We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lunch before visiting the Karen Blixen Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages
Save
You added Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages to your Saves list
336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Lunch before visiting the Karen Blixen Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were delighted to find this restaurant set up in the area which had previously been part of the Karen Blixen farm.
The setting is great - we ate outside where widely spaced tables and a choice of shade or sun made the experience a relaxing one, even if there was the odd tourist/expat yarping into their mobile.
The menu is wide ranging, and we started with excellent deep fried tempura prawns, followed by fish and lamb tangine respectively. The fish was average +, but the lamb tangine excellent.
Service was excellent - prompt and friendly. Wine a little pricey, but good.
We will go back - with friends!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
25
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spend two nights here upon arrival in Nairobi. The cottages are set in a lush green spacious garden with a swimming pool. The cottage interior itself looks a bit dated and plenty of mosquitos, so make sure to bring repellent. The food in the restaurant which is just 50 metres away on the same grounds was of good quality with lots of locals having their meals here too. Do note that particularly on weekend evenings the bar gets rather noisy. The Sheldrick Elephant orphanage is about a 20 min. Ride on a good time of the day. I can recommend visiting the Bomas where various tribal dances and music are shown.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a beautiful,restful spot. The meals are excellent and reasonably priced. Want something simple? Great hamburgers! Wait staff pleasant and accommodating. Make sure to read the history on bill boards to the right as you enter from the parking lot. Fascinating

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

You can come to the restaurant for historic purposes alone and its great. However, the food, staff and grounds makes you want to come back!

I enjoyed the Pwani vegetable dish and would get this again. I was excited to see they have a music and shisha night and I will make sure to go to this in the future.

A great meal and break while in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had such a great meal, we sat outside, heard the birds, our lunch was amazing, we also had a beautiful wine that was made in south Africa. The staff were excellent there, very happy to serve you, the environment we just so pleasant, Love every minute of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Happened upon the Karen Blixen coffee garden. The food is excellent, service great, and lovely atmosphere. We ended up eating here 3 times during our stay in Nairobi, and were never disappointed. I ordered the hamburger, which is possibly the best hamburger I've ever had. The cappuccino's were great as well.

While the prices are a little high, it's worth the expense to find such great food in a peaceful setting. Highly recommend a stop for a meal. Would like to stay there next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Quick lunch in way to the museum. Beautiful setting. Lovely food. The burger the best for weeks! Not too expensive and just an all round nice place. Would like to come back and stay here. Great service by well trained staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

Address: 336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottages are located in Karen, a beautiful, peaceful suburb approximately 20 miles from downtown Nairobi and about half a mile from the famous Karen Blixen Museum. The cottages are located in the midst of one of the oldest formal gardens in Kenya which have huge jacaranda, candelabra, cactus, bottlebrush, and other trees. Over 200 types of flowers bloom through the year and numerous bird feeders attract hundreds of varieties of birds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden And Cottages
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages Hotel Karen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.