We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Be Back Soon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

Save Saved
You added Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages
336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will Be Back Soon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

You can come to the restaurant for historic purposes alone and its great. However, the food, staff and grounds makes you want to come back!

I enjoyed the Pwani vegetable dish and would get this again. I was excited to see they have a music and shisha night and I will make sure to go to this in the future.

A great meal and break while in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    17
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
20
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had such a great meal, we sat outside, heard the birds, our lunch was amazing, we also had a beautiful wine that was made in south Africa. The staff were excellent there, very happy to serve you, the environment we just so pleasant, Love every minute of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Happened upon the Karen Blixen coffee garden. The food is excellent, service great, and lovely atmosphere. We ended up eating here 3 times during our stay in Nairobi, and were never disappointed. I ordered the hamburger, which is possibly the best hamburger I've ever had. The cappuccino's were great as well.

While the prices are a little high, it's worth the expense to find such great food in a peaceful setting. Highly recommend a stop for a meal. Would like to stay there next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Quick lunch in way to the museum. Beautiful setting. Lovely food. The burger the best for weeks! Not too expensive and just an all round nice place. Would like to come back and stay here. Great service by well trained staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusatsu, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I had lunch in their garden after visiting Karen Blixen museum. First of all, they have a gorgeous garden and serve pretty good food. Waters and waitresses are well trained and very attentive unlike any other restaurants in Nairobi.
I payed nearly USD 60 for a buffet lunch and a glass of wine and wish I were hungrier!!

I must say there was no locals (as far as I could tell) but full of Caucasians who spend a lot of money for the food and paintings sold in the garden. Apart from that, it was nice and relaxing.

It would be nice to go there with some companies!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our last stop and hotel/accommodation at the end of a two-week trip to Kenya. We found it was the most affordable of all the top level hotels in the Karen area of Nairobi which was one reason we chose it. We also chose to stay there because of its historic significance (located on the farm in the book/movie, "Out of Africa". The cottage we stayed in was beautiful and very comfortable (especially after all the time we'd just spent in the bush). Service was excellent from the get go. I arranged for our cottage via email since I was booking from the US. Responses from hotel staff were within 24 hours or less every time I sent them a communication. They were also very accommodating: from allowing us to store our extra luggage we couldn't take on the small safari flights from accepting and managing a delivery we had delivered there. One wouldn't even get this kind of personalized service from a Four Seasons in the US. The hotel restaurant bar is also very good - food was excellent as was the service, the cocktails and wine selection.
Also, this hotel is very proximate to the Giraffe Center, Elephant Orphanage, Blixen Museum, Shopping and other excellent dining.

Room Tip: It is cheaper on a per person basis if you "share" the cost of a double versus purchasing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Quebec
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here 4 times over the past two years. I am Canadian and have traveled to many countries. However, North Americans are surely to be pleasantly surprised at the superb service in upscale places in Kenya. The KBCG are no exception. We had travel complications, and Owen, Grace and Mitchelle at the reception were wonderful, as was Lilian, who helped in our cottage.

It is cold and damp in Nairobi in winter, but the fireplaces do cut the chill. The rooms are very spacious, especially relative to European hotels! Toiletries are even nice (and I am fussy, so I bring my own...but I especially liked the soaps).

Spa is good value and Mercy's hands are so strong, I asked her to ease up during my massage. Pedicure was just as nice as in Canada or the US but at a fraction of the cost. Do book a massage at the very least.

There is a small gym that satisfied my husband. Pretty pool but it was too cold to use. The poor lounge area is great and we liked to lunch there, as it was nicely secluded.

Restaurant food has improved over the past two years. I had the best steak bernaise in 25 years just last week!!! Sorry Texas and Calgary, but this filet was perfectly flavoured, textured and the sauce was perfectly seasoned on the side!!! Burger was great, the soups are delicious (even the simple tomato was excellent). We all loved the lamb meatballs. Salads were nice and fresh.

Very expensive to stay at the KBCG, at least by my pocketbook, but the value is reasonable. You feel very safe and secure. Yapping dogs woke me most nights, but apparently lots of people in this suburb keep them as security alarms (?). Distance is 20 min from Wilson airport (if you are chartering flights for safari) or anywhere from 1-2 hours from Nairobi Int Airport, depending on traffic.

Will surely return and highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

Address: 336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 90 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottages are located in Karen, a beautiful, peaceful suburb approximately 20 miles from downtown Nairobi and about half a mile from the famous Karen Blixen Museum. The cottages are located in the midst of one of the oldest formal gardens in Kenya which have huge jacaranda, candelabra, cactus, bottlebrush, and other trees. Over 200 types of flowers bloom through the year and numerous bird feeders attract hundreds of varieties of birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages Hotel Karen
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden And Cottages

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.