We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Panari Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Panari Hotel to your Saves list
The Panari Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not a good hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Over priced, not good decor, slow and somewhat unhelpful staff. It took me 30 minutes to check in and 30 minutes to check out and I paid cash!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    55
    58
    15
    20
See reviews for
12
30
33
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

As part of a business trip, I booked reservations at the Panari Hotel due to the close proximity of Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. It is a short shuttle trip to and from the airport. I stayed in November of 2011 and the shuttle fee was $12.00 USD per person/each way for a shuttle. On my return in December of 2011, the fee had increased to $24.00 USD per person/each way. I had already prebooked the shuttle, so I was able to get the old rate.
I also negotiated a rate down to $150.00 USD per night, based on the corporate rate. I believe the listed rate is $300.00 USD per night.
I did find that between the hours of 3 pm and 6 pm it is next to impossible to find any place within the hotel to eat. I arrived at 2:45 pm and after checking in I asked about eating and was told that room service would be my only option until 6 pm. Not too bad, but something to consider if you are hungry. The airport actually had a couple of decent places to get a quick bite and some very good coffee.
One of the restaurants on the second floor, the Al Pasha Coffee Lounge and bar was a good place to get a light lunch. I enjoyed the hamburger and the Kilimanjaro beer. (Which is a great value compared to USA standards, and it is a truly delightful tasting beer). I was told during my December stay that several of the businesses located in the hotel no longer accepted US dollars. Just two weeks prior, it was not an issue.
I read another review that discussed the lack of coordination on the elevators, and that was a minor, but irritating part of my stay.
Lastly, the charges for Internet access are steep at $10.00 per day. I had to use a network cable to connect once in the room, and then had to clean my system several times due to various cookies that were downloaded. I took about five viruses off the computer once I returned home, but I also used the computer in other public access points, so I cannot blame it to the hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend a floor on the ninth floor that looks toward the Nairobi National Park. You may no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Only spent 36hours at the Panari-a quick business trip.
The hotel is secure, clean and room was comfortable with modern decor and facilities.
Staff were all helpfull.
Didn't get time to use pool, gym etc
In summary -for Nairobi, it provides a secure environment and caters to your needs together with the convience of being near the airport.

Room Tip: Instist on a quite room,not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Being put up at the Panari as part of a media group invitational to Nairobi, I had to stay where I was booked. Arrival handling was fairly swift, as I helped to find my own name on the guest arrival list. Getting upstairs one has to watch both elevators, which are not 'coordinated' and guests and staff are often seen to move from one to the other, pushing the buttons to eventually get one.
My 'superior' room, resembling a junior suite, was spacious, though the wardrobe unit was not 'built in' and standing next to what in a private residence would probably serve as a drink cabinet, wine bottle holders and back mirror included.
The desk was on the small side, a challenge for a writer used to spread out and a single socket at the desk made it a further challenge to keep all the camera and phone batteries charged up. On check in I was, upon making my case, given the courtesy of free internet access, for a travel writer an absolutely crucial component, but otherwise guests have to pay for this service I was told.
The bed and pillows were comfy, the duvet warm enough for the coolish nights, but lacking was 'dudu spray', aka anti insect spray, and when two calls to housekeeping would still not produce a can, subsequently causing nightly hunts for the little tormentors I eventually made a stop at a shop to buy my own.
A flat iron burn mark on the carpet stuck out like a sore thumb, and spoiled the impression of an otherwise clean room.
The dressing table, and I suppose ladies in particular will complain about this, lacked both overhead and side lighting but contained a hair dryer.
The bathroom, adequately equipped, had an exhaust fan installed which made far too much noise and was linked to the light switch, unable to switch it on separately. Perhaps this unit was faulty, but I rather guess those types from yesteryear just are noisy.
Another negative impression came from the traffic noise generated from the Mombasa highway, and double glazing, which could sharply reduce if not eliminate that noise, was notably absent. The view from 'this side' is clearly superior, allowing panoramic vistas of the Nairobi National Park and the Ngong Hills behind, but the noise at night, especially by seriously sick trucks, was ever filling my ears.
I only ever ate breakfast at the Panari, and that was adequate, though the breakfast cook tended to overheat the pan for the omelette and would not use butter as I requested but stuck to oil, prompting me to have one and then avoid it henceforth. The variety was there and the quality of the croissants, pastries and bread, fruits and juices, cannot be faulted.
The waiters, as often observed, were obsessed with clearing plates, and needed determined fending off, especially on my first 'appearance' when 4 in a row came and tried to remove my bread plate while I gave no indication that I 'was done'. One in particular amused me when I ordered cold milk for my tea and she brought another cup, full of cold milk, before seeing my face going into a big question mark mode, then figuring out what she had just accomplished and off she rushed to mend her mistake and bring a little milk pot instead.
The staff, all the staff I should say from the front entrance security to the doorman to the reception to the dining room were friendly and approachable.
On check out I was presented with a bill for my first day's breakfast, to which I was 'invited' by the reception staff on check in who told me 'breakfast is served over there if you want to have some tea or coffee' ... at 2.398 Kenya Shillings a whopper galore and probably what I would expect at the Ritz. I had been booked by my hosts on B&B, so this charge was unexpected to say the least but extorted anyway as otherwise I would not get a gate pass to leave the hotel.
In closing, having been booked there the saying goes 'do not look a gift horse in the mouth' but frankly, this would not be a hotel of choice when I travel under my own steam.
Located closely to the airport it is a suitable transit hotel for passengers on delayed flights but that is about as much as there is to say about the Panari.

Room Tip: Choose between the view, which goes with traffic noise, or else get to the quieter side and keep the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Had to stay overnight here due to a delayed transit flight through Nairobi.
Found it a Decent Hotel, not flashy, Staff were courteous and helpful.
The rooms were large and spacious and the Hotel is close to the Jomo Kenyatta international airport, which makes this a good stopover hotel for those in transit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights during a work oriented conference.I was pleasantly surprised by the standards of cleanliness of the hotel(i have had horrible experiences)The food was good but the breakfast was excellent! The staff was friendly and helpful all through my stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigre-Buenos Aires
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Spent 6 days in the hotel. Very secure entrance and security people everywhere. Very good Gym, steam and sauna. Excellent swimming pool.
Very good Brazilian style restaurant.
Location is near airport but far from town....anyway, not many things to do there.

Room Tip: Look for rooms facing the national park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. Staying at The Panari gives you a chance to enjoy a session of skating. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Panari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.