We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages
Save
You added Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages to your Saves list
336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gunnison, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My first stop in Kenya was here at the cottages. the cottage was spacious , clean, and beautiful. Wonderful, friendly service too! Great gift shop and dining. In great location for the Karen Blixen Museum, Giraffe Center , and Elephant Orphanage, by car. Highly recommend !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    22
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
25
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our introduction to Kenya and we felt so welcome and indeed very safe! Our room was extremely comfortable, if a bit of a walk from reception. We had a pleasant drink and meal in a restaurant next door. I have no idea how central the hotel is as Nairobi traffic is a nightmare! It did take over an hour to get to Wilson airport which probably isn't far away! But the hotel had a lovely atmosphere, a feeling you were out of town. I would much prefer to be here than in the centre of Nairobi. Thanks to our tour company, Africa Born, for finding this lovely location for our first night!

Room Tip: The rooms ramble far away from the central hub. I would ask for a room as close as possible to recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were delighted to find this restaurant set up in the area which had previously been part of the Karen Blixen farm.
The setting is great - we ate outside where widely spaced tables and a choice of shade or sun made the experience a relaxing one, even if there was the odd tourist/expat yarping into their mobile.
The menu is wide ranging, and we started with excellent deep fried tempura prawns, followed by fish and lamb tangine respectively. The fish was average +, but the lamb tangine excellent.
Service was excellent - prompt and friendly. Wine a little pricey, but good.
We will go back - with friends!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spend two nights here upon arrival in Nairobi. The cottages are set in a lush green spacious garden with a swimming pool. The cottage interior itself looks a bit dated and plenty of mosquitos, so make sure to bring repellent. The food in the restaurant which is just 50 metres away on the same grounds was of good quality with lots of locals having their meals here too. Do note that particularly on weekend evenings the bar gets rather noisy. The Sheldrick Elephant orphanage is about a 20 min. Ride on a good time of the day. I can recommend visiting the Bomas where various tribal dances and music are shown.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a beautiful,restful spot. The meals are excellent and reasonably priced. Want something simple? Great hamburgers! Wait staff pleasant and accommodating. Make sure to read the history on bill boards to the right as you enter from the parking lot. Fascinating

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

You can come to the restaurant for historic purposes alone and its great. However, the food, staff and grounds makes you want to come back!

I enjoyed the Pwani vegetable dish and would get this again. I was excited to see they have a music and shisha night and I will make sure to go to this in the future.

A great meal and break while in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had such a great meal, we sat outside, heard the birds, our lunch was amazing, we also had a beautiful wine that was made in south Africa. The staff were excellent there, very happy to serve you, the environment we just so pleasant, Love every minute of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

Address: 336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottages are located in Karen, a beautiful, peaceful suburb approximately 20 miles from downtown Nairobi and about half a mile from the famous Karen Blixen Museum. The cottages are located in the midst of one of the oldest formal gardens in Kenya which have huge jacaranda, candelabra, cactus, bottlebrush, and other trees. Over 200 types of flowers bloom through the year and numerous bird feeders attract hundreds of varieties of birds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden And Cottages
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages Hotel Karen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.