We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bukhara

Bukhara
2nd floor, Victoria Plaza, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
734860513
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 358 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Asian, Barbecue, Indian
Restaurant details
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Fabulous Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Located near the Southern Sun Mayfair hotel, Westlands, this is a new restaurant that we decided on trying last weekend. Took a table on the lovely open-air terrace and were pleasantly surprised on noticing their unusually reasonable prices .

This inevitably resulted in us ordering more than we should have but when the food arrived it was just absolutely delicious, and though we took home what was left over, we surprisingly did finish most of the large portions. For starters I'd recommend their Chicken Tikka Boneless [ better than their Chicken Tikka on-the-bone] and the Chilly Paneer. For the main course I loved their ''Makhni'' Butter Chicken unbelievably tender yet full of flavour, and the Tawa Masala Prawns. They serve only traditional Indian desserts and I enjoyed the ''Ras Malai'', a creamy cottage cheese dessert. The other dessert we ordered was the Gulab Jamun, which I found a tad too sweet -more an acquired taste I guess.

I should mention that anyone heading to Bukhara should be careful to get to the 2nd floor of the building - NOT the 1st floor, which has different Indian restaurant- we initially went to 1st floor by mistake and the staff at the restaurant here did not clearly tell us we were at the wrong restaurant, until we spotted their menus and realised we were in the wrong place..close call !!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Another Superb Indian Restaurant in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I ordered vegetarian dishes and was very impressed by their quality,and freshness. I ordered the hara hara kebab,and the yellow dal tadka. The garlic naan was also excellent. I enjoyed being able to eat outside on the terrace. the service was polite,and friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Restaurant & Tasty Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Firstly this must be one of the prettier restaurants in Nairobi, with a 2nd floor terrace overlooking some of Westland’s skyline and a stylish décor. However it’s the food that’s the best part - simply delicious. We had their Tandoori Fish tikka followed by one of their specials, a Fenugreek [ methi ? ] Chicken Masala dish with Buttered Naan – just fantastic.
Surprisingly , pricing was reasonable and no taxes added on the final bill- thankfully.
Service was fine though the waiter wasn’t too sure about what wines to recommend/ suggest.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Absolutely delectable food with the flavour of the dishes being spot on. We had their Chilly Paneer as a starter, followed by their Chicken Tikka Masala & Mutton Rogan Josh, all of which I'd say are the best I've had in Nairobi.

Surprisingly good value too, with menu prices being all inclusive, so you pay what you see on the menu, just the way I like it ! I suspect though that the pricing would not stay this low since I was told they are currently on a 'soft opening' with introductory prices, understandable considering it is by appearance as well a premium restaurant complete with open air terrace with a view of some of Westland's skyline.

The only negative would be the service, which I found to be a little slow, but perhaps thats since it seems to be 'early days' with this restaurant, but the quality of the food made up any other shortcoming.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bukhara also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Bukhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bukhara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.