We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Panari Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Panari Hotel to your Saves list
The Panari Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Was booked in after our flight was cancelled. Inside looks much better than the impression it gives from outside appearance.
Stayed on the 6th Floor. Calm and quiet. Enjoyed food at the Red Garnet Restaurant. Lovely lounge area on the 3rd floor, where apparently WIFI is much faster than in-room.
This is the only hotel I ever stayed where their WIFI login page specifically tells you, that you will be getting a "Throttled Connection" :) . In-Room WIFI was not good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the Main road may be quieter. Though you miss the "National park" v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for choosing to stay at The Panari Hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank-you for your compliments about our interior more so what comes with it; the calm and quiet environment, the food at our main restaurant, the lovely lounge and the wi fi speed. At The Panari we pride ourselves on providing quality services and on customer satisfaction.

We have noted with concern the in room wifi speed which we highly regret and promise that it will be improved.

We place great value in your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Panari hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    57
    59
    16
    21
See reviews for
13
30
33
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A great hotel very close to the international airport, unfortunately not close to downtown and with the atrocious traffic in Nairobi staying here and getting to meetings downtown would be a challenge. The rooms and restaurant are excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales and Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for choosing to stay at The Panari Hotel, it has been a pleasure hosting you, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank-you for your observation and acknowledgement about our proximity to the Airport which makes our guests' travel logistics convenient at all times.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience and very delighted to hear from you that our staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We also note your kind compliments about our rooms and the restaurant as well.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Panari Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I enjoyed my late lunch so much,we had just gone for sm cocktails and we decided to eat,the food was nice and tasted great.I had to carry sm home to my kids.the portions are normal.I would recommend it to my friends and I would definitely go back

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to dine at The Panari Hotel. We greatly appreciate you writing to us and sharing your experience and feedback.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with the dining experience more so the fact that you loved the food and had to take away some home. It is comments such as yours that make all effort at the Panari truly worthwhile.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Panari Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here a few times about 5 or 6 years ago and thought it was ok. Now it is dated, a mess there are cockroaches in the rooms, no hot water for a shower in the morning when I arrived. The only plus point is that is near to the airport. Staff ok. Restaurant on 2nd floor also ok and cheap. I would not go to this hotel again. Expensive and noisy. Pool only indoors, big and ok. Only outside 'Terrace' is facing the main road.

Room Tip: Try another hotel if you want a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Ronald Oromo - Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for writing to us, your feedback is greatly valued. While we regret that your stay this time was not satisfactory, we sincerely appreciate your choice to return to our hotel after quite a while. We are happy to take this earliest opportunity to respond to the concerns in regards to your stay with us.

The management has not only keenly noted your point of concern but has also addressed them. This is with a view of arriving at a long lasting solution to the points raised. On your concern about cockroaches in your room I am pleased to update you that a thorough inspection has been carried out and fumigation is underway. It is worth noting that we highly uphold quality standards to ensure customer satisfaction has been achieved. I wish to clarify that we have hot water available in all our rooms it is likely that there was a technical malfunction that evening which has been addressed.

We appreciate your observation about our proximity to the airport as well as your kind compliments about our staff and the restaurant.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Philippines
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Been in this hotel twice, it's my employers choice to stay here for my transit in Nairobi.

After a long trip from southeast asia to east africa, I did sleep well, the cleanliness is magnificent and it is very worth it to stay here, nice staff.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in front of the highway because you will see the wildlife....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Ronald Oromo - Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It has been a pleasure hosting you again at the Panari hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback which is a vital part of our progress.

At The Panari Hotel, we always endeavor to deliver quality services to our guests and to ensure guests’ satisfaction has been highly achieved.

We appreciate your comments about the cleanliness which is among our priorities in service delivery. We also thank you again for acknowledging our professional staff.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Panari Hotel any time.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Panari Hotel is close to the airport and the staff is extremely professional and helpful. The hotel is up to standard (best amongst other alternatives I have seen). The restaurant is well equipped and above average.
The negative side is the price. When paying this much in Europe you get more value for the money but some may say getting this quality in Africa is priceless. In summary good hotel that is recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

It has been a pleasure hosting you at the Panari hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience and very delighted to hear from you that our staff were extremely professional and helpful. It is comments such as yours that make all effort at the Panari truly worthwhile.

We place great value in your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Panari hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I can't really review the main hotel as it's a long time since I stayed there. It was then comfortable, but overpriced. However, they now have a facility that some reviewers have asked for and after trying this twice, I am quite won over. This is the Black Gold Cafe. It serves snacks and drinks, but also has a full meals menu. We have tried chicken wings, steak, kebabs with curry sauce and found them all well cooked and nicely presented. The ambience is comfortable, though the room is a little too big to be cosy. The staff are excellent: efficient and very keen to help. Prices are reasonable, too. When this becomes better known it could well rise to a five star rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Panari hotel after a long while. We greatly appreciate you writing to us and sharing your experience and feedback.

At the Panari hotel, we take pride in ensuring that our guests have a feeling of home away from home, with our main aim being guest satisfaction. We are delighted that you were won over with our Black Gold Cafe' that is known for roasted coffee, teas, light meals, smoothies and Desert.

The ambience at the Black Gold is breath taking and we are glad you had a personal experience of this. I will pass your compliments to the staff on their excellence, efficiency and being keen to help.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Panari Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. Staying at The Panari gives you a chance to enjoy a session of skating. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Panari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.