We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic experience in the heart of Karen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
House of Waine
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Corona del Mar, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Authentic experience in the heart of Karen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband, daughters (13 and 11) stayed here in September. What a wonderful place. The location is perfect for visiting the Elephant Orphanage, Karen Blixen's house and Giraffe Manor. The rooms were spacious, well-appointed. The showers were exceptional. The staff was very nice. The food was superb. The young chef prepared some exceptional dishes each night. And, prepared some special things for our daughters. The breakfast was always good and on time. We befriended some of the staff and it made our experience even better. The grounds surrounding the hotel are beautiful.

Room Tip: My daughters stayed in Tembo. We were next door in a room that was right over the kitchen. While i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
75
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Ontario
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed one night in a post-safari break before flying on to Dubai. The room was superb, the service excellent, but the food only passable. Unlike the big hotels in Nairobi, which could just as well be in Chicago, the House of Waine feels like Africa whilst offering superb accommodations, lovely grounds and an attentive staff. Dinner was okay, but not up to the standards of the accommodations. My wife and I have visited 12 countries in Africa (and more than 50 elsewhere), and the Malakai room is the best sub-Saharan accommodation in which we have stayed. Though expensive, the room rate is reasonable given the feeling of over-the-top, but sophisticated and subdued, luxury the room affords. Quiet, clean, huge, beautifullly decorated with an amazing private balcony overlooking the pool and garden, the room was one of the real high points of our month-long African tour.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wooloomooloo
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is an excellent hotel in a safe, upmarket suburb removed from the centre of Nairobi (which, unless you need to be there for whatever reason, is probably worth avoiding anyway). Highly personalised service, great rooms, wonderful setting and ambience. Not particularly cheap, but definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Any room here I've stayed in here has been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a 5* boutique hotel in Nairobi. Pleasantly situated in Karen, with nice helpfull staff. All rooms have an individual theme. Great for people like things to be spot-on.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed at this property pre safari. Great personal attention from the staff. Delicious food. Each room has a different feel with beautiful artwork and furnishings. Wonderful garden and pool. Close to Kazuri Bead Factory.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Having booked this property several times, and stayed myself several times, as a travel agent, I have to add my two cents. I find that this property was an excellent alternative to begin and/or end your safari. Seamless checkin, great rooms, good personal attention and good food. We, my group of six, found the staff to be accommodating and welcoming, anticipating our needs. While at the cabana, at least twice, attendants came over and asked if we needed anything, music was playing throughout. I found it quite a nice atmosphere. The decor throughout the property gave an authentic feel, in fact, several of my guests asked about many of the pieces on display throughout the property. I will definitely book this property again and I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: See if the Malaika suite is available...you'll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I had just arrived for our 1st night out and we had a very warm welcome and check in was very seamless. The rooms were excellent and the breakfast was mwah! Really loved it we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Waine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.