We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Low fare" - you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Right Choice Tours & Safaris

Right Choice Tours & Safaris
3rd Floor, Moi Avenue | Sonalux House,, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
+254 722 445219
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Right choice tours and safaris is a Nairobi based Kenya safari operator for budget lodge and camping safaris,family tours,mountain trekking & Tanzania holiday trips.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Low fare" - you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

First of all, we saw a lot of fantastic wild animals, so we loved the tour. But it did start of with some problems when we arrived at the camp, where there wasn't a room for everyone. They tried to squeeze people together but we paid for seperate tents (most of us were couples). The driver was ONLY a driver and not a guide at all. We expected more information, and when we aksed he sometimes just answered randomly. We planned to continue in another direction, but they forgot to stop by the bus in the nearby town on the way back to Nairobi, so we insisted on going back where we just made it..

The food was simple, but there were plenty. The peoble in the camp was friendly

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Memorable holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had a really quick tour (Nairobi, Naivasha, equator, Nakuru and Masai-Mara in 4 days) and managed to see everything we planned and even more.
Our driver-guid was rather skillful and showed us all the animals we wanted to see. The only problem with him was that his mood often changed completely from cheerful to "I-hate-everyone". Fortunately we had a translator, who met all those changes alone. But sometimes it made our communication difficult.
One more problem was that we had to spend much time in a car, the road wasn't very comfortable, and not all the seats had seatbelts. It was especially important on the road to Masai-Mara, what was rather dangerous.
To sum up, we had a very good time and saw many different beautiful and interesting things and even with small problems our tour was well organized.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great trip to Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Really very well organized trip by George and Lena - thanks a lot for it! We had a very tough schedule because wanted to see the most famous national parks and to have a few relaxing days at ocean resort. George and his team offered us to visit Masai Mara - Nakuru-Amboseli- Tsavo West - all must to see in Kenya. We did a short stop at Naivashu lake to make a boat trip to see the exotic enimals and birds. Safari was extremely interesting, no technical problems at all, all lodges were booked according our wishes, driver was very professional. All transfers were organized very well. It was our first trip to Kenya and it was good! From our exoerience we can recommend to plan more days for safari to be more relaxed ))) and pay more attention to details at the planning stage - it will help a lot. Our 10 days in Kenya were great

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A most wonderful safari!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Recently, I went on an 8-day safari in Kenya with my 14-year-old son, who was visiting the country for the first time. After identifying three Kenya-based tour operators on the Internet and corresponding with them, we chose Right Choice Tours & Safaris. Our itinerary was: Samburu-the Aberdares (Treetops)-Nakuru-Maasai Mara. The company owner and director, George Oketch, was very helpful in answering all our questions and, unlike the other operators we contacted, he was most willing to organise the trip in accordance with our wishes. His prices were also comparatively fairer.

A few days to our safari, we met George and most of his staff at their centrally-located office in Nairobi. They were all very welcoming and professional, which reassured us even more! Our accommodation – a mix of lodges, hotels and tents – was very good: the rooms were spacious and clean, the food was fresh and delicious, and staff made us feel very much at home.

During our safari, we saw the big five and many other fascinating creatures, big and small. The tour guide/driver, Amos, with whom we naturally spent most of the time, was always punctual, professional and helpful. As a good storyteller, he shared his deep knowledge of the wildlife, geography and the people of the areas that we visited, and answered our many questions patiently. This was not a traditional safari of spotting and photographing animals, but a serious lesson about the fauna and flora that we encountered, and how they interact with each other. And in the parks, the guide/driver did not always follow the well-trodden path, so we often spotted an animal or situation that everyone was hoping for. Amos would then radio the information to his fellow tour guides/drivers to share it with the other tourists.

Right Choice Tours & Safaris staff were mindful of the welfare of young travellers in more ways than one. Staff always paid particular attention to my son, by asking him about his impressions of the safari at different stages. I remember on our first night at a Samburu lodge – our first stop – the watchman accompanying us from the lodge’s dining area to our cottage mentioned to my son that leopards would probably wander past our cottage on their way to their drinking pool during the night. I believe this was the watchman’s way of reminding my son that this was a real experience of the wild. My son did not sleep that night, out of fright. The next day, when the tour guide/driver noticed his anxiety, he took him aside and tried to find out why he was anxious. When my son explained what had happened the previous night, Amos reassured him, to the point that my son was unperturbed by the total darkness in our tent in Maasai Mara five days later, when the lights went out at 10 pm!

We are thankful to Right Choice Tours & Safaris for enabling us to experience a most wonderful safari! For my son, it was a life-changing introduction to the wild: from being extremely scared as we walked to our cottage from our lodge's dining area on our first evening in Samburu, to struggling to get back to his routine, several weeks after the safari – because he had such an amazing time! We are pleased to recommend this company to anyone wanting to go on a meaningful safari in Kenya.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

only positive expirience! Company is working very good from welcoming to the departure.
I visited Masai Mara reserve, Nakuru lake and Samburu park and always had have a good accomodation and best viewing. Recommend to everybody!

Я очень довольна обслуживанием этой компании. За время моего визита в Кению я посетили три парка - Самбуру, Накуру и Масаи Мара и ни разу не было ни одной накладки со стороны компании - отлично встретили, показали необыкновенную природу и животный мир, прекрасное размещение в лоджах. В общем, я очень довольна и всем рекомендую!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Right Choice Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Right Choice Tours & Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.