We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and serene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages
Save
You added Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages to your Saves list
336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This spot was the perfect place to begin and end our safari visit to Kenya. The cottages are comfortable, well appointed, clean, and secure, and we found the staff to be very polite and helpful. The internet connection was sporadic, which we didn't find to be a big deal. There's a nice outdoor area for restaurant seating, and the inside of the dining room was undergoing a bit of a facelift, with new artwork, etc. However, our party of 5 found the restaurant's food to be "just okay." Several dishes were heavily salted to the point of being inedible (the French onion soup, in particular); but I found the salmon to be tasty. Dawas (the local cocktail) were quite good, and you can couple those with some of the yummy fries and it's heavenly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were collected from the airport by William, very smooth transfer and we extremely impressed with the coffee gardens. Food was of a high quality and fairly priced and the rooms were extremely comfortable. We had our own cottage which was private and well presented. The perfect place to stop over between flights and safari, a very relaxing time, I will be rebooking a stay soon and Owen was great on email.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jameswatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

received with warmth by reception team,was on business trip so my companion "warned" of his previous encounter -personal items that went missing But my company dud not endure any at thus visit. waiters were accomodating and kept fireplaces burninv in guest lounge.my room was immaculate,neat crisp white linen with moswuito nets "Out of Africa"feel.Breakfast is sub-standard which is the only draw back.shuttle service was made available ehdn requested and i had a lovely rested business stay and loved the fauna and flora around the cottages. i will definetly visit again.Hotel shop has bargain soverniers as compared to local street market.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The food was excellent (if a bit on the high side). We enjoyed sitting in the cool shade of the garden on a warm day for an excellent luncheon.

The fried shrimp were an excellent and very tasty choice. We also enjoyed seeing the historic Ewart Grogan house which is located just off the garden.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcmach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Karen Coffee gardens for several weeks. The hotel has its strong sides like food and senic settings and some of the staff that are very nice. Especially the gardeners, cleaners and the guards are good and some of the food/beverages staff.
Dinner and lunch is better than average in Nairobi and should be commended (if they can get the order right).

However there are many deficiencies with this hotel that doesn't make it worth the price. There are much better options in Karen at similar prices.
Some key deficiencies:
-staff steal from the customers. When notifying the management, no real action was taken. They probably shared the proceeds.
-room service is more or less a disaster. If an order is placed, you can be sure 9 out of 10 times something is forgotten or they have forgotten the whole order
-is seems breakfast (which is very spartan) comes as a surprice every morning. Usually missing something every day of basic items like spoons, out of bread, yoghurt etc.
-wireless is a disaster - nothing more. When complaints are made, they sent a "technician" that is also a gardener. You can imagine the outcome! We had to move cottages as they could not figure it out. When it works, its in slow-motion
-fitness is as basic as it comes - 2 treadmills (one which didn't work) and a few worn-down machines.
-the pool attendands are never available as they sit inside paying on their cell phones. If you ask for towels, they might dein to find them or simply say "we don't have any more towels"
-the pool is not clean
-the restaurant/room service attendants seems to have a hearing deficiency as no instructions on cooking seems to be transferred to the kitchen. Still have not gotten a hamburger/steak cooked according to what was ordered (rear/well done/medium etc)
-cleanliness of the rooms is so so. Bed sheets are stained and bath rooms could need a better scrub
-if orders are made from the pool area, it can take up to 1h to get food/drinks (the restaurant is about 100m from the pool)

Room Tip: All cottages have large living rooms and spaceous bath rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bulgenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful Garden but poorly run.

The gym has 6 equipment and 2 were not working. The staff are NOT friendly. The salon is a joke.
The pool area charges you full price of 1000,- KES even after half day!

Best for a coffee or drink and not more!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enokeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is my second stay here. Once again a very comfortable and noticed some improvements, one much needed was the safe in the cottages, thank you. As before couldn’t fault the staff, restaurant and pool side area, even managed to get in the pool since solar panels have boosted the warmth of it. Will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trotter747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#2 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#9 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#13 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
8.8 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.2 mi away
Karen Country Lodge
Karen Country Lodge
#8 of 155 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

Address: 336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottages are located in Karen, a beautiful, peaceful suburb approximately 20 miles from downtown Nairobi and about half a mile from the famous Karen Blixen Museum. The cottages are located in the midst of one of the oldest formal gardens in Kenya which have huge jacaranda, candelabra, cactus, bottlebrush, and other trees. Over 200 types of flowers bloom through the year and numerous bird feeders attract hundreds of varieties of birds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages Hotel Karen
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing