We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

Save Saved
You added Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages
336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here twice on our way to and from safaris. The ambiance of the cottages is outstanding with lots of wood, stone and glass. The bedrooms are comfortable, the sitting area is also roomy and all of the rooms face a beautifully landscaped garden area. The staff were uniformly pleasant and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The double cottages, 7/8 and 9/10 are particularly lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
21
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Let me just say that the website does not do it justice, so don't base your decision entirely on the official site. The place is BEAUTIFUL. Picturesque in every detail. The cabins are large, cozy and perfectly comfortable. The one I stayed in was a duplex with a shared balcony. The bedroom is spacious, with a huge comfortable bed and fireplace. There was a large dressing room and huge bathroom with full tub and candelabras (with candles you could light, a first for me and made me feel like a medieval princess!).

The staff was superb. All highly trained, helpful, intuitive and friendly, almost to a fault. The food was likewise delicious, I didn't taste anything that wasn't amazing. The gift store was the best value I found in Kenya, with products priced sometimes at half of that of other stores with the same item.

I didn't spend any time in Nairobi, but this oasis was far prettier, just superficially, than anywhere on the hour and half drive from the city. The place was immaculate and the gardens impeccable. The hookah lounge off the bar makes you feel as if you've suddenly wound up in Marrakesh. You'll meet great people in the bar, all with a great story to share.

The location near the local airport is fantastic, makes safaris an easy jaunt, the ride in from the International airport is no picnic, but if that's the price to pay, it's well worth it!

I loved my time there and hope very much that it won't be too long before I have a chance to return. It was the vacation of a lifetime, no exaggeration!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Have been to Nairobi a few times on business and never had the opportunity to explore but this time I was on holiday with my wife and hired a taxi for the full day for about $70. That gave us superb flexibility and the ability to go well just about anywhere! Until we realised that the driver wasn't the most knowledgeable driver we had ever had! Anyway undeterred we visited a few tourist spots and then hit him with please take us to the Karen Blixen Coffee Garden - and he had no idea! I told him it was in Karen - so that was a start!
So after stopping several times to ask the way we were very thirsty and quite hungry when we got there! But it was well worth the trouble. It was a Sunday afternoon and the beautiful tropical gardens were busy with couples, families and larger groups - many of whom were clearly ex-pats - all enjoying the sumptuous buffet that had been prepared.
Having spent a little time in Kenya I happen to believe Kenyan food is amongst the best I have ever had and what they put on at the Coffee House was quite superb. The Indian influence was very prevalent and the aromas and tastes just sent our taste buds into overdrive.
The whole experience was magnificent and provided an alternative view of Nairobi from the hustle and bustle of the chaotic but vibrant city. Not to be missed!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My tour group organized one night at this hotel before heading to the Maasai Mara and it was a fantastic start to the trip. The grounds and cottages are quaint and pristinely kept. You can feel yourself distress as soon as you walk on the property. The staff are very friendly and helpful and make sure to address you by name. The rooms are huge and beautiful - very spa-like. Would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I live in Nairobi and love bringing my family here for a weekend breakfast or lunch (great burgers). They also have a fabulous happy hour during weekday evenings (the bartender makes a great long island iced tea)
Fantastic ambiance, wonderfully attentive staff and very good food.
This is a great place to unwind during the weekend.

Its not the cheapest place but the ambiance is worth the money.

The only thing I'd change is perhaps a staffed jumping castle off to the side.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you're a tourist, staying in the suburb of Karen keeps you out of the hectic Nairobi city buzz and puts you close to the animal parks that attracted us to Nairobi -- the elephant orphanage, giraffe center and Nairobi National Park.

The Karen Blixen Cottages are a series of single story wooden two-suite buildings scattered among well landscaped grounds. The main buildings house a large dining room and lounge, along with the front desk and small gift shop. Each of our group's suites had a generous sized bedroom and spacious modern bathroom with lots of hot water. Bath amenities are plentiful and of nice quality.

The breakfast buffet is average. Small selection of cold cereals, breads and fresh fruit available on the buffet and a waiter takes orders for eggs and hot meats. In general, we'd have to give the food at the restaurant a "C" grade -- a little heavy handed with the salt and just ok preparations.

There's a good sized bar with a full selection of beers, African wines and liquors. It appeared that this is a favorite hangout of the locals, especially to watch sports on the many tvs around the bar. This is also where guests can get a light meal after the restaurant has closed for the evening -- handy for late arrivals at the hotel.

In summary...great grounds, welcoming professional staff, comfortable accommodations, but go out to eat.

Room Tip: There are a couple of 2 bedroom suites that are great for 2 couples or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This spot was the perfect place to begin and end our safari visit to Kenya. The cottages are comfortable, well appointed, clean, and secure, and we found the staff to be very polite and helpful. The internet connection was sporadic, which we didn't find to be a big deal. There's a nice outdoor area for restaurant seating, and the inside of the dining room was undergoing a bit of a facelift, with new artwork, etc. However, our party of 5 found the restaurant's food to be "just okay." Several dishes were heavily salted to the point of being inedible (the French onion soup, in particular); but I found the salmon to be tasty. Dawas (the local cocktail) were quite good, and you can couple those with some of the yummy fries and it's heavenly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

Address: 336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 91 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottages are located in Karen, a beautiful, peaceful suburb approximately 20 miles from downtown Nairobi and about half a mile from the famous Karen Blixen Museum. The cottages are located in the midst of one of the oldest formal gardens in Kenya which have huge jacaranda, candelabra, cactus, bottlebrush, and other trees. Over 200 types of flowers bloom through the year and numerous bird feeders attract hundreds of varieties of birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages Hotel Karen
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden And Cottages

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.