We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a lay-over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Panari Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Panari Hotel to your Saves list
The Panari Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #35 of 119 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Perfect for a lay-over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

From the moment I was greeted at the airport by the reception manager and his driver (transfers additional to the overnight stay, but worth the investment for a hassle free trip to and from the hotel) to the minute they dropped me off again horribly early the next morning, the Paranri Hotel was just perfect for a lay-over.
My room was immaculate, the service was very attentive and the robes and toiletries meant I did not even have to open my bags during my six hour stay - as all my needs were catered for. While they served breakfast from 05.00 I was not hungry as the fruit in my room was a welcome sustenance. Thanks to the Bell Team, the reception team and the management - all went really smoothly.

Room Tip: Don't rely on the wake up call and set your own alarm - this is Niarobi and precision timing is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Panari hotel during your lay over. We greatly appreciate you writing to us and sharing your experience.

At the Panari hotel, we take pride in ensuring that our guests have a feeling of home away from home, with our main aim being guest satisfaction. We are delighted that you were won over with our airport transfer service, our rooms plus the amenities our staff and the general service.

It is comments such as yours that make all effort at the Panari Hotel truly worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Panari Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    59
    64
    16
    21
See reviews for
13
32
37
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Been staying at the Panair for a month now (work) It's not a bad place, the food is good although a bit overpriced. Breakfast is arounf 2500KSH, equivalent to £15 or so. It's self service which is good if you fill your plate every morning. If you just have coffee and toast thats a different matter. The rooms are clean but could do with a spruce up, one half of the hotel are lucky enough to look at the Nairobi National park, the other half is looking over an industrial estate!, The location is mixed, good for the airport but theres nothing else nearby to walk to. The nearest mall ina 30 minute walk up the road otherwise it's taxi's everywhere. The gym is petty good, selection of cardio and a decent weights rack/fixed machines - the sauna/steam room are very good.

The best part of the hotel are the staff, ended up knowing quite a few of them. They are always very friendly and polite and will go out of their way to help you.

After a month here I'm not ready to slate the poace so it can't be all bad!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor, better view and less noise from the nightclub on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for choosing to stay at The Panari Hotel for a month, It was a pleasure hosting you. We greatly appreciate your feedback and strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Your compliments about the breakfast service, our rooms, gym, spa and our polite staff are also highly appreciated. At The Panari customers satisfaction is our greatest achievement that is why we uphold high standards at all times.

Your observation about our location being favourable is notable and factual thus our guests always enjoy a panoramic view of the Nairobi National park and there is a mall that is nearby where guests can do their shopping.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Panari Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villeneuve, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Panari is close to the airport and probably a good choice for a very short stay. It does not have a welcoming reception desk and the employees do not look very motivated. The Coffee Shop downstairs has a more modern ambiance and the food there and in the main restaurant is good.

I loved the view from the large windows near the elevator. There is an (unmanned) sundeck which could be nice and a terrasse bar with Middle Eastern flair. Surprisingly most items on the menu card contain alcohol (tea + alcohol, coffee + alcohol, icecream + alcohol). I found that weird! There is an iceskating rink downstairs, but there is a poor welcome and you have to be there at a specific time to be admitted.

This hotel requires some renovation and a clearer positioning. It doesn't have much soul.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales and Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for choosing to stay at The Panari Hotel, It was a pleasure hosting you. We greatly appreciate your feedback and strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We appreciate your compliments about the Hotel especially the ambiance, food and the great view through the elevator. The Management has noted your concern about the front office reception and at the ice rink. Just to clarify that the ice rink operates at intervals of 1 hour to allow for ice formation. It is worth noting that we always endeavour to offer quality services to our guests so as to achieve customer satisfaction and it is comments such as yours that make all effort at the Panari Hotel truly worthwhile.

We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to The Panari Hotel to prove that we always strive to satisfy all our guests.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

i was at panari for 4 days and i can say it is an amazing hotel on a very busy road to mombasa and short distance to the airport. being that it is on a busy high way i can tell you that if you have never driven in a fast lane country , pliz dont drive. i took no chances and i used one cab all the time it helped me move around nairobi and i can say victor (my cab driver) was very good at his job, in that he knew where to pass when the tarffic got heavy and it would save me spending time in jam. i can say the food, ambience and drinks were worth the price and i would honestly look forward for the next visit to panari hotel , i hope i wont be there for bossiness. i got victor's number from one of my colleagues who had travelled recently to nairobi, kenya.

