We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit dated - but great staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Panari Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Panari Hotel to your Saves list
The Panari Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
tanzania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a bit dated - but great staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

we were stuck in nairobi as we missed our cenncting flight so British Airways gave a us acomlimentary night at the Panari. The Panari is a typical hotel, nothign special and could be a bit updated. The staff was great though - and even followed up on my early morning wake-up call.... I would recommend that hotel for anyone staying overnight in Nairobi and looking for a hotel close to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    54
    57
    15
    20
See reviews for
11
29
33
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

All you can get in this hotel is a comfort bed.. nothing else you can find.
And definitely it is not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Safe, clean, trying-to-be-helpful staff. I had great wifi in the room, and restaurants and ice skating rink in the hotel were good quality, as was the gym, sauna, pool which I frequented during my week stay at the hotel. But remember this is Kenya, so there were frequent power cuts ( so the lifts and magnetic door keys don't work till the generator kicks in) and the door handle on my room fell off trapping me inside until I could ring for assistance. The huge Nairobi Safari park is across the street, but I never saw any game from my window despite constant peering. It is located out of the city, in an uninteresting burb,which suits you if you are going to the airport or south bound and want to avoid traveling through the congested city with it's horrid roadworks.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The Panari doesn't have the 'elegant touch' of the [more expensive] hotels in the city; but more importantly, the room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

The service can't be faulted - always friendly and helpful.

Check-in/check-out didn't take too long and was actually comical: they process enough paperwork to make you think you're taking out a loan.

Location: On a positive note, it's a very quick trip to the airport because it's on the same road so I would highly recommend staying here if you're only waiting for flights. On the downside, if you intend to travel to the city, get ready for about an hour of world-renowned Nairobi traffic (give or take time depending on when you leave - preferably before 7.30am).

Breakfast in the main restaurant was great but dinner is just OK. I actually ate dinner in the restaurant but ordered pizza from the coffee shop menu: be prepared for a long wait but they're really nice when they eventually arrive.

The bar has a great view of the national park across the road so this is a great place to have a few Tusker beers at a pretty good price.

While I've stayed in nicer hotels in Nairobi - and would prefer them if the price was comparable - I would stay here again without a concern.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA and South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stayed one night in this hotel near NBO airport, en route to another destination in East Africa. The hotel is close to the airport, which is great for avoiding the infamous Nairobi traffic. The hotel is in part of a high-rise building right on the main road, with Reception up a lift on the 3rd floor (which seems strange on arrival). The hotel has a shuttle that will pick you up and drop you off at the airport for $12 each way. My room was very nice, seemingly recently renovated, with very comfortable bed, good bathroom, and views out over the road and the game park beyond. I asked for a high floor (I was on the 8th, down the hall a ways from the lift), and so the noise from the road wasn't bad (though you could hear some traffic), and the hotel was quiet. I was there on a Sunday and holiday Monday, so traffic was lighter than usual too. The WiFi didn't work at all the day I arrived, but was working again in the morning, and seemed to work well in the room (and they didn't charge me for it). The highlight was the gym, which is quite large, with a number of machines and plenty of weights. Although some of the machines are rather old, and the gym itself seems old (although this is not a very old building), I enjoyed it, and was impressed with the lovely manager/trainer on charge that day (Jared), who was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was extensive and quite good.
Although it's expensive, I would stay there again when in transit in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Allen, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I had a problem with sheets they had not been changed it was corrected asap my over all stay was good i will stay thier again you will be safe thier it's lots of security and close to airport 3-30-11 shawn harris port allen louisiana

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

I've had to stay at this expensive dump a few times when stranded at the Airport. The last time the back-up generator, wi-fi, hot water and computer system all didn't work. Front desk attitude was shockingly poor. For $200 a night I vowed NEVER to return.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. Staying at The Panari gives you a chance to enjoy a session of skating. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Panari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.