We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Elegant Property in an Exclusive Neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Save Saved
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House of Waine
Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Palm Springs, CA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“An Elegant Property in an Exclusive Neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a small, sophisticated hotel that was originally a very large house with expansive gardens. Although it has many of the same facilities of a small hotel, it remains more of a large gracious home. Each of the bedrooms is furnished in a different style that reflects it's name. The bathrooms are large and have showers and tubs. There's wireless throughout the estate.

I had the hotel/guesthouse on a B&B basis. In the evening there is a very stylish restaurant on property with a limited, but very good menu. Breakfast was served on a covered, light filled terrace overlooking the large pool.

It's not close to downtown, but when the construction on Longata Road is finished it will be just a few minutes from Wilson airport. The location is close to the Giraffe Center, the Sheldrick Foundation, the Blixen House, that bronze store and the #1 rated (Trip Advisor) gift shop. It is probably not a good idea for a quick turn around. I arrived early, and left late.

Room Tip: The rooms are large. The "suite" in the center of the house is immense..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
63
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Unfortunately we only spent one night at House of Waine.My first impression when walking into House of Waine on arrival was ‘I’m in Africa’. The British colonial-plantation style décor took my imagination away with its sturdy mahogany cabinets as well as rattan chairs and leather colonial style seats. We stayed in the Bustani Room, very spacious with views over the gardens and large bathroom. The gardens and pool were well maintained and secured with razor fencing which helped me sleep sound that night. The restaurant food was good and breakfast was superb. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend House of Waine.

Room Tip: bastani room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, WA USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

House of Waine is an excellent place to stay in Karen, a tony suburb of Nairobi. We spent our first two nights there after our long flights from the west coast of the US. Excellent in every way! Very close to the elephant orphanage, giraffe manor and Karen Blixen's house/museum. Road construction makes getting there from either Nairobi airport a bit of a time consuming event, but it's worth it if you're interested in what's close by. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The House of Waine is located close to the Giraffe Center and is a good base for stay in Nairobi. We were not able to use the swimming pool because it was too cold in the morning and evening when we were at the hotel. We found the staff to be spectacular, from the kitchen to the crew that takes your bags and the managers. Unfortunately we weren't able to sleep because they had some 3am arrivals who were a noisy group and hung out in the hallway to chat until 5:30am. Our room was directly over the front desk so perhaps that contributed to the noise. I also found the bath tub/shower a bit awkward.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oz
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel itself is lovely, but it is a little out of the way and with Nairobi's traffic congestion can take more than an hour to get to from the city - this will probably be fixed with the new road that is under construction, but until then, if you want to visit the city, it might be better staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Victoria Room has a lovely claw foot bath (the only one) but no shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you are looking for lush gardens; peace and quiet then this is the place to be. It has conference facilities and a swimming pool. the gardens are well maintained and it is placed in a quiet surrounding. this is perfect for those who want to be in the city but away from city noise and traffic. the food is also well thought of and nicely done.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent a night in House of Waine on our way through to Masai Mara and found it very convenient for Wilson Airport. The staff were very welcoming and we decided to not go out but have dinner in the hotel and the food was wonderful! The rooms were big and ours were interconnecting and had all the amenities we needed. We could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Waine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.