We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding menu, great food and lovely folks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whistling Thorns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whistling Thorns
Save
You added Whistling Thorns to your Saves list
Kiserian Isenya Pipeline Road | Kajiado, Nairobi 00206, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
1 review
“Outstanding menu, great food and lovely folks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

I have not spent the night at WT, but have eaten there many times over the last few years. Food is marvelous, lovely outdoor dining. Next time, may try a cabin....rest rooms very clean! Great spot to sit back and chill!

Kitty Watson

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I booked my father to stay here when he came to visit me while I was living in Kenya. What a wonderful spot to stay! I was living up the road at the time, and the couple who owns it actually drove him to my house a couple times, since they didn't think he needed to walk.

The pool was lovely, and food was great. A perfect getaway from Nairobi, and a chance to see game before officially entering any parks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is a nice quiet getaway from the bustle of Nairobi. There is nothing nearby except for a beautiful sunset. I especially enjoyed the birds that visit. They feed them to get them to come. It was very relaxing to stay there and the beds were comfortable and had mosquito nets. There were nice outdoor sitting areas. The food was good and the coffee was made in a french press.. yum!

My only disappointment was that the bathrooms were needing an upgrade. There was no shelf to put your things on near the sink. There was also no shelf for your soap and shampoo in the shower. The shower head was old and sprayed in all directions.

Room Tip: Bring your shower supplies in something that can hang from a hook. You can hook it over the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I took a group of 14 young children to Whistling Thorns. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive and the food delicious. The pool was clean, if rather cold.

Thank you for looking after us!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

I stayed here for 10 nights in April. As a solo traveler, and one looking for a safe and comfortable place to lay my head at night, Whistling Thorns exceeded my expectations. I found the service to be exceptional, the food better than average and the accommodations (I had a tent) perfect for my needs. The staff here are above average - a kind, generous and thoughtful group of people. Even the resident dogs are great. I will be returning in December and can hardly wait!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Great to have such a relaxed place so close to bustling Nairobi. On the other hand, I think the scenery/views is overrated in their website (thought the view on the Ngong Hills is nice). The accommodation is very basic, the food good but not special, the service the same, and due to the boring environment walks and horse riding are boring. In the light of this the price is very high, with Ksh 3000 for a basic double room without food (breakfast, dinner). Food prices are decent.
We went for an afternoon trip to the pre-historic site on the way to Magadi lake, and that was FANTASTIC, esp. the scenery. Absolutely worth the 1h15 drive to and from. And one can stay overnight there as well. Simple bandas, but in a lovely environment for only Ksh 800. That's what we are going to do next time!

  • Liked — restaurant/bar, relaxing time, rural quiet environment very close to Nairobi
  • Disliked — price, acoommodation, not a lot to do/bit boring, more and more development (houses, fences) coming into the area.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whistling Thorns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Thorns

Address: Kiserian Isenya Pipeline Road | Kajiado, Nairobi 00206, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whistling Thorns is one hour from Nairobi overlooking the Ngong Hills in an untouristy part of the country. It is a peaceful quiet place with swimming pool and splendid views and bar/restaurant with home cooked meals. There is a golf driving range, and you can go horse riding or walking. There are plenty of birds and you may see zebras and gazelles. It is a lovely place to relax before or after your safari. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whistling Thorns Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistling Thorns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.