We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose between a look across Nairobi National Park and traffic noise or the view to the other side which is not so nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Panari Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Panari Hotel to your Saves list
The Panari Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi 00506, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
273 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Choose between a look across Nairobi National Park and traffic noise or the view to the other side which is not so nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Being put up at the Panari as part of a media group invitational to Nairobi, I had to stay where I was booked. Arrival handling was fairly swift, as I helped to find my own name on the guest arrival list. Getting upstairs one has to watch both elevators, which are not 'coordinated' and guests and staff are often seen to move from one to the other, pushing the buttons to eventually get one.
My 'superior' room, resembling a junior suite, was spacious, though the wardrobe unit was not 'built in' and standing next to what in a private residence would probably serve as a drink cabinet, wine bottle holders and back mirror included.
The desk was on the small side, a challenge for a writer used to spread out and a single socket at the desk made it a further challenge to keep all the camera and phone batteries charged up. On check in I was, upon making my case, given the courtesy of free internet access, for a travel writer an absolutely crucial component, but otherwise guests have to pay for this service I was told.
The bed and pillows were comfy, the duvet warm enough for the coolish nights, but lacking was 'dudu spray', aka anti insect spray, and when two calls to housekeeping would still not produce a can, subsequently causing nightly hunts for the little tormentors I eventually made a stop at a shop to buy my own.
A flat iron burn mark on the carpet stuck out like a sore thumb, and spoiled the impression of an otherwise clean room.
The dressing table, and I suppose ladies in particular will complain about this, lacked both overhead and side lighting but contained a hair dryer.
The bathroom, adequately equipped, had an exhaust fan installed which made far too much noise and was linked to the light switch, unable to switch it on separately. Perhaps this unit was faulty, but I rather guess those types from yesteryear just are noisy.
Another negative impression came from the traffic noise generated from the Mombasa highway, and double glazing, which could sharply reduce if not eliminate that noise, was notably absent. The view from 'this side' is clearly superior, allowing panoramic vistas of the Nairobi National Park and the Ngong Hills behind, but the noise at night, especially by seriously sick trucks, was ever filling my ears.
I only ever ate breakfast at the Panari, and that was adequate, though the breakfast cook tended to overheat the pan for the omelette and would not use butter as I requested but stuck to oil, prompting me to have one and then avoid it henceforth. The variety was there and the quality of the croissants, pastries and bread, fruits and juices, cannot be faulted.
The waiters, as often observed, were obsessed with clearing plates, and needed determined fending off, especially on my first 'appearance' when 4 in a row came and tried to remove my bread plate while I gave no indication that I 'was done'. One in particular amused me when I ordered cold milk for my tea and she brought another cup, full of cold milk, before seeing my face going into a big question mark mode, then figuring out what she had just accomplished and off she rushed to mend her mistake and bring a little milk pot instead.
The staff, all the staff I should say from the front entrance security to the doorman to the reception to the dining room were friendly and approachable.
On check out I was presented with a bill for my first day's breakfast, to which I was 'invited' by the reception staff on check in who told me 'breakfast is served over there if you want to have some tea or coffee' ... at 2.398 Kenya Shillings a whopper galore and probably what I would expect at the Ritz. I had been booked by my hosts on B&B, so this charge was unexpected to say the least but extorted anyway as otherwise I would not get a gate pass to leave the hotel.
In closing, having been booked there the saying goes 'do not look a gift horse in the mouth' but frankly, this would not be a hotel of choice when I travel under my own steam.
Located closely to the airport it is a suitable transit hotel for passengers on delayed flights but that is about as much as there is to say about the Panari.

Room Tip: Choose between the view, which goes with traffic noise, or else get to the quieter side and keep the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Had to stay overnight here due to a delayed transit flight through Nairobi.
Found it a Decent Hotel, not flashy, Staff were courteous and helpful.
The rooms were large and spacious and the Hotel is close to the Jomo Kenyatta international airport, which makes this a good stopover hotel for those in transit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djlenzyd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights during a work oriented conference.I was pleasantly surprised by the standards of cleanliness of the hotel(i have had horrible experiences)The food was good but the breakfast was excellent! The staff was friendly and helpful all through my stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NairobiKenyangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigre-Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Spent 6 days in the hotel. Very secure entrance and security people everywhere. Very good Gym, steam and sauna. Excellent swimming pool.
Very good Brazilian style restaurant.
Location is near airport but far from town....anyway, not many things to do there.

Room Tip: Look for rooms facing the national park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArielDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed in panari Hotel in nairobi on 31 st Oct
The stay was good
The staff were very cooperative and coordial.
Food was good
Nothing more to write
The SPA facilities and Gym facilities are great
I took the service 2 times as I was impressed with SPA facilities

Room Tip: The Nairobi park side rooms may give you a view of animals from your room if you are lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satyaprasad2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Windows leaked rain into room, plagued by mosquitoes and bitten almost every night. Food adequate rather than good....

Air Conditioning was switched off every day so returned to a baking hot room every evening

Hot water failed whilst I was there - but since the cold water was tepid anyway - not a particular hardship

Staff do their best, with a smile but overall an adequate to poor experience - I was booked in by a company for work purposes and endured 18 nights - when I asked for a late check-out on my final day was told it would be charged as an extra nights stay but at only 70% of the usual rate - pretty big of them since I wasn't using the bed.........so didn't bother

I will be staying at the Ole Sereni next time ......

Room Tip: Avoid and stay at the Ole Sereni 600 metres down the road - Avoid the front of the Hotel - constant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Bolivia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed at the Panari in October 2011 waiting for my flight back home. Its a decent hotel with very kind and helpful stay. Don't expect luxuries or fancy stuff here, but you will find whatever is necessary for a comfortable and pleasant stopover. Rates are quite high, compared what one is used in the West, but, this is Kenya and prices are just like that.

Rooms are clean and you can get a very nice view of the National Park, although the front lights of the hotel can be a problem trying to sleep. Windows are not sound-proof, so that can be another shortcoming with the noise of the traffic from very early morning.

The airport is very close (around 15 minutes) and the hotel offers transportation at USD 12 each way.

Room Tip: If what you want is to sleep, sacrifice a nice view for a room not with view to the park and the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#26 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
5.9 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#34 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
5.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#11 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#28 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing