home right away. Their menu is classic and there are a variety of items to pick from even at breakfast. The bread and muffins are home made and taste like heaven....

The grounds are manicured and tranquil offering several areas to relax including garden chairs and a lovely pool side.

Room Tip: If you prefer to have a standing shower, be sure to request for that as some rooms only have a batht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this facility for 2 nights it was nice affordable and a peaceful stay this is what we were looking for and sophisticated in all ways , nice food , clean rooms , great pool area over all worth staying but a little far of the city , but we never regretted it as it was what we were looking for.Thanks to all the management for making our first time stay in Africa a good one .

Room Tip: They have only 10 or 12 spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at the House of Waine in June 2012 and it was beautiful. A very tranquil setting and nice pool. The only downside was the hideous traffic on the Langata Road due to construction to widen it to a dual carriageway. The staff was friendly and the food quite nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for 6 days on business. Was skeptical at first as I've always stayed in the city center in one of the international hotel chains.
This is truly a lovely hotel if you are looking for something relaxing and quiet. The hotel's got only 10/12 spacious rooms. My room had everything i needed including air conditioning. There's a lovely swimming pool and pool area where you can unwind after a day at work.
The restaurant only has a one-page menu, but the food was VERY good each and every night. Service was top-notch and all the staff very friendly - they even greet you on your name every day.

The only 2 things against the hotel: There's no gym and its quite far from the city center (only an issue if you need to go there)

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a small, sophisticated hotel that was originally a very large house with expansive gardens. Although it has many of the same facilities of a small hotel, it remains more of a large gracious home. Each of the bedrooms is furnished in a different style that reflects it's name. The bathrooms are large and have showers and tubs. There's wireless throughout the estate.

I had the hotel/guesthouse on a B&B basis. In the evening there is a very stylish restaurant on property with a limited, but very good menu. Breakfast was served on a covered, light filled terrace overlooking the large pool.

It's not close to downtown, but when the construction on Longata Road is finished it will be just a few minutes from Wilson airport. The location is close to the Giraffe Center, the Sheldrick Foundation, the Blixen House, that bronze store and the #1 rated (Trip Advisor) gift shop. It is probably not a good idea for a quick turn around. I arrived early, and left late.

Room Tip: The rooms are large. The "suite" in the center of the house is immense..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Waine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.