We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely spot, but could improve service a bit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whistling Thorns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whistling Thorns
Kiserian Isenya Pipeline Road | Kajiado, Nairobi 00206, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 91 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Nairobi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“lovely spot, but could improve service a bit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stopped by Whistling Thorns en route from Namanga to Nairobi on Jamhuri day. It was a lovely stop on a very bumpy road! However was a bit disappointed with the service - there was only one women's toilet available to visitors - and it didn't have any toilet paper, even an hour after we informed the waiters. The food was ok, but one of my pet peeves for a decent hotel is serving that weird-coloured tomato ketchup they have here in Kenya. For the price we paid, I would have expected heinz ketchup or something higher quality than the fluorescent stuff.
Other than that, was a lovely spot and obviously a lot of work and thought has gone into making the place welcoming and a nice change from Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Only an hour away from JKIA I've stayed at this little slice of paradice on several occasions and have never been disappointed...............nice ammenities, really freindly staff, good food what more could one ask for

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A small hotel 13Kms from Kiseriain on your way to Isinya. Alot of peace and quiet-good if you want to just have a sober conversation with your important other/ have a retreat or read books. The restaurant has no music. Went to this place with a few friends based on the reading on the website-A good place for families or retreats. Go if you want the Quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Went to Whistling Thorns for a quite afternoon with family. My son and sweet wife enjoyed their swimming to the fullest.

The food was really tasty and like home made...an culinary experience I do remember till now. The entry to the facility is however bit hidden with poor signage to lead you. Especially, once you take the left turn at the main junction off Kiserian main road to the lead road, you will find yourself stopping people by the road to ask about the entrance to the attraction.

Were it not for some people walking near our vehicle, my son while running up and about, was almost mauled by one of the many dogs that loiter within the compound and to date he seems not to like the idea of going back there.

The drive to the venue is also soothing...A true road trip feeling.. I would highly recommend this facility to families, groups of friends or anyone willing to try out something less formal. the waiters are really good and first and the place has a lot of life from interested patrons.

All the same it was time well spent away from the hustles and bustles of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had heard of it but had never been. General location is superb and grounds perfect for big groups activities. The children enjoyed the swimming though I would suggest a baby pool too for small babies. We loved the nyama and accompaniments.

I would recommend it to those who dont want to travel so far from city yet want to forget the busy world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

I have not spent the night at WT, but have eaten there many times over the last few years. Food is marvelous, lovely outdoor dining. Next time, may try a cabin....rest rooms very clean! Great spot to sit back and chill!

Kitty Watson

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I booked my father to stay here when he came to visit me while I was living in Kenya. What a wonderful spot to stay! I was living up the road at the time, and the couple who owns it actually drove him to my house a couple times, since they didn't think he needed to walk.

The pool was lovely, and food was great. A perfect getaway from Nairobi, and a chance to see game before officially entering any parks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whistling Thorns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Thorns

Address: Kiserian Isenya Pipeline Road | Kajiado, Nairobi 00206, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 91 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whistling Thorns is one hour from Nairobi overlooking the Ngong Hills in an untouristy part of the country. It is a peaceful quiet place with swimming pool and splendid views and bar/restaurant with home cooked meals. There is a golf driving range, and you can go horse riding or walking. There are plenty of birds and you may see zebras and gazelles. It is a lovely place to relax before or after your safari. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whistling Thorns Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistling Thorns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Whistling Thorns to your Saves list