We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Panari Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Panari Hotel to your Saves list
The Panari Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Abuja
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Arrived from Mombassa had to stay at the hotel to connect my return flight to Lagos. I had a very good time and also enjoyed the club at the basement of the hotel. Very clean rooms and excellent service from the staff most especially the front desk guys. They made our stay a less stressful one for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMwangi, Manager at The Panari Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear okybay

We are delighted to receive your feedback and grateful that you took time to share your experience with other travelers on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your positive remarks on the clean rooms and excellent service especially from the Front Desk team. I will share this with the management and ensure that your compliments reach the respective staff. I am delighted that you also found time to unwind in The Shooters & Dips club while you were here with us. I am sure they gave you a great account of the Nairobi night life while in the secure vicinity of the hotel.

We pride ourselves in making sure that all our guests have a memorable stay and make The Panari Hotel their ideal choice and home away from home while in Nairobi.

We look forward to receiving you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,


James Mwangi
Operations Manager - The Panari Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    57
    59
    15
    21
See reviews for
13
30
33
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Arrived fro Jomo Kenyatta International airport and had to stay at the Panari Hotel as arranged by Kenya Airways. I wasn't expecting much of a hotel as it was just a transit arrangement and I was used to the 2nd rate hotels most other airlines use for this purpose. I was however pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. Quite large with abundance of space the hotel was very neat, clean, had wonderful view of the National park. The rooms also were very big, spacious and lavishly furnished. The bathroom was big, the twin beds in my room were big, comfortable and the wide array of delicacies in the restaurant were something else - great. Some of the infrastructure however are getting tired and you need extra muscles to press the elevator buttons and the toilet buttons too. watch out for mosquitoes which abound and remind the staff to spray your room with insecticide before you sleep. The front desk also are not too efficient as I had to request twice for internet settings to be given me and till I left no one came. A big minus is the wifi which you have to pay 6 US dollars an hour for! Overall value - fairly good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is not a 5-star, and probably note even a 4 star. But in terms of hotel for an overnight stay, it does the job and does it beautifully. I was there 2 yrs ago and I had told them that if they don't clean up their act, that hotel will be out of business soon; though I doubt it would be true, since they're the only game in town within a 6-mile radius. If you've ever experienced traffic in Nairobi, you'd sleep in any flea bag just to avoid missing your flight. But to my surprise, this time the team there was so customer-oriented that I could have pinched myself to know if this was the same hotel of 2 yrs ago. Case in point: around 7pm, I ordered an appetizer (samosas) and a main course. As I said that I was very hungry, they offered to bring me the appetizer first, which they did about 8 minutes later. After I ate the 4 (huge) samosas, I felt full. So, I called the kitchen and told them to hold the main course, and I'd call them when I felt I could eat it. Around 10 pm, I called them, they then brought the main course and everything I asked for (ice, ice pick, water, tabasco, etc.). I needed an adapter for my laptop. Called for it and got it in less than 5 min. Shower cap, same thing. I just couldn't believe this was the same hotel.
Breakfast is included in the room rate, and is plenty. I was leaving at 6h00 AM, and the restaurant was already open and staffed. Got a nice omelette, with all the trimmings, which got me starting my day on a good footing. Transport to the airport took less than 10 minutes. Had I stayed in town, I would have been looking at 1 hour at the very least.
For an overnight stay or even if you've been in Nairobi for several days, it makes all the sense in the world to spend your last night there: takes the stress out of the return flight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

My flight from Madagascar was delayed then i missed my connecting flight to Djibouti,Kenya Airways took in charge of my stopover in Nairobi.
They put me at Panari Hotel,as it is my second time in Nairobi i found perfet the location of Panari that makes you avoiding horrible traffic.
Staff are welcoming,food are good,room is clean and nice bath room,unfortunately the fan in the bath room is terrible,that is very annoying,and you need more than 4mn for elevator.
Anyway i recommend the Panari for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We, ten of us, were sent here by Kenyan airways when our flight was cancelled. The staff were excellent and efficient at organising or reception and rooms, and gave us lunch, even though it was after hours. The rooms were excellent and comfortable, although the layout was quirky with shops (mostly vacant on the ground and first floors).

It was disappointing that there was a pool, as we had no luggage - and thereby lies another small, but irritating fault. Given that this is an hotel used by airlines when flights are cancelled, i was very surprised that the desk could not give me or sell me a disposable razor. They volunteered to send someone out in a car to get a razor but who knows how much that would have cost! A colleague had already come over and brought us toothbrushes and paste, so I didn't ask for that, but wonder?

But we were fed well, including breakfast at 5.15 a.m. (often not possible in hotels!) and our enforced stopover was pretty comforatable

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed there for 10 night and the breakfast and dinner was bad for me. If you stay there, you have limited options for dinning since most of the resturants are located in the city and the traffic jam to the city is horrible. I had to change to Oli-Sereni hotel just accros the street and found the food to be ok. Though in both hotels the service is not the level of what you pay; $300 per night very very expensive. The only advantage you have is it is near to the airport and you can avoid the traffic jam if you don't want to go to the city.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park so that you can be able to see the animals
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Located near the airport (which is the only plus that I can think of), The Panari comes across as a below average hotel for the rates you pay. The interiors are tacky and gaudy and the room service is poor. The staff is friendly (but then aren't they supposed to be so??) and make up for the overall inefficiency of the way things are run - right from the check in to the check out process. The security is good - which is a big positive as far as Nairobi is concerned.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. Staying at The Panari gives you a chance to enjoy a session of skating. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Panari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.