We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quiet and safe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage - Gigiri

The Cottage - Gigiri
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage - Gigiri
Save Saved
You added The Cottage - Gigiri to your Saves list
74 UN Crescent, Gigiri | PO Box 41915, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 158 Nairobi B&B and Inns
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great, quiet and safe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We arrived to a very warm welcome by the kind staff, who took good care of us from the first minute on. Situated in a quiet and safe neighbourhood of Nairobi, near Embassies and the likes, it made for a great home base on my first trip to the city.
Rooms were spacious and clean, also the bathrooms, the staff was warm and friendly, and we had a hearty breakfast each morning before heading out.
The Cottage has my warmest recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Cottage is a former Villa transformed into a Guest house, surrounded by a nice garden.
There are two different kind of rooms: en suite and to share.
Due to the limited amount of rooms, one can be assured to enjoy great service and a very warm welcome.
The house has a kitchen, which makes especially a longer stay more convenient: one can store food in the fridge and cook when desired.
Laundry machine at your disposal, TV in room or for the "homey" experience in the living room.
Located just behind one of Nairobi´s biggest and nicest malls - Village Market - it is easy to do something one hardly ever does there: walk.
Mattresses are a bit hard, which we loved!

I have to say my 5 points mainly go to The Cottage, because it fills a gap hardly found in Nairobi - if you do not want to choose between pricey 5 star hotels or shabby "3" star places, this is the perfect place to go!

Room Tip: As mentioned above, one might want to choose between en suite and to share. Verify before your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed at the cottage for 3 nights and I must admit it gave me a feeling of home away from home, the service was great the rooms clean and the breakfast was delicious. Something that I also liked was how esy it was to get around from the cottage. If you are in Nairobi and looking for a place to stay this is definately the place to go.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed at the cottage for two weeks, its a beautiful place, loved the food, the staff were friendly WiFi enabled me to continue with work while away from the office.

I would recommend The Cottage, if you are in Kenya for business or leisure

Keep up the good work

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage - Gigiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage - Gigiri

Address: 74 UN Crescent, Gigiri | PO Box 41915, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Guest House is an ultra modern B&B focused on providing international standards for the business, leisure and transit traveller. We pride ourselves in providing high quality, unrivaled value and superior comfort; elements that can be felt throughout our ambiance, amenities and services. Ideally located in the same vicinity as the UN offices, a host of international embassies & mall. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage - Gigiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.