We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical African too expensive 3-star hotel promoted as 5-star.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Panari Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Panari Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Panari Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Typical African too expensive 3-star hotel promoted as 5-star.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

i think this is the 2nd best hotel relatively close to the airport. Nearby is the better Sereni Hotel, which used to be the temporary U.S. embassy. i assume the Sereni is more expensive. The sereni has better (and more expensive) restaurants.

The Panari is in a huge building, with multiple restaurants, shops, an ice skating rinkk, a disco and a great lounging area. The rooms are too small and too expensive for the price...but is typical for Africa.

There is NO hotel at the airport...think one is planned but will probably take years due to rampant graft and corruption in Kenya which makes everythimg slow and inefficient. The panari and sereni are the closest to the airport...downtown nairobi is much further, especially in bad traffic. The Panari is about 15" from the airport in light traffic and only 30" in heavy traffic. Downtown is 2 hours from the airport in heavy traffic.

If you want to stay in the best area, that is by the embassies. Downtown has the 2nd best hotel area. Westlands is the good entertainment area-near downtown. There is not much around the panari and sereni, but between the disco at panari and restaurants at both there is something to do,

Wednesdays, there is a big local craft market at the CapitalCentre-local shopping center-about 9 km towards the city. It is worth it if you want local stuff at cheap prices. For taxis, and local goods, u need to bargain HARD! The locals will rip u off if they can. The Capital Centre has a movie theatre, a great Indian restaurant and a big salon, among other things. The salon has manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, hair-everything and the prices are very reasonable.

For safety, no walking about after sundown, take a taxi...and use a taxi from the hotel grounds-get their name and number-call them when u need a taxi anywhere in nairobi- they will come pick you or will send a reliable taxi to pick you. Do not use a random taxi at night.

Like all places in nairobi, their are full and part time hookers in the disco and bars. if u dont like the girls there, i'm sure you can ask about anyone at the hotel and they will tell you how to find different girls...either where to go or sent to your room. also im 99% sure they have boys available too, for te ladies or the guys.

Room Tip: a room away from the major mombasa road will be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Managing Director at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Atpcliff,

We do acknowledge your effort to review our property and neighborhood following your visit in March, 2012.

Indeed this is valuable information to our management and other travelers as well.

As is our service improvement plan, We have been engaged in property improvement activities over the last year to ensure that our guests receive value for money.

This is a continuous exercise to keep the hotel at per with the modern travelers’ demands.

We would appreciate if you considered staying with us again to enjoy the renewed freshness.

Kind regards,
Managing Director – The Panari Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    52
    57
    14
    20
See reviews for
11
27
31
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We have 100 pax dinner the first floor The Walnut hall the service was very good and food specially Biryani was so good all the guest was enjoying. And serive by the hotel team was very good the indian food was enjoyed by many local Guys.
If any party in nairobi I will prefer the same hotel .

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Managing Director at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Dayaker,

It was great serving your team from Printpack during your event that took place at The Panari Hotel.

We are honored to have been entrusted with the hosting of your guests and indeed we are glad to hear that your enjoyed the party.

Your compliments have been extended to the entire team that committed their service to you.

We are grateful for the assurance of future support and we do assure you of excellent service at all times.

Thank you for taking your time to review our property.

Kind regards,
Managing Director – The Panari Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

During Nairobi peak hours, you are an hour away from city centre. The good news is - you are always 15 minutes away from the airport. If you are on transit or have business to attend close to the airport - this is a good option.

The front rooms overlook the Nairobi national park and have a great view.

The breakfast is usual fare and the restaurant also has nothing great to write home about.

In the city, you get a multitude of options for significantly lesser price and more access to Nairobi.

The rooms are very nice, internet is decent and he hotel concierge is very helpful, however it took us close to 30 minutes to check in and check out.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking the Nairobi national park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel welcomes you with arms wide open. There's a guard at the gate and there's ice in the ice-box. Everything is complete. Across the roadway you can see the Nairobi National Park pulsing in the distance.

If you need a place to stay just for a night while you're in transition, this is a great place to stay as you do NOT HAVE to deal with Nairobi traffic -- WHICH IS AWFUL! You can spend hours going nowhere.

Don't miss the stone stairwell going top to bottom on the backside of the hotel. Walk it. you won't be sorry :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Managing Director at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Glendon,

We are glad that you took time to review our product and services on this platform for other travelers to see.

Indeed The Panari hotel is the best transit point saving you the agony of missing your flight while waiting in traffic from the city.

It is a joy reading from a happy guest and we believe that you will always make The Panari hotel your preferred hospitality partner in Nairobi.

With regards,
Managing Director – The Panari Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked a flight from Lamu to Wilson Airport and Had 6 hours until we needed to be at the International Airport. We decided that we would find a hotel that had a bar and restaurant to waste some time. When we arrived at Panari they checked our luggage so that we could eat and drink. The respect they gave us was as if we were going to spend $200. Great staff and great end to our time in Kenya.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Managing Director at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Billy,
We are glad to read about your experience at The Panari Hotel. Thank you for stopping by, it makes us confident that we have a new guest to our list on your next visit to Kenya.

Being the nearest hotel to the airport, we have put everything in consideration to make this the best transit point to all travelers.
As you may have noticed during your visit, we had some construction work on ground and first floors.

The hotel management has invested in a world class lounge with a café and bar to be launched in the next few weeks.
This will serve as the best place to catch up on a short meeting with friends and a quick meal as travelers wait for their flight time.
We look forward to hosting you once again and hope that you will always make The Panari hotel your first choice in Nairobi.

King regards,
Managing Director – The Panari Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have stayed a this hotel on numerous occasions due to this is the one my work book for me.

This hotel is based out the main centre of Nairobi but is about 15mins away from the airport.

The rooms are always very clean and front desk service is great. I have never eaten at hotel, but does have a restaurant in the building, used to have a courtyard with food but as of Dec12 only 1 shop open!

Ice rink in the building! Seems funny for a hot country.

Gym and pool also in the hotel but starting to look a bit tired but still useable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of hotel to overlook national park and to see locals pass by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMwangi, Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear NeilMat,

Happy new year!

We are glad to have had an opportunity to accommodate you once again.

Much appreciation for the positive feedback and for sharing your experience with other travelers.

As you may have noticed, there is a lot of property improvement going on at the moment to enhance our guests’ comfort.

New food outlets will be open soon and so be assured of a whole new experience the next time you stay with us.

Wishing you a prosperous year ahead.

Kind regards,
James Mwangi
Operations Manager – The Panari Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent one night at this hotel and it was probably the worst hotel I have experienced in Kenya. The cost of one night, or 8 hours was over $300 and the rooms are tiny. If this hotel can find a way to charge for more, I am sure they would!

There are much better hotels in Nairobi that are more cost efficient and reliable than this one. I would not recommend this hotel, nor will I ever stay here again.

Room Tip: No good rooms, they are all small and way overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Guest Relations Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Laurence,

We have taken time to understand your grievances as raised in your review after your December stay.

We have also carried out our investigations and understood that our managers on duty at that particular time contacted you to explain the details on your bill.

You should therefore be in the know of our justification for our charges which pertained to more than one guest in the room.

We are therefore satisfied that the rate charged you was appropriated for the services rendered.

Should you wish to have further clarification, we will be pleased to offer it in confidence.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager – The Panari Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. Staying at The Panari gives you a chance to enjoy a session of skating. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Panari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.