We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home....still as amazing as ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacina Residence & Suites

Save Saved
You added Palacina Residence & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palacina Residence & Suites
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My home away from home....still as amazing as ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

This is the second time we've stayed at Palacina and it just keeps getting better. There is no where else I would rather stay when in Nairobi. The perfect resting place before and after a long safari!!!!! The best part of the hotel....the restaurant for sure. We only wish we had stayed longer to try more of the food! Truly the best dining experience in Nairobi. Great service and thank you for the champagne for our honeymoon!

Can't wait to come back!!!!! again and again and again and again.....

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    24
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
45
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I loved the Palacina - the cozy modern decor, large rooms with huge bathrooms & jacuzzi tub, all the lovely appointments, a private terrace, hands down the best breakfast out there, attentive/responsive staff, the delicious restaurant. I was only there for one night but wished I could've stayed a week. Can't think of anything to criticize here - well done and thanks!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

This really was a stay of two halves!
On one hand the service and staff were excellent. Our early morning room service breakfast was very good and on time. The suites are large and quite luxuriously furnished. Complementary fruit, biscuits and beverage selection was a nice touch. Balcony was of good size and had comfortable seating.
On the down side, attention to cleanliness was not a priority. The bathroom in particular left a lot to be desired! The bacteria encrusted tiles and grouting in the shower cubicle and around the bath was disgraceful and chipped tiles were bordering on dangerous.
We were allocated 2 threadbare bath towels, no hand towels. There was no bathroom extractor fan and so we had no option than to open the door into the bedroom to let out the steam.Bargain bucket toiletries completed the picture.
This review may sound nit-picking, but at $390 per night we expect much, much better!!
The jewel in the crown at this hotel is the on site Moonflower restaurant. Some of the best food that I have had in Kenya - try the beef fillet Medusa, it really is sensational! Both the quality and quantity of the food is good, and as such makes it good value for money. Booking is essential as it is justifiably popular.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Palacina Hotel is a luxurious hotel. The rooms (suites) are huge : king bed, walk in, jacuzzi in bathroom, etc. The commun rooms are beautifuk, the staff was really nice, the restaurant's food good... Althought we stayed there only one night, it gave us the moment of quietness we needed before going on a safari.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stayed here for one night during our trip to Kenya.The room was extremely comfortable,and the staff friendly and helpful.We arrived just in time for the hotels famous afternoon tea!
We ate that evening in the Moonflower Restaurant attached to the hotel,a really good meal, imaginative dishes.
We arranged to return here a few days later as we had some hours in Nairobi before our flight home,again the staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure we spent a comfortable few hours, and had a splendid meal in the Moonflower Restaurant.
This is now for us the only place to stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed at Palacina for a couple of weeks in February. We loved the place and will stay there whenever we visit Nairobi. The hotel rooms are very large- bedroom, bathroom, living room, and outdoor patio. The furniture and decorations are very well coordinated and the entire hotel is very well put together. They have beautiful fresh cut flowers all over the common areas and in the rooms. I wish my house looked like the Palacina!!

They have an open bar on Thursday nights which the residents and hotel guests can attend. The grilled fish at the restaurant is quite good and there is a live jazz band that plays on some nights.

We also loved the staff, especially Linda the manager. I was a bit sick one day and she sent someone to get medicine for me free of charge. We interacted with waiters, desk staff and managers quite a bit during our stay and they were always extremely helpful.

  • Liked — beautiful rooms, freshly cut flowers
  • Disliked — small parking lot
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

Palacina is a truly great hotel. The atmosphere is amazing...the service so warm and hospitable and the service is super. We were nervous to go to Nairobi after all the trouble we had seen on TV but Palacina was the perfect place to go. Secluded, gated but literally 5 minutes to town with beautiful, warm modern african decor. The food at the Moonflower was excellent...with a great old time jazz playing Loius Armstrong tunes in candlelight.

The rooms are very big with their own walk in closet, jacuzzi in the bathroom, large beds and your own living room with its own fridge, mini bar and microwave. Breakfast was a very nice buffet...with eggs made to order all served in a rustic style with the morning daily. I have stayed in Nairobi before and travel for business and I can honestly say that it is the best hotel that I have stayed in Africa. We particularly enjoyed the complimentary afternoon tea...with scones, raspberry jam and clotted cream served in the cozy lounge with old colonial furniture, comfy sofas and african art. The use of the private lobby was particularly important for us as we were there on business and used it as a venue to entertain our customers that we were meeting with.

The best thing about palacina was the staff..they were really great...no question a problem, no request an issue-totally helpful and service minded.
A great respite from Nairobi...an oasis. Cannot recomend it enough!

  • Liked — The Overall Atmoshpere
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi
Palacina Residence And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacina Residence & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.