We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the airport - Far from city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Panari Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Panari Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Panari Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Close to the airport - Far from city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

During Nairobi peak hours, you are an hour away from city centre. The good news is - you are always 15 minutes away from the airport. If you are on transit or have business to attend close to the airport - this is a good option.

The front rooms overlook the Nairobi national park and have a great view.

The breakfast is usual fare and the restaurant also has nothing great to write home about.

In the city, you get a multitude of options for significantly lesser price and more access to Nairobi.

The rooms are very nice, internet is decent and he hotel concierge is very helpful, however it took us close to 30 minutes to check in and check out.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking the Nairobi national park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    47
    54
    14
    20
See reviews for
10
26
31
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel welcomes you with arms wide open. There's a guard at the gate and there's ice in the ice-box. Everything is complete. Across the roadway you can see the Nairobi National Park pulsing in the distance.

If you need a place to stay just for a night while you're in transition, this is a great place to stay as you do NOT HAVE to deal with Nairobi traffic -- WHICH IS AWFUL! You can spend hours going nowhere.

Don't miss the stone stairwell going top to bottom on the backside of the hotel. Walk it. you won't be sorry :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Managing Director at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Glendon,

We are glad that you took time to review our product and services on this platform for other travelers to see.

Indeed The Panari hotel is the best transit point saving you the agony of missing your flight while waiting in traffic from the city.

It is a joy reading from a happy guest and we believe that you will always make The Panari hotel your preferred hospitality partner in Nairobi.

With regards,
Managing Director – The Panari Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked a flight from Lamu to Wilson Airport and Had 6 hours until we needed to be at the International Airport. We decided that we would find a hotel that had a bar and restaurant to waste some time. When we arrived at Panari they checked our luggage so that we could eat and drink. The respect they gave us was as if we were going to spend $200. Great staff and great end to our time in Kenya.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Managing Director at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Billy,
We are glad to read about your experience at The Panari Hotel. Thank you for stopping by, it makes us confident that we have a new guest to our list on your next visit to Kenya.

Being the nearest hotel to the airport, we have put everything in consideration to make this the best transit point to all travelers.
As you may have noticed during your visit, we had some construction work on ground and first floors.

The hotel management has invested in a world class lounge with a café and bar to be launched in the next few weeks.
This will serve as the best place to catch up on a short meeting with friends and a quick meal as travelers wait for their flight time.
We look forward to hosting you once again and hope that you will always make The Panari hotel your first choice in Nairobi.

King regards,
Managing Director – The Panari Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have stayed a this hotel on numerous occasions due to this is the one my work book for me.

This hotel is based out the main centre of Nairobi but is about 15mins away from the airport.

The rooms are always very clean and front desk service is great. I have never eaten at hotel, but does have a restaurant in the building, used to have a courtyard with food but as of Dec12 only 1 shop open!

Ice rink in the building! Seems funny for a hot country.

Gym and pool also in the hotel but starting to look a bit tired but still useable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of hotel to overlook national park and to see locals pass by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMwangi, Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear NeilMat,

Happy new year!

We are glad to have had an opportunity to accommodate you once again.

Much appreciation for the positive feedback and for sharing your experience with other travelers.

As you may have noticed, there is a lot of property improvement going on at the moment to enhance our guests’ comfort.

New food outlets will be open soon and so be assured of a whole new experience the next time you stay with us.

Wishing you a prosperous year ahead.

Kind regards,
James Mwangi
Operations Manager – The Panari Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent one night at this hotel and it was probably the worst hotel I have experienced in Kenya. The cost of one night, or 8 hours was over $300 and the rooms are tiny. If this hotel can find a way to charge for more, I am sure they would!

There are much better hotels in Nairobi that are more cost efficient and reliable than this one. I would not recommend this hotel, nor will I ever stay here again.

Room Tip: No good rooms, they are all small and way overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing Direct... ., Guest Relations Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Laurence,

We have taken time to understand your grievances as raised in your review after your December stay.

We have also carried out our investigations and understood that our managers on duty at that particular time contacted you to explain the details on your bill.

You should therefore be in the know of our justification for our charges which pertained to more than one guest in the room.

We are therefore satisfied that the rate charged you was appropriated for the services rendered.

Should you wish to have further clarification, we will be pleased to offer it in confidence.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager – The Panari Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

First time staying here. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Rooms were very nice and clean. Only issue which I resloved myself was with the faucets in the shower. Very hard to turn and difficult to control temperature. Could use some updating of the plumbing but construction in the hotel shows that they are making improvements. Close to airport. Security seems adequate. Numerous restaurants to chose from but beware that the breakfast buffet is extremely pricey (2800 KES). Nothing around the hotel area within walking distance but all needs contained within the hotel so this is not a great issue. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for short stays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMwangi, Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear CaptBoons,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Panari Hotel . We are appreciate you for taking time to share your experience with other travelers.

Our guests’ comfort is our primary concern and we are doing everything to ensure that you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay at our hotel. As you may have observed, we are working on property improvement to have all comfort and entertainment under one roof.

We recognize our location away from town and therefore the need for additional outlets. I also wish to clarify that our buffet breakfast is KES 1,750 and not KES 2,800.

We are sorry that the details of your bill were not made clear to you at the point of sale to justify the value.Above all, we hope you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to receive you again in the near future.

We the staff and management of The Panari Hotel wish you a prosperous new year!

Kind Regards,
James Mwangi
Operations Manager - The Panari Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uzes, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I spent a week at the Panari on business. Very convenient to the airport, where I was working, and thus able to avoid the legendary Nairobi traffic. The hotel isn't going to win any prizes for Best Airport Hotel I the World. Although its not that old, it feels dated, and in comparison to other Nairobi hotels charging the same rate, it has some work to do. One of the hardest Matresses ever!

However, the staff are what makes the Panari stand out. I had some major problems over the weekend with my laptop and the IT manager spent an hour and a half sorting it out. The business centre staff were great too, as was the room maid. Just couldn't do enough to help. All smiles and enthusiasm.
So, well done Panari staff. Do some upgrading to the infrastructure and you are on to a winner.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the National Park. You might see a giraffe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMwangi, Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Airportroamer,

We are glad that you chose to make The Panari Hotel your preferred accommodation provider during your recent business trip to Nairobi.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the hotel’s convenience to the airport. We are honored that you appreciate the excellent service offered by our members of staff and I will share your sentiments with our entire team. We take great pride in our staff and are happy to know that they made your stay easy and comfortable.

As you may have noticed, the hotel is currently undergoing renovations, on the ground and first floors, these renovations are designed to improve on our guests’ experience and comfort and shall carry on through next year when we shall make changes in the guest rooms. Facility improvement is a continuous process and we promise you a whole new experience on your next visit. Early next year, the hotel will be replacing the mattresses with the latest “Pocket Spring” technology to ensure perfect support and greater comfort.

Thank you once again and we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

With Regards,
James Mwangi – Operations Manager
The Panari Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. Staying at The Panari gives you a chance to enjoy a session of skating. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Jovago.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Panari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.