We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Panari Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Panari Hotel to your Saves list
The Panari Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi 00506, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 133 Hotels in Nairobi
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A welcome stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We, ten of us, were sent here by Kenyan airways when our flight was cancelled. The staff were excellent and efficient at organising or reception and rooms, and gave us lunch, even though it was after hours. The rooms were excellent and comfortable, although the layout was quirky with shops (mostly vacant on the ground and first floors).

It was disappointing that there was a pool, as we had no luggage - and thereby lies another small, but irritating fault. Given that this is an hotel used by airlines when flights are cancelled, i was very surprised that the desk could not give me or sell me a disposable razor. They volunteered to send someone out in a car to get a razor but who knows how much that would have cost! A colleague had already come over and brought us toothbrushes and paste, so I didn't ask for that, but wonder?

But we were fed well, including breakfast at 5.15 a.m. (often not possible in hotels!) and our enforced stopover was pretty comforatable

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    73
    75
    19
    23
See reviews for
19
38
42
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed there for 10 night and the breakfast and dinner was bad for me. If you stay there, you have limited options for dinning since most of the resturants are located in the city and the traffic jam to the city is horrible. I had to change to Oli-Sereni hotel just accros the street and found the food to be ok. Though in both hotels the service is not the level of what you pay; $300 per night very very expensive. The only advantage you have is it is near to the airport and you can avoid the traffic jam if you don't want to go to the city.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park so that you can be able to see the animals
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Located near the airport (which is the only plus that I can think of), The Panari comes across as a below average hotel for the rates you pay. The interiors are tacky and gaudy and the room service is poor. The staff is friendly (but then aren't they supposed to be so??) and make up for the overall inefficiency of the way things are run - right from the check in to the check out process. The security is good - which is a big positive as far as Nairobi is concerned.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed in Panari just for a night stop, to catch a flight next morning, so I quess i can't really say much, only from an overnight quest point of view. If you're looking for a hotel for the same reason, Panari is good, provided you're willing to pay the high price.. It's 10 minutes drive from the airport, about 20USD one way on a taxi or the hotel shuttle. Hotel is big, 10 floors, nowhere close to some place to go, and there is security. The room is spacious and clean. There is internet connection, but not mini bar (there is a cooler but empty). There is a restaurant and a piano-bar but i can't say for the food since i didn't try.. The staff tries to be friendly and helpful. For an overnight stop, it certainly does the job pretty good, but comes at a rather high cost..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Panari is great.
Unfortunately it's a bit of a hot spot so there is extra security and a lot of black suits!.
Anyway overall they are just doing their job - so i feel safe there every time i stay in NBO.
Jude

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I've stayed here so many times I can't remember...neither can the management of the hotel by the way... you get "welcome back" messages in other hotels I frequently stay in, but no such thing exists in the Panari. Staff is overall friendly though.
You're also made to pay your room fare upfront, which as such is not a problem but it is annoying to wait, and wait, until eventually one of their credit card machines works, which is very pleasant after a long flight.
I've learned to take matches and candles with me, as it's the only way to have a relaxing bath. As soon as you switch the light on in the bathroom, a VERY loud fan comes on, impossible to listen to music and even more impossible to relax, it's like trying to meditate next to a Boeing 747 taking off....so the candles help.
The big pool is a plus, as well as the gym, and the proximity to the airport is also nice in traffic insane Nairobi.
I also stayed at the Ole Sereni a bit further down on Mombasa road, but price wise the Panari is much better and I didn't see the added value of the Ole Sereni.
So dear Panari, I will be back for a 20th visit soon, even if you will not recognise me, that's fine.

Room Tip: If you like wildlife ask for a room on the "road side" as you'll overlook Nairobi Nati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

i was sent to kenya with work for 6 months and spent 4 of them in the panari hotel. I loved my time in this hotel, the staff became like my family after that amount of time they were so so good. the wee thing i didnt like was the indoor pool but its not the end of the world. if i get the chance i will 100% be back there.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.2 mi away
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#22 of 133 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
5.9 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#27 of 133 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oryx Hotel
Oryx Hotel
#89 of 133 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
4.1 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#18 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Panari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.