We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages
Save
You added Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages to your Saves list
336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were collected from the airport by William, very smooth transfer and we extremely impressed with the coffee gardens. Food was of a high quality and fairly priced and the rooms were extremely comfortable. We had our own cottage which was private and well presented. The perfect place to stop over between flights and safari, a very relaxing time, I will be rebooking a stay soon and Owen was great on email.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
25
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

received with warmth by reception team,was on business trip so my companion "warned" of his previous encounter -personal items that went missing But my company dud not endure any at thus visit. waiters were accomodating and kept fireplaces burninv in guest lounge.my room was immaculate,neat crisp white linen with moswuito nets "Out of Africa"feel.Breakfast is sub-standard which is the only draw back.shuttle service was made available ehdn requested and i had a lovely rested business stay and loved the fauna and flora around the cottages. i will definetly visit again.Hotel shop has bargain soverniers as compared to local street market.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The food was excellent (if a bit on the high side). We enjoyed sitting in the cool shade of the garden on a warm day for an excellent luncheon.

The fried shrimp were an excellent and very tasty choice. We also enjoyed seeing the historic Ewart Grogan house which is located just off the garden.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Karen Coffee gardens for several weeks. The hotel has its strong sides like food and senic settings and some of the staff that are very nice. Especially the gardeners, cleaners and the guards are good and some of the food/beverages staff.
Dinner and lunch is better than average in Nairobi and should be commended (if they can get the order right).

However there are many deficiencies with this hotel that doesn't make it worth the price. There are much better options in Karen at similar prices.
Some key deficiencies:
-staff steal from the customers. When notifying the management, no real action was taken. They probably shared the proceeds.
-room service is more or less a disaster. If an order is placed, you can be sure 9 out of 10 times something is forgotten or they have forgotten the whole order
-is seems breakfast (which is very spartan) comes as a surprice every morning. Usually missing something every day of basic items like spoons, out of bread, yoghurt etc.
-wireless is a disaster - nothing more. When complaints are made, they sent a "technician" that is also a gardener. You can imagine the outcome! We had to move cottages as they could not figure it out. When it works, its in slow-motion
-fitness is as basic as it comes - 2 treadmills (one which didn't work) and a few worn-down machines.
-the pool attendands are never available as they sit inside paying on their cell phones. If you ask for towels, they might dein to find them or simply say "we don't have any more towels"
-the pool is not clean
-the restaurant/room service attendants seems to have a hearing deficiency as no instructions on cooking seems to be transferred to the kitchen. Still have not gotten a hamburger/steak cooked according to what was ordered (rear/well done/medium etc)
-cleanliness of the rooms is so so. Bed sheets are stained and bath rooms could need a better scrub
-if orders are made from the pool area, it can take up to 1h to get food/drinks (the restaurant is about 100m from the pool)

Room Tip: All cottages have large living rooms and spaceous bath rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Beautiful Garden but poorly run.

The gym has 6 equipment and 2 were not working. The staff are NOT friendly. The salon is a joke.
The pool area charges you full price of 1000,- KES even after half day!

Best for a coffee or drink and not more!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is my second stay here. Once again a very comfortable and noticed some improvements, one much needed was the safe in the cottages, thank you. As before couldn’t fault the staff, restaurant and pool side area, even managed to get in the pool since solar panels have boosted the warmth of it. Will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our third visit to the Karen Blixen. It is a lovely quiet get away, a garden oasis in the city. The cottages are older but very comfortable and well appointed. We now know several of the staff and they always welcome us back with typical Kenyan warmth. The food at the restaurant and bar is great - the pumpkin coconut soup fabulous!! This year my husband and I each had a massage - a wonderful antidote to the long overseas flight.

Room Tip: We've stayed in several of the rooms and all have been lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

Address: 336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottages are located in Karen, a beautiful, peaceful suburb approximately 20 miles from downtown Nairobi and about half a mile from the famous Karen Blixen Museum. The cottages are located in the midst of one of the oldest formal gardens in Kenya which have huge jacaranda, candelabra, cactus, bottlebrush, and other trees. Over 200 types of flowers bloom through the year and numerous bird feeders attract hundreds of varieties of birds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden And Cottages
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages Hotel Karen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.