We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Saturdays in a row” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacina Residence & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palacina Residence & Suites to your Saves list
Palacina Residence & Suites
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Baku, Azerbaijan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“2 Saturdays in a row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Yep on way to Safari and on way back, what can I say, lovely room, great bed, quiet-ish although odd crash of door inevitable I guess....boutique hotel, oozes charm warmth and style, staff really helpful and faxed some business stuff off for us to UK and didn't charge. Didn't manage to get breakfast at normal timne due to early flights but it wasn't brilliant but very ok......
Ate both nights in Moonlight restaurant opposite and owned by same (in fact you can charge to room) - and wow very good indeed - live band were just right, light jazz type sound and in all great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you Dave, the pleasure was all ours!
I have noted your comment on the doors and I have included it in my next action plan.
Thank you for allowing us to host you,
Tony Sawe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    28
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
53
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Palacina has one of the best private dinning rooms. I've been there twice in the last month for birthday parties and I'd recommend it for anyone who wants to throw a party for pax 20. The service, food and ambiance is that extra touch needed for a super dinner party. Thanks to Justus and his team. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Palacina is one unforgettable experience. I had a fantastic time in my short stay and would not even think twice about recommending it to my friends and business associates. I especially liked the food and ambiance and most of all the service. It guarantees real value for one's money.The relaxed and peaceful atmosphere gives the ideal environment for one to conduct their business. Congratulations Palacina, you are definitely a cut above the rest in the hotel and hospitality industry. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst en route to Tanzania for Safari. It was about a 30 min drive from the airport and you see a bit of Nairobi on the way. The hotel is behind heavy security doors and well guarded. We felt very safe. Rooms are lovely, very spacious and huge beds. Breakfast was quite limited but certainly adequate in terms of continental. Gardens looked nice but sadly we didn't have time to enjoy them.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just spent one night at the Palacina following a two week Safari and prior to our flight home. The hotel is located near the state house thus is in a good location though nowhere in Naroibi is it safe to wander the streets. Every building is a walled compound.

The Palacina is a small boutique hotel. We were in room 18 which was up two flights. It had a spacious deck, large sitting area, very comfortable king, walk in closet, and an extra large bathroom. Very comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent with a nice band playing at a comfortable sound level.

The next day we planned on touring and returning to the hotel to freshen up, and have dinner prior to heading to the airport at 7pm. Given it was raining we returned at 2pm and the hotel was gracious enough to comp us a free room in their residential apts area so we could relax and shower before the long trip home. That was a big and very pleasant surprise. Our tour operator, Kensington, must do a lot of business with them.

Room Tip: Room 18 was very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were upgraded to the penthouse upon our arrival and the suite was fantastic, great decor and design throughout the whole hotel.
The attached restaraunt was really great and we enjoyed our meal there during our brief stay in nairobi.
The only negative I have was that when the small shaving mirror fell in our room and smashed while I was using it, I reported it to reception and apologised and did say I would pay. However upon check out we were charged $25US for whatseemed to be a $5 mirror. But it was 5am and I was in no mind to argue it out.
The hotel is decorated to a high standard (there are also an interior design company).
We only arrived mid afternoon and left early morning so didn't see anything of nairobi, but this hotel was an oasis of calm and luxury hidden away behind security gates and high walls, within the chaos of nairobi

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynesville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I took a two week Safari in Africa. We arrived in Nairobi around 8:00 pm, so were tired from the long travel. The hotel is small, but the staff friendly and accomodating. We were able to order food, and wine/beer before heading to bed. Rooms were comfortable and modern. We had to go up several flights of stairs to get to our room, but we had a busboy carry our luggage. This hotel is expensive, so hard to justify the price when we were just there to sleep. Not sure if there is anything to do near the hotel, since we were only there overnight.

Room Tip: If you have an issue with stairs, you may want to request a room on a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi
Palacina Residence And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacina Residence & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.