We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value for convenience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Panari Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Panari Hotel to your Saves list
The Panari Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi 00506, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Now Pay at the Hotel
Ranked #41 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Port Louis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good value for convenience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

The Panari Hotel, most probably the nearest good hotel from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. For Nairobi, staying near the airport is not an option but a must, because during office hours if you really need to board a flight, you need to satrt at least 3 to 4 hrs to travel 25 kilometers within the city. You will face huge jame on every crossing of roads. Hence Panari is locationally advantageous as you need not to cross any major crossing to reach to the airport.
The second good thing about Panari is it is located along with a big shopping complex (owned by the same group) and you can get good food courts, movie theatre, pharmacy, wild life tour operators under the same roof.
Now lets come to the hotel quality. Its good and very basic. The rooms are airy, bright and have good view of the Mombasa Nairobi Highway. The restaurant is pretty big and offers good spread of continental and oriental cuisine. The gym is very well equipped though little cramped. The bar is attached to the reception, spacious and offers good variety of drinks and also live music.
The only drawback of the hotel is it is located little away from the main city, to reach to the city centre you need to board a taxi. But keeping in mind the traffic jam, one would prefer to stay near to the airport, especially when he needs to catch an early morning flight. Overall a good value for money for convenience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    72
    75
    19
    23
See reviews for
19
37
42
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

If you want to lose 700 Euros in a night then get victimized and suspected for stealing your own cash then this is the place to board. FYI no compensation therefore make sure you are insured against any liability before booking a room. too much security detail for nothing since they themselves will steal from you. They provide 'safes' for valuables. How ironic coz they actually work out the combination. They call their own police who they liaise with and pretend to investigate the matter until you just fly out of the country...This was my worst experience in a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

If you don't fancy the journey into the city and have a stopover this is the place for you. I've stayed here a couple of times now for the proximity to Nairobi Airport and nothing else.

The public area decor is a tad strange and the prices are rather on the high side for what I use the place for but it certainly beats sitting in Nairobi rush hour traffic.

The rooms are spacious enough, clean and very comfortable. The wifi on the upper floors can be a bit hit and miss though. This can be a bit of a pain when they charge $8 per hour for the pleasure.

You'll probably find it best to take dinner out of the hotel if you can. The choice is really quite poor. Although the fish dish was perfectly poached and very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

I have stayed here a few times either the night before a very early flight or when a flight was delayed. It has two plus points; close to the airport (15 minutes) and a good Lebanese resturant. Otherwise over priced and very out of place; India meets Dubai. The rooms are reasonable. Breakfast food is fine but on a number of occasions I have had really poor service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Close to the airport, the Panari hotel is an ideal choice for Business and Family travellers, -- great dining options, specially try out the Brazilian restaurant .. nice breakfast options.
Rooms are really spacious with a nice view of the safari park ..

Would recommend anyone for stay at Panari Hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Though the Panari hotel overlooks the National Park, there is hardly anything which you can see. The room rates are quite expensive in comparison to the facilities offered. The food especially is quite expensive. The Hotel offers regular services, and nothing fancy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Panari was nice enough to allow us to keep our souvenirs for five days while we were on safari. They also have good concierge service. Those are about the only nice things I can say about the place. We booked a day room with them for a mere $210 US. They are located between the Wilson and Nairobi international airport. We were supposed to get in at about 4:30pm and our flight to Istanbul was at 2:30a.m. so we needed a room for a few hours that was close to the airport. Unfortunately for us, the shower head was broken. We had better shower facilities in the middle of the bush in Tanzania. It is a good thing that we were really tired and weren't staying overnight because I don't think the floor was as hard as the bed was. I seriously thought I was lying on a sheet of plywood. That was the most uncomfortable bed in a hotel that I have ever stayed in. We checked in at around 8p.m. because of our delayed flight, but a short rest a meal and a shower was still appreciated even if it was completely overpriced. Insult to injury, Panari was the first hotel that I have ever spent $210 at that didn't include free internet service. I have stayed at $45 a night hotel rooms and $1000 a night hotel rooms. What did they all have in common? They ALL HAVE FREE INTERNET SERVICE! We checked in at 8p.m. and checked out four and a half hours later and they wouldn't even offer us fee internet access. If you need a hotel to stay at that is close to the airport, try a different hotel. This one is terrible! Insult to injury, we were flying business class. The couches in the business class lounge at the airport were more way more comfortbale than the hotel room was.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.2 mi away
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#24 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
5.9 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#28 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
4.1 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oryx Hotel
Oryx Hotel
#89 of 130 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Address: Mombasa Road | P.O Box 4372, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#25 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Panari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.