Room Tip: always book before getting there to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank-you for staying at The Panari Hotel for 4 days we appreciate your feedback. We acknowledge your observation about our proximity to the airport which greatly favours our guests travel logistics. Thank-you for your compliments about the food, ambiance and value for money.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with our service and the overall experience. It is worth noting that we always endeavour to offer quality services to our guests so as to achieve customer satisfaction and it is comments such as yours that make all effort at the Panari Hotel truly worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Panari Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Liberia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Panari is one of the best hotels in Nairobi that is very close to Jumbo Kenyatta International Airport.

A hotel with all amenities a traveller want to enjoy. Panoramic view of the National park from my room of the 12 storied hotel made my busy schedules easy and soothing.

Room was cozy and comfortable with bright and cool ambient.

The best part of the hotel stay is the sumptuous buffet breakfast comes complimentary with the room- really good spread of various fruit juices, cereals, cut fruits, varity breads, and of course the international delicaies of morethan a FULL ENGLISH breakfast. I also enjoyed the lunch buffet whihc was Indian themed on that particular day.

Staff was courteous and I had a detailed chat with the Sous Chef who helped me photographing the buffet. Thank you chef!

Over all it was an awaesome experience, I strongly recommed PANARI to all especially travellers who don't want to get into the heavy traffic and conjustion of Nairobi.

Room Tip: Select Rooms above 5th Floor, facing the Airport road for a far view of the national park .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to host you at the Panari Hotel. We greatly value your feedback and strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We appreciate your compliments about the Hotel especially the breakfast, rooms and staff. We acknowledge your compliments about the view of the park, the facilities and our proximity to the Airport which makes our clients travel logistics convenient at all times.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with our service and the overall experience. It is comments such as yours that make all efforts at the Panari Hotel truly worthwhile.

Once again thank you very much for taking time to write to us and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Panari Hotel.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo Province, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This Hotel is very near to Airport and hence good for transit passengers.

I have been to this hotel couple of times, the rooms are very Good with all facilities.Except that the wifi signal is weak in 5th Floor.

The restaurant is good and it offers Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. The best part is it has got very good salad offerings in the Buffet. Silverlining especially for guest like him they have 2-3 Indian dishes in their menu.

The Service though slow is good and the best of all is their Health Club and massage services in health club.

Overall good place to unwind for Transit guests who have to catch flights next day.

Room Tip: Please check Wifi signals in the room before you occupy if you want to spend time doing work as majo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for choosing to stay at The Panari Hotel. We greatly value your feedback. We appreciate your compliments about our proximity to the airport which always makes it very convenient for our guests travel logistics.

Thank-you too for the kind compliments about our rooms, facilities, meals and health club service. Your concern about the wi fi service on the 5th floor has been noted and our IT team is working towards improving this service. We are glad that you like our service even if we did not fulfil your expectations.

We always endeavour to satisfy our guests and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Panari Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was a wonderful hotel! Admittedly I was only there 3 1/2 hours, just to freshen up between flights coming into Nairobi and then back to the airport for a flight to Kilgari. The room was huge; the bathroom was huge. I had a long hot shower, then easily connected to internet and caught up on emails. The amenities were first class. OK, the breakfast wasn't the greatest, but if you order a special made omelet, it was fantastic. Coffee service was rather slow, but it was 5:00 a.m. and I think they had just opened. It's basically a buffet of a number of hot and cold items, although again you can special order an omelette if you ask. Security is very good. I was very pleased with my stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for choosing to stay at the Panari Hotel and for taking time to give us feedback which is a vital part of our progress.

I am pleased to learn that you are enjoyed your stay at The Hotel for the 3 ½ hours that you were here. More so we appreciate your compliment about the size of our rooms, internet connection, amenities and security.

We have noted with concern your experience about the breakfast and coffee service and we are working on improving it. It is worth noting that we always endeavour to offer quality services to our guests so as to achieve customer satisfaction.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Panari Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. Staying at The Panari gives you a chance to enjoy a session of skating. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Panari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.