We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useful new cafe at the Panari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Panari Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Panari Hotel to your Saves list
The Panari Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi 00506, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 132 Hotels in Nairobi
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Useful new cafe at the Panari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I can't really review the main hotel as it's a long time since I stayed there. It was then comfortable, but overpriced. However, they now have a facility that some reviewers have asked for and after trying this twice, I am quite won over. This is the Black Gold Cafe. It serves snacks and drinks, but also has a full meals menu. We have tried chicken wings, steak, kebabs with curry sauce and found them all well cooked and nicely presented. The ambience is comfortable, though the room is a little too big to be cosy. The staff are excellent: efficient and very keen to help. Prices are reasonable, too. When this becomes better known it could well rise to a five star rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Panari hotel after a long while. We greatly appreciate you writing to us and sharing your experience and feedback.

At the Panari hotel, we take pride in ensuring that our guests have a feeling of home away from home, with our main aim being guest satisfaction. We are delighted that you were won over with our Black Gold Cafe' that is known for roasted coffee, teas, light meals, smoothies and Desert.

The ambience at the Black Gold is breath taking and we are glad you had a personal experience of this. I will pass your compliments to the staff on their excellence, efficiency and being keen to help.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Panari Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    72
    75
    19
    23
See reviews for
19
38
42
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ibadan, Nigeria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Hotel has a Nice Over-View of the Outskirts of the City, which projects the Image that Kenya really has some Very Good Jungle Safari to Enjoy which we all have heard only from the People / or Read in the Travel Books.

Room Tip: Front side Rooms has Good OverView.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Compliments of the new year from the Panari hotel. Its been a pleasure hosting you at the Panari hotel. We greatly appreciate your views and feedback and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Our panoramic view of the national park from the Panari hotel is breath taking and we are delighted that you experienced this fast hand. We are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience and you liked our location.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Panari Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I spent three night at Panari and I loved it. I honestly don't understand why some clients complain. The good people at Panari will go extra mile to please you. Keep it up Panari, I will be back for a week long stay next month. Bati

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part for our growth, for which we are most grateful and thank you for taking time to share your valuable and wonderful experience and feedback with us.

Sincerely, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts at the Panari hotel truly worthwhile.
Our aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests very seriously and always hope to exceed their expectations, thus going the extra mile!

Once again thank you very much for taking time to write to us and we look forward to welcoming you again for your week long stay next month, at the Panari Hotel.

Happy Holidays!

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was a very unassuming and not-so-pretentious hotel close to the airport that suited our needs for a comfortable and quiet night's sleep in a clean environment. The service was very good and friendly indeed with check-in greeted by a drink, hot towels and a big smile. The food in the restaurant (near the lobby) was filling and tasty, with enough variety if you were non-vegetarian, and didn't mind slightly everything slightly overcooked. The WiFi was not very strong in the rooms on the 5th floor and above (according to colleagues), but worked well enough in the lobby area. The conference rooms were excellent and security was top notch. The downside is that you feel like living in a shopping centre with excessive use of neon, tacky decorations and lots of beige and brown. That to one side, it was a pleasant enough stay for to make that early flight.

Room Tip: A room facing the main road will also offer views over Nairobi national park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Panari Hotel and for taking your valuable time to write to us. We greatly appreciate comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

I am delighted to learn that you had a comfortable and quiet sleep in a clean environment, our conference rooms being excellent and our security being top notch. It is the comments like yours that make all efforts at the Panari hotel truly worthwhile.

With regard to the food being slightly overcooked and the slow internet on the 5th floor, i have raised this concerns with our Executive chef and our ITC department respectively for improvement.

At the Panari, we place great value on your patronage and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Happy Holidays!

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed in with friends and i loved the location &serenity not much building to distract.
peter was wonderful and helpful with kind,nambura checked us in well and was grateful for inquirin on non smoking floor and sauna,gym,internet,meal times sure saved us as we knew what we would do in the day,as well as calling after checkin to know if we were settled and got about how to fix on bathroom lights,extra mile and touch. food was not great but workable and the carpets in need a facelift

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Panari hotel with your friends. Your patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful and for your time to share your valuable feedback with us.

I noted that you loved the Panari hotel location and the serenity. I am also happy to read from you that my colleagues Peter and Nyambura were of great help in your check in experience and also availing to you information about the hotel facilities. It is such comments as yours that make all the efforts at the Panari hotel truly worthwhile. I will share your compliments with Peter and Nyambura.

We place great value on your feedback and continued relationship with the Panari hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

it was a good experience staying in this hotel though it was a bit far from town but there is a shopping mall that u can pay 500 KS to be there for less than 5 minutes (taxi).
rooms - smelly
food- mostly Indian even for breakfast , putting beef & pork sausage in the same dish is awful idea .
staff- friendly
facilities - fair

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Panari Hotel and taking time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

At the Panari hotel, we take proud in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of being home away from home. Our main objective being guest satisfaction and quality delivery to exceed our guest expectations.

Unfortunately we have not been able to show this during your recent stay with us as indicated in your comments. I have shared your comments with respective departmental heads to put corrective measures in place to ensure that we exceed our guests expectations. We appreciate your critical but constructive feedback that will go along way in improving our service delivery.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Panari hotel and prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us.

If i could be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were there last month in October for a Business Seminar and we were a delegation of more than 400 people. The service was impeccable and the staff was capable of ensuring that all were satisfied.
I would especially like to commend Ronald, Piera and Princess, they were with us every step of the way and were very professional. Most business work shops feel like another day at the office but at Panari thanks to their versatility and organisation the Organising Committee had a chance to breath.Thank you.

Had a meal at the Black Gold Cafe on ground floor and the food was simply delicious, those ribs :) If it wasnt for the fact that we had to Organise the work shop I would have been there every meal!

Overall wonderful experience. Thank you Panari. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Sales & Marketing Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for choosing the Panari hotel to host your Business Seminar last October. We greatly appreciate comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

I would like to thank you for your appreciation to Piera, Princess and myself. I will definately share your delight with them. We are also glad you made time to sample our menus at the Black Gold cafe'. Our Executive Chef was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal at Black Gold Cafe'. Believe me, its comments such as yours that make all the efforts at the Panari Hotel truly worthwhile.

We place great value on our customers and your continued relationship with Panari Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you again at the Panari and hosting your business Seminars.

Kind regards,

Ronald Oromo | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.2 mi away
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#24 of 132 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
5.9 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#28 of 132 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oryx Hotel
Oryx Hotel
#89 of 132 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
4.1 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#25 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Panari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.