We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy Convenient for early morning Flights-between 3&4” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Panari Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Panari Hotel to your Saves list
The Panari Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Moshi
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fancy Convenient for early morning Flights-between 3&4”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is quite fancy, located near the airport, good security, nice hotel drivers, good taxi's comfortable bedroom, and generally very acceptable. It has an ice skating rink, for what reason, I have no idea. If you are doing all your work downtown, this hotel is not convenient because it is so far out and the traffic in Nairobi is terrible. We spent over an hour 30 minutes each way downtown and back.
The most unsatisfying experience was the check-in. After my husband was checked in, it was determined that I must want a different room. When it was established that I would be sleeping in the same room with my husband, another 45 minutes transpired as the staff were trying to move John from the room he was just checked into to a room for two! As it turned out, there was not one ready, and so we were charged an extra $40/night for me to share the room with him. It was the same king sized bed, the same space, but even with the extra $40, there was only one bottle of water and one key. We only ate one breakfast because our flight was so early. There was only one towel! We were pretty "amused" at this extra cost, amused being a bit ironic. It would be nice if they could have been prompt, happy that a room is a room when the cost of the room is already quite high. I would give it 3 stars for this, but it is quite convenient to the airport and we were most happy about that.

Room Tip: All were fine--this is a business traveler hotel. It is not convenient to any part of town but the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    54
    57
    15
    20
See reviews for
11
29
33
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Granted, we were only here for a night between flights but we're very happy with the service and the state of the room. We were met promptly at the airport as previously arranged and driven to the hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've just checked into this hotel. The room has stains on the carpet, marks/chipped study desk, and the room has not been well looked after. The staff have been waiting for the manager to visit the room and I've been waiting for 40 mins (no sign). I haven't been offered another room as they need to wait for the manager.
Having stayed at the Sankara for 3 nights over a week ago (which was great), I don't think I will be booking this hotel again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pan are hotel is the best place to sleep when you have a early morning flight we slept here on 11 September everything was okay the rooms are perfect bathroom is okay the restaurant is okay and they have three different restraints you can eat whenever you want. We really had a good night sleep here and in the morning it takes us like 20 minutes to the airport

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A five star hotel in the middle of Nairobi, located about 20 minutes from the airport.
The security at the hotel is very good, all cars are checked before being allowed in and customers go through a security search before being allowed in to the hotel itself.
The hotel has many facilities including the only ice rink in West Africa. There is a good restuarant on the third floor, a bar with bar food on the first over looking the main road and with a view of wild Africa beyond that. There is also an indorr swimming pool, sauna, and gym.

I was very well looked after at the Pianari Hotel by various employees including Bernard, Lillian and Cyros.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed here 6 hours waiting on delayed flights but the 2 meals we had from the buffet were great, the staff were incredibly friendly & the room was very nice. Near the airport & we even saw a giraffe in the scrub land opposite the airport on the drive to this hotel.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,


Thank-you for choosing to stay at The Panari Hotel.

We are grateful that you spared time to give us feedback and more so your compliments about our buffet, staff and the rooms. At The Panari Hotel we take pride in customer satisfaction. The Hotel is closely located next to Nairobi National park and from a panoramic view guests get to see wild animals, we are also conveniently located next to the airport which makes our guests travel logistics convenient at all times.

Thank you very much for taking time to write to us and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Panari Hotel this time for a longer time.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Conveniently located near the airport with a great view overlooking the game park. Service is average compared to Kenya's high standards but the food is great.
The facility needs improvement especially the toilets (tiles have served their time) and I would want to go back to this hotel but imagine how great it will be with better fittings and tiles.

Room Tip: The top floors have the best views of the game park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for choosing to stay at The Panari Hotel, your feedback is greatly valued. At The Panari Hotel, we always endeavour to deliver quality services to our guests and to ensure guests’ satisfaction has been highly achieved.

While we regret that our service and part of our fittings were not satisfactory, we appreciate your compliment about the food and the great location. Our guests always enjoy a panoramic view of the Nairobi National park that makes their stay memorable and the proximity to the airport makes all travel very convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Panari Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. Staying at The Panari gives you a chance to enjoy a session of skating. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Panari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.