We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dae Jang Geum

Dae Jang Geum
Ndemi Road Off Ngong Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254707369355
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We ordered Bulgogi, some pork and pancakes. Food was very good and price wasn't bad compared to the chinese restaurant we went the day before.
I also saw a Korean chef cooking in the kitchen which is not a surprise at all. the food is truly local I think.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Finally found a Korean restaurant in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I phoned to see if the restaurant was still in business and to my delight a Korean woman answered in Korean so I knew this place was going to be great. I took four of my friends for lunch and we had the Bibimbap, Bulgogi, Stir fried pork, and Soybean soup. Everything was delicious. In true Korean style they bring out kimchi and other side dishes and pumpkin soup. We ate tup the kimchi and they brought us more!! I will definitely go back and try everything else on the menu. They even have a special Kimbap Saturday that I will have to definitely go back for! Kamsamhamnida Dae Jang Geum for a great lunch!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A Friendly Restaurant with Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was delighted to find this restaurant as it is only five minutes from my apartment.The food,and service were excellent. I really enjoyed the sizzling pork,as well as all the side dishes. I'll be returning soon.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Korean restaurant in Nairobi!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We've been to Dae Jang Geum a number of times and never been disappointed
The first time we went there, we tried their recommended Je-yuk (spicy, fried pork) and Bibimbap (rice in a pot, colorfully topped with vegetables and an egg) which were FANTASTIC
It's worth a try if you are new to Korean cuisine
My favorite dish here is Bulgogi ... The meat is always tender and delicious and it goes perfectly with the sauce. I enjoy eating it with Kimchi which is sometimes too spicy but manageable...
Overall I would say it's one of the best places to go if you are craving for some Asian food. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dae Jang Geum also viewed

 

Been to Dae Jang Geum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dae Jang Geum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.