We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quite, safe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacina Residence & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palacina Residence & Suites to your Saves list
Palacina Residence & Suites
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely, quite, safe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I am now in my 4th week of staying in Palacina. The staff is friendly, and knows my name. The setting is super peaceful, with nice seating in the garden, on the deck, and around the hotel.

The food is excellent both, and there is a lovely breakfast buffet every day.

I started out in the single long term residence, this was a bit small, I was able to give up my kitchen and move to the suites. These are amazingly nice, and if you don't NEED a kitchen, I would recommend them much higher. The suite is huge, their is a wonderful deck over looking the grounds, and the bathroom/closet both beat mine at home.

I think this place would be perfect for a romantic weekend, for a short stay, or for business. If your looking to be in the heart of it all, this may not be the place for you, but if you are looking for a good launching pad in a safe, beautiful hotel... you probably can't do better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Mike,
Its Labor Day in Nairobi and my team and I are very happy to read your very detailed and balanced review.
Thank you very much and hopefully on your return we will have Hookah service for your relaxation.
Best wishes and Happy labor day!
Tony

Tony Sawe | GM | Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    28
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
53
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Wonderful place to stay in Kenya. Very quite during the evening, clean, spacious and great service. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were brilliant and the opportunity to sit outside on the balcony was lovely. There was construction going on which did mean that I didn't get a sleep in and keeping the curtains open on the side was not possible because workers could see straight into my room. Compared to my other Nairobi accommodation the Palacina was definitely the better place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear SaminMilan,

Thank you very much for choosing Palacina and for your generous review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that Palacina is your preferred choice in Nairobi.
I also thank you for your very kind understanding as we create a slightly larger and much better Palacina and i assure you the most relaxing stay in Nairobi as soon as we are done.

Best wishes
Tony
Tony Sawe | GM | Palacina Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed a few hours as we needed a room I between stopover flights, however even with such a short amount of time and having arrived in the early hours of the morning, the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and most welcoming! The room was wonderfully prepared for our arrival and the manager that welcomed us upon arrival made sure we were comfortable and made to feel at home. I'll definitely stay there again when passing through Nairobi, hopefully for longer than a day next time. Well worth a visit and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We ended up visiting the Palacina three times in two weeks in-between arrival in Kenya and a safari and then a beach based holiday. The staff were so friendly and polite, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms (and we experienced three of them) were very comfortable. I do like a complimentary coffee and tea and the homemade complimentary hazelnut and chocolate cookies were just delicious. We ate four meals in the restaurant and they were all very tasty and well presented. The garden was very relaxing to sit in during the day and seeing two of the three resident tortoises appear from the foliage was an unexpected treat. I would recommend the Palacina especially if you are flying from Wilson airport to the Masai Mara as it is the right side of town. Traffic in Nairobi at rush hour made London look good! Special thanks to Bildad on reception for making our arrivals at peculiar hours so welcoming.

Room Tip: Penthouse at the top was so spacious, great for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Jane,
Greetings from a sunny Palacina morning and thank you for these lovely comments.
It was indeed a pleasure to host you on 03 separate occasions and we look forward to seeing you again... (anniversary trip hint..)
Thank you also; for your comment regarding Bildad I will definitely offer him a thank you incentive.
Best regards from Palacina,
Tony
Tony Sawe | GM | Palacina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

It was a pleasure to have the spacious, clean, and beautiful accommodations at the Palacina for a 5-day business/leisure trip to Nairobi. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and breakfasts were exactly right - a nice selection of fruit, cereals, breads and pastries, very fresh eggs and french toast, if you wanted. The management was especially kind in letting us leave our luggage over the three days we visited the Masai Mara, and even gave us a room to freshen up in when we returned on Sunday, just before our flight back to London. I would highly recommend the Palacina. And don't miss the Kuona art center around the corner - this is actually an artist colony, where you can actually meet and chat with the artists in their studios.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Robin,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your very generous & detailed review of Palacina.
I also enjoy The Kuona Trust very much and i am very pleased that you had an opportunity to enjoy it as well.
Best wishes from Nairobi,
Tony

Tony Sawe | GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Palacina Suites were being renovated during my stay. The hotel was upfront about this when I booked, and gave me a 20% discount because of the minor work being done. Considering that many hotels do not warn guests about noise and dust if work is being carried out in advance of their arrival, this was a good sign.

Everything from that point went smoothly. The staff are the friendliest I have ever come across, the rooms are spacious and well designed, the food was good...

I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Greetings from a sunny Palacina day.
I passed your comments around at our weekly staff gathering and the smiles said it all!
... we are delighted that our small efforts are appreciated.
Thank you very much and we look forward to your soonest return.


Tony Sawe | G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We left the Mara on the afternoon flight, arriving in Nairobi at 4.30pm & with our flight to the UK not departing until 12 midnight, so a long tiresome wait!

We have stayed at the Palacina before & this time to advantage of their airport transfer, courtesy room. & evening meal package. It was absolutely super, an efficient transfer from Wilson Airport, welcomed at the hotel with complimentary afternoon tea & cakes. Made to feel very welcome, all the hotel facilities to use, including Wifi, a perfect room with shower facilities to freshen up & have a lie down. An excellent evening meal. & then off to the international airport at 9.30pm. All in all a very good facility, wonderful welcome. & lovely facilities. We will return , try it you will not be disappointed! Thank you .

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Sharon E.
Thank you for very pleasantly ushering us into year 2014!
Thank you also for choosing Palacina as "home in Nairobi" during your recent visit.
We were delighted to welcome you and hopefully we will have the pleasure again soon.
Best wishes for the New Year,
Tony
Tony sawe - GM -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi
Palacina Residence And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacina Residence & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.