We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, peaceful hotel with fantastic service and clean/comfortable rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacina Residence & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palacina Residence & Suites to your Saves list
Palacina Residence & Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, peaceful hotel with fantastic service and clean/comfortable rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived at the Palacina late at night 2 days after our wedding absolutely exhausted. We were welcomed warmly by a charming hotel manager, and taken to an immaculate room, where promptly were ordered room service. The food came quickly, was fresh and delicious and we slept comfortably. When we returned to the hotel after our safari, we got to spend more relaxing and getting orientated in Nairobi. In addition to professional service and a great down to earth atmosphere we soon realized that the hotel was a meeting spot for an interesting and diverse crowd of expats working for the UN, embassies and other organizations that do fascinating work in the region. We met great people during our stay there and felt a strong connection to the hotel and to Nairobi. We would highly recommend Palacina and look forward to spending more time there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Nick,

Congratulations yet again on your nuptials!! (I hope you never get tired of hearing congratulations on this..)

We are delighted to have been a small part of your honeymoon and we wish you health and happiness.

Looking forward to seeing you both on many upcoming anniversaries!

Best regards,

Tony Sawe | General Manager | Palacina - Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    32
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
55
9
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived at the Palacina after a long flight and a long wait at the airport for our luggage. From the moment we walked through the doors of the Palacina, I could feel our weariness slipping away. The staff was very gracious and welcoming. We ate a late supper in the comfortable lobby while watching World Cup soccer. Our rooms were large and comfortable. The bathtub was a sight for sore eyes. The room was clean and nicely decorated. After a good night's sleep we enjoyed a delicious breakfast. Although we were only at the Palacina for about 12 hours, it made a great impression on us and it was a wonderful way to begin our vacation in Kenya. Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Heather,
Thank you for this lovely review and for visiting us.
We hope the rest of your east African stay was exciting and hopefully we will see you back with us in the future.

Best regards,

Tony Sawe | General Manager | Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived fairly late in the evening from Nairobi Airport. The staff was so welcoming and friendly for 4 exhausted travelers arriving after 30 hours door to door from Los Angeles. Tony Sawe, general manager, invited us for a drink. Between him and his wonderful staff we were rejuvenated and invigorated by the conversation, staff, and accommodations. It is a little oasis in the middle of Nairobi where we felt safe and secure. Rooms, furnishings, and grounds are more than lovely, luxurious, and decorated with beautiful African design and decor.

Breakfast was delicious the next morning and then we had to leave reluctantly to start our safari trip in Tanzania. We wished we had more time!
Terry, Bob, Bonnie, and Mimi

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Terry, Bob, Bonnie & Mini,
We miss you.. come back...
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your very brief visit to Nairobi and that the rest of the Safari was successful. It was a real pleasure to meet you and I look forward to trying a Kolach recipe very soon.

Best regards from Nairobi.

Tony Sawe | General Manager | Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We only stayed here 1 night between our over seas flights and going to the Masai Mara. The hotel, rooms and service were wonderful. The staff was excellent and the room was fully equipped. Dinner was very good and breakfast was as well. We stayed in the suite and had a bedroom for us and one for our son as well as 2 bathrooms. All in all we were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Mike Mackow,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us in Nairobi and for this review of Palacina.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your brief visit and we hope that your family (especially your son) had a magical safari experience.
Best wishes,

Tony Sawe | General Manager | Palacina - Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of hours as part of a package provided by the travel agent to avoid us sitting in Nairobi Airport for 7 hours. From collection at the airport, right through to returning, the service was excellent. On arrival, we were given access to one of the suites which contained everything we needed to freshen up after our first flight (including spa bath!). Complimentary coffee and snacks were provided before we were ready for our 3 course meal in the Moonflower Restaurant. The food was excellent! If we ever stay in Nairobi for more than a couple of hours we will definitely consider the Palacina!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Dave,
Thank you for staying with us (albeit so briefly)
We hope the rest of your African adventure was also very memorable and we look forward to welcoming you to Nairobi for an extended visit.
Best regards from the whole Palacina family.

Tony Sawe | General Manager | Palacina-Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Palacina for 1 night whilst in transit between our Kenyian Safari and a beach stay in Tanzania. We were met off our safarilink by the smart Palacina driver who was very friendly and attentive and keen to tell us about the city on our way to the hotel. We had been apprehensive to stay in Nairobi but the hotel is in an excellent area- the presidents residence is just round the corner and lots of the embassies are in the area. The hotel is also very secure in a walled area patrolled by security so we felt very safe. On arrival we were overwhelmed with the beauty of the hotel and the luxury fixtures and furnishings in the reception area alone! We were met and shown to our suite by Joyce. As well as being on honeymoon it was also my husbands 30th birthday. I was worried how I could make this special while we were in transit but the hotel took all that worry away. An upgrade to the penthouse suite, petals scattered in our room a complimentary bottle of bubbly - it made it so special and took my breath away. I cannot thank the team enough for this wonderful gesture. The rooms are also beautifully decorated. We were so comfortable in our beautiful penthouse that we ordered room service from Mayflower (2 steaks!) for dinner and the food was delicious. We did get down to the Mayflower to enjoy breakfast in the morning and even had time for a quick session in the gym- which is small but had everything we wanted and the latest machines (they did mention they are going to be renovating the fitness area to make it more like a spa facility with treatment rooms etc). I would highly recommend Palacina and would love to return. The staff were friendly attentive and made our stay truly remarkable and memorable. This is a fantastic boutique hotel that excels at the personal touch. Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Autumn1082,
Greetings from a rather wintry & grey Nairobi morning.
My team and i were beyond delighted to read your detailed comments and we were all very pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us.
We have offered Joyce something as a gesture of our gratitude and we will continue to improve.
Thanks again and hopefully we will see you in Nairobi in the future.
Best regards
Tony

Tony Sawe | General Manager | Palacina-Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for only a few hours whilst in transit to England. From the moment you walk in you are made to feel special. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated, the food in the Moonflower restaurant superb. This is definitely the place I would stay if visiting Nairobi again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Sandra,

Short but restful; we were delighted to host you.

Hopefully we will see you again for an extended visit.

Thank you!

Tony Sawe | General Manager | Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
7.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
4.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bidwood Suite Hotel
Bidwood Suite Hotel
#6 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
1.2 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#11 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence And Suites
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacina Residence & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.