We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Waine

Save Saved
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House of Waine
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed at House of Waine on the last night of our trip to East Africa and were delighted with the experience.

The location is perfect; safely away from the tumult of central Nairobi, and close to the Sheldrick Center, where we visited orphaned rhino and baby elephants, a wonderful experience. It's also close to the Giraffe Sanctuary, which we didn't get to visit. The hotel feels very safe, and security is tight.

We stayed in the elephant-themed Tembo room, which is beautifully decorated in mostly silver, grey, black, and white. The elephant touches are subtle, including a picture of flowers that was actually painted by an elephant- very clever.

The hotel is immaculate, the food is excellent, and the service is attentive but not overwhelming. Also, they have free wifi, and let us borrow a laptop at no charge.

Overall, I wish we'd had more than one night at House of Waine, and would love to return there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
67
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We spent two nights in House of Waine - our second visit. It was like going back to stay with friends! The food was excellent - the room, out of this world - we got upgraded to the suite - and nothing was too much trouble. A lovely swimming pool set in beautiful gardens.
We will go back!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

This was the most romantic hotel experience I ever had. We stayed here for one night on honeymoon. We were given the Malaika suite which was just beautiful. The room is beautiful, with a draped 4 poster bed, huge bathroom , desk area, massive sitting area, dressing room and huge terrace. The House of Waine is like an old colonial house with beautiful soft furnishings. There was a bottle of biubbly waiting for us on arrival.
We had lunch, dinner and breakfast there., The food was so good, the best we had in Kenya and not as expensive as you would think given the standards. The staff were lovely and helped us sort out pour flights.
For dinner, they set up a private table on the terrace for us, with rose petals, candles and an open fire. It was just perfect. I would love to go back there and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone in that area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We've stayed in all the key places now in Karen between safaris and other trips, and this one tops them all. Beautiful place, peaceful, private and what a lovely garden! We felt very well taken care of and loved the experience. I'll echo the comments about the bed being too hard, but I requested an extra duvet to be placed on top of the mattress & it did the trick. I had 2 hectic days of business meetings in Nairobi traffic and pollution, and having the House of Waine to come back to after the craziness was such a welcome relief. We will be back. We even had a crisis where we could not get back to the hotel as planned in the Friday traffic crush between connecting flights, and they brought our bags to us at the hotel near the airport where we crashed instead. Great service and very much appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed here for one night on our way from Rwanda to safari in Kenya. We had red mixed reviews on the hotel but people we met in Rwanda gave a positive review so we were hopeful. The only downside was the trip from the airport which took nearly 3 hours to do a 45 minute trip. The hotel was is beautiful grounds, the rooms were large and beautifully decorated, the staff friendly and professional. The food and service in the hotel restaurant was excellent. It was a shame we only had one night at the hotel, I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone staying in Nairobi

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Service was beyond compare. When we mentioned we'd like a romantic table for dinner, we were guided to a private dining room, floor covered in rose petals, surrounded with candles and a private fireplace to warm the moment. Now that's what I call going the extra mile...the food was excellent, one of the best soups of our trip. Beef dish was creative and perfectly cooked. Wines were fantastic. Actually their house red (a spanish blend) would drink with some of the big boys. Rooms was large and well appointed (also rose petals when we returned from dinner). only negative comment was the bed was too hard for an extended stay. Thanks House of Waine, a memorable experience. Asante Sana

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed in the House of Waine at the beginning and at the end of our 2 week Safari. Both times we were fortunate enough to stay at the Malaika suite (which is an amazing room with a huge 30 sq meter terrace). The complimentary snack mini-bar is also a nice touch/ The house has a quiet, relaxed colonial feel and is a perfect place to simply chill out and relax before and most importantly after the safari. We found the staff extremely friendly and the food was spectacular. The heated pool and free high speed wi-fi are the great amenities (we couldn't get internet to work anywhere else in Kenya/Tanzania). It's also only a few minuted from the Karen Blixen museum and the Giraffe Centre (which sadly we did not get a chance to visit on this trip). Would definitely stay here again when we return to Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Waine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.