We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - just a shame we could only spend a few hours there!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palacina Residence & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palacina Residence & Suites to your Saves list
Palacina Residence & Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - just a shame we could only spend a few hours there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of hours as part of a package provided by the travel agent to avoid us sitting in Nairobi Airport for 7 hours. From collection at the airport, right through to returning, the service was excellent. On arrival, we were given access to one of the suites which contained everything we needed to freshen up after our first flight (including spa bath!). Complimentary coffee and snacks were provided before we were ready for our 3 course meal in the Moonflower Restaurant. The food was excellent! If we ever stay in Nairobi for more than a couple of hours we will definitely consider the Palacina!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Dave,
Thank you for staying with us (albeit so briefly)
We hope the rest of your African adventure was also very memorable and we look forward to welcoming you to Nairobi for an extended visit.
Best regards from the whole Palacina family.

Tony Sawe | General Manager | Palacina-Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    31
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
55
9
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Palacina for 1 night whilst in transit between our Kenyian Safari and a beach stay in Tanzania. We were met off our safarilink by the smart Palacina driver who was very friendly and attentive and keen to tell us about the city on our way to the hotel. We had been apprehensive to stay in Nairobi but the hotel is in an excellent area- the presidents residence is just round the corner and lots of the embassies are in the area. The hotel is also very secure in a walled area patrolled by security so we felt very safe. On arrival we were overwhelmed with the beauty of the hotel and the luxury fixtures and furnishings in the reception area alone! We were met and shown to our suite by Joyce. As well as being on honeymoon it was also my husbands 30th birthday. I was worried how I could make this special while we were in transit but the hotel took all that worry away. An upgrade to the penthouse suite, petals scattered in our room a complimentary bottle of bubbly - it made it so special and took my breath away. I cannot thank the team enough for this wonderful gesture. The rooms are also beautifully decorated. We were so comfortable in our beautiful penthouse that we ordered room service from Mayflower (2 steaks!) for dinner and the food was delicious. We did get down to the Mayflower to enjoy breakfast in the morning and even had time for a quick session in the gym- which is small but had everything we wanted and the latest machines (they did mention they are going to be renovating the fitness area to make it more like a spa facility with treatment rooms etc). I would highly recommend Palacina and would love to return. The staff were friendly attentive and made our stay truly remarkable and memorable. This is a fantastic boutique hotel that excels at the personal touch. Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Autumn1082,
Greetings from a rather wintry & grey Nairobi morning.
My team and i were beyond delighted to read your detailed comments and we were all very pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us.
We have offered Joyce something as a gesture of our gratitude and we will continue to improve.
Thanks again and hopefully we will see you in Nairobi in the future.
Best regards
Tony

Tony Sawe | General Manager | Palacina-Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for only a few hours whilst in transit to England. From the moment you walk in you are made to feel special. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated, the food in the Moonflower restaurant superb. This is definitely the place I would stay if visiting Nairobi again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Sandra,

Short but restful; we were delighted to host you.

Hopefully we will see you again for an extended visit.

Thank you!

Tony Sawe | General Manager | Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Palacina is a great choice in Nairobi. At first, my girlfriend and I were a bit reticent because it was more expensive than other options in Nairobi, but in the end we were very happy we payed the slight premium.

The hotel is extremely safe. The rooms are comfortable, clean and tastefully appointed. We were on vacation, so were happy to see that the hotel definitely had a Kenyan flare and didn't feel to sterile. Perhaps the most impressive is the superb customer service: super welcoming and accommodating staff.

A couple other notes:

We organized an airport pick up with them, I recommend this instead of a taxi or other car service. Driver was waiting right outside immigration and provided an extremely pleasant ride to the hotel.

There is a restaurant on-site which is decent, but more expensive than some other Nairobi options. Also the included breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Noah,

Greetings from a wintery Nairobi morning and thank you very much for taking time to review Palacina.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience with us and in Nairobi in general and we look forward to the pleasure of hosting you in the future.

Best regards,

Tony Sawe | General Manager | Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stay at the Palacina anytime I am in Nairobi. It's really lovely - great atmosphere, lovely decor, a very well done hotel. We have a special rate with the hotel and it is absolutely great value for money. Great breakfast. Has a great restaurant attached to it (Moonflower). Good, fast internet. Friendly staff. Afternoon (4pm) tea provided with snacks and tea, complementary; and sometimes have themed nights that guests can attend. Welcome back on checking in has really good cookies and a fruit plate, and a personal letter from the manager welcoming you. Definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear BwT_2017,
Greetings from sunny Nairobi!
Our thanks and appreciation for taking time to write such a detailed review of Palacina.
The team and I were delighted to read it and we promise to keep striving to improve.
Our best wishes,
Tony

Tony Sawe | General Manager | Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here one night when we first arrived to Kenya for vacation. It was a relatively good location as we didn't get stuck in much of the famous Nairobi traffic. We went from the airport and stopped at the Sheldrick trust and Giraffe Center on our way. The hotel is quite removed from the main streets so you feel more like you are in nature than in the city center. The room was lovely and the bathroom was huge. We had our own little sitting room. They welcomed us with cookies in the room. We had a drink on the veranda before dinner. Food was good and they made a special effort to start the breakfast early on our behalf so we could make our early flight. breakfast was delicious with wonderful fruits and pastries. was very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Lasarilla,
Thank you very much for your detailed review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our property and also that you made time to visit the Rhino & Giraffe sanctuaries. Palacina is a strong supporter of local wildlife conservation and your contribution is very much appreciated.
Once again thank you and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
My regards,
Tony

Tony Sawe | GM | Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here for one night on business and wished I had stayed longer. It's really lovely - great atmosphere, lovely decor, clearly someone has spent a lot of time getting it just right. Nice breakfast. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear SilverMarvel,
This is a quick note to thank you very much for taking time to post your review.
My team and I work towards ensuring our guests have the best possible accommodation experience in Nairobi.
When I showed them your post the smiles said it all...
Thank you very much.
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence And Suites
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacina Residence & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.