We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Last Night Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacina Residence & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palacina Residence & Suites to your Saves list
Palacina Residence & Suites
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Best Last Night Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We ended a fantastic two weeks in Kenya at the Palacina Residence and Suites, Nairobi. We were here for 12 hours, flying out early the next day. What a greeting on a Thursday night: free wine and canapes in the hotel reception with a piano bar. We were upgraded to the Presidential Suite, which was huge. In fact it was so huge that we couldn't sleep! We did enjoy the double jacuzzi though.

Staff were welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We ate at the Moonflower restaurant, which is attached to the hotel, and which is lovely. Portions are huge, and we felt really bad because we could not clear our plates. The food is described as Japanese, but it is more fusion/European than Japanese we would say. Staff in the restaurant were also obliging.

The view over Nairobi at night from the suites is amazing. There is a lot of security because the President's palace is nearby. This might be a little off-putting to some.

Next morning we received a charming wake up call at 5am from the receptionist, who then ran around making coffee and organizing breakfast for us. This set us up well for the drive at break neck speed to the airport and the rigours of the Virgin Atlantic flight home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    28
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
53
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

After 4 months travelling through Africa and climbing Kili, we splashed out on a bit of luxury in Nairobi. I cannot fault the Palacina at all.

Rooms are beautifully decorated, beds massive and comfortable, food gorgeous, staff helpful> Best breakfast in Africa for sure

We just loved all the little details in the hotel. Clearly designed by someone who has travelled a lot and kows what weary travellers need.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010 via mobile

very welcoming staff,.. Especially the always smiling reception guys. very large rooms, free internet, free dvd movies, .. Even free cookies! A true gem in nairobi!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Rooms are very comfortable and the whole hotel is very clean.
To get transportation we waited over an hour because they want you to use their own
overpriced transportation.
Terrible room service and quite overpriced. Our food order was not complete, and we
are still waiting on mayo and ketchup!!
Staff is indifferent.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Had booked the Palacina for a week at recommendation of colleagues but stayed only two nights as i found the room unbearably stuffy. In most respects I agree with the other reviewers - the hotel is lovely, good restaurant, spacious suites, etc. But even if you want to sleep with the windows open (and Nairobi does cool off nicely at night), there is no cross ventilation in the room, and I found it far to stuffy to sleep. There is no fan, nor any air conditioning or other temperature control. Management did on request bring me a large portable air conditioner/fan unit, but while it gave me much needed circulation it sounded like a Boeing 747 taking off. It's really a shame as this is otherwise a very nice hotel, and the problem could easily be solved by installing ceiling fans in the rooms.
Other downside, if you have business in central Nairobi, is that the location is a bit far out and traffic can be quite bad, especially at rush hour. But if neither of these issues phases you, the Palacina is otherwise to be recommended (and is a lot cheaper than the "business class" hotels in downtown.)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

We were 'stranded' here for a week when the Icelandic volcano erupted. We could not have ended up somewhere more comfortable and luxurious. All the facilites you'd expect plus an excellent resturant on-site, free tea & cakes at 4 and free DVDs to watch. What most impressed us though was how helpful the staff were! They did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. Only negative I can think of was that the pool was cold and a little small.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Palacina is a really great boutique hotel. Forced to stay in Nairobi as a result of travel disruptions- but the Palacina made it so much more bearable. Staff did their utmost to find us a room and were really friendly, helping us with all our enquiries.

It is the little touches that make this hotel so special- the service of course, but also the great breakfast, the free high tea every day, and the attention they pay to each of the guests. The restaurant is also good. Would definitely stay here again- for work or for holidays with my better half.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi
Palacina Residence And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacina Residence & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.