We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palacina Residence & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palacina Residence & Suites to your Saves list
Palacina Residence & Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stay at the Palacina anytime I am in Nairobi. It's really lovely - great atmosphere, lovely decor, a very well done hotel. We have a special rate with the hotel and it is absolutely great value for money. Great breakfast. Has a great restaurant attached to it (Moonflower). Good, fast internet. Friendly staff. Afternoon (4pm) tea provided with snacks and tea, complementary; and sometimes have themed nights that guests can attend. Welcome back on checking in has really good cookies and a fruit plate, and a personal letter from the manager welcoming you. Definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear BwT_2017,
Greetings from sunny Nairobi!
Our thanks and appreciation for taking time to write such a detailed review of Palacina.
The team and I were delighted to read it and we promise to keep striving to improve.
Our best wishes,
Tony

Tony Sawe | General Manager | Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    30
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
55
9
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here one night when we first arrived to Kenya for vacation. It was a relatively good location as we didn't get stuck in much of the famous Nairobi traffic. We went from the airport and stopped at the Sheldrick trust and Giraffe Center on our way. The hotel is quite removed from the main streets so you feel more like you are in nature than in the city center. The room was lovely and the bathroom was huge. We had our own little sitting room. They welcomed us with cookies in the room. We had a drink on the veranda before dinner. Food was good and they made a special effort to start the breakfast early on our behalf so we could make our early flight. breakfast was delicious with wonderful fruits and pastries. was very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Lasarilla,
Thank you very much for your detailed review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our property and also that you made time to visit the Rhino & Giraffe sanctuaries. Palacina is a strong supporter of local wildlife conservation and your contribution is very much appreciated.
Once again thank you and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
My regards,
Tony

Tony Sawe | GM | Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here for one night on business and wished I had stayed longer. It's really lovely - great atmosphere, lovely decor, clearly someone has spent a lot of time getting it just right. Nice breakfast. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear SilverMarvel,
This is a quick note to thank you very much for taking time to post your review.
My team and I work towards ensuring our guests have the best possible accommodation experience in Nairobi.
When I showed them your post the smiles said it all...
Thank you very much.
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I am now in my 4th week of staying in Palacina. The staff is friendly, and knows my name. The setting is super peaceful, with nice seating in the garden, on the deck, and around the hotel.

The food is excellent both, and there is a lovely breakfast buffet every day.

I started out in the single long term residence, this was a bit small, I was able to give up my kitchen and move to the suites. These are amazingly nice, and if you don't NEED a kitchen, I would recommend them much higher. The suite is huge, their is a wonderful deck over looking the grounds, and the bathroom/closet both beat mine at home.

I think this place would be perfect for a romantic weekend, for a short stay, or for business. If your looking to be in the heart of it all, this may not be the place for you, but if you are looking for a good launching pad in a safe, beautiful hotel... you probably can't do better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Mike,
Its Labor Day in Nairobi and my team and I are very happy to read your very detailed and balanced review.
Thank you very much and hopefully on your return we will have Hookah service for your relaxation.
Best wishes and Happy labor day!
Tony

Tony Sawe | GM | Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Wonderful place to stay in Kenya. Very quite during the evening, clean, spacious and great service. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were brilliant and the opportunity to sit outside on the balcony was lovely. There was construction going on which did mean that I didn't get a sleep in and keeping the curtains open on the side was not possible because workers could see straight into my room. Compared to my other Nairobi accommodation the Palacina was definitely the better place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear SaminMilan,

Thank you very much for choosing Palacina and for your generous review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that Palacina is your preferred choice in Nairobi.
I also thank you for your very kind understanding as we create a slightly larger and much better Palacina and i assure you the most relaxing stay in Nairobi as soon as we are done.

Best wishes
Tony
Tony Sawe | GM | Palacina Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We only stayed a few hours as we needed a room I between stopover flights, however even with such a short amount of time and having arrived in the early hours of the morning, the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and most welcoming! The room was wonderfully prepared for our arrival and the manager that welcomed us upon arrival made sure we were comfortable and made to feel at home. I'll definitely stay there again when passing through Nairobi, hopefully for longer than a day next time. Well worth a visit and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We ended up visiting the Palacina three times in two weeks in-between arrival in Kenya and a safari and then a beach based holiday. The staff were so friendly and polite, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms (and we experienced three of them) were very comfortable. I do like a complimentary coffee and tea and the homemade complimentary hazelnut and chocolate cookies were just delicious. We ate four meals in the restaurant and they were all very tasty and well presented. The garden was very relaxing to sit in during the day and seeing two of the three resident tortoises appear from the foliage was an unexpected treat. I would recommend the Palacina especially if you are flying from Wilson airport to the Masai Mara as it is the right side of town. Traffic in Nairobi at rush hour made London look good! Special thanks to Bildad on reception for making our arrivals at peculiar hours so welcoming.

Room Tip: Penthouse at the top was so spacious, great for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Jane,
Greetings from a sunny Palacina morning and thank you for these lovely comments.
It was indeed a pleasure to host you on 03 separate occasions and we look forward to seeing you again... (anniversary trip hint..)
Thank you also; for your comment regarding Bildad I will definitely offer him a thank you incentive.
Best regards from Palacina,
Tony
Tony Sawe | GM | Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi
Palacina Residence And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacina Residence & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.