We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palacina Residence & Suites

Save Saved
You added Palacina Residence & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palacina Residence & Suites
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Spent 5 nights in Nairobi to visit friends and had a great experience at the Palacina. There is a great restaurant attached which is nice because its so hard to get around Nairobi. Trips and cabs through the hotel are very expensive relative to calling a cab, so if you get the name of a reliable cab driver, use them.
Has a fitness center, which is not much but is fine for a quick workout and a spa which is just a massage room but is relatively inexpensive and massages are good.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
48
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We arrived here late in the evening just as the restaurant was about to close. They kept it open and made a lovely dinner for us. Their attitude was pleasant. We stayed one night on our way to a safari. I would recommend as much as a one night stay's info would allow.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali Rwanda
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Palacina is a dreamy small boutique hotel (I swear I thought up this title and only afterwards noted on their website that Lonely Planet says the same of it!). I used to stay their regularly when I was able to score reasonable rates particularly because I always loved the fabulous food and jazz (Friday nights) at Moonflower. The bar area is fantastic -- definitely harkens of Nairobi days of old and the outdoor setting area is reminiscent of a safari camp. Certainly try their grilled snapper - it's always a great way to go. I stopped staying there as the price couldn't quite compete with Fairview, but I would if I could!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aktobe, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Our travel advisor booked us overnight into the Palacina and it was a perfect choice. The hotel is in a quiet location and upon entering we were immediately made welcome by the staff who directed us to a nearby trolley with welcome and delicious teas and coffees and bites. The room was amazing with a massive double bed, huge walk-in changing room and ALL the mod cons.

As we arrived in the early evening and were due to fly out early next morning we had dinner at the hotel's Moonflower Restaurant. A perfect choice. The table was located on the verandah, the service was wonderful mand the drinks and food superb.

Even though we were up before breakfast hours, the staff had a breakfast ready for us. Would I stay here again? Absolutely and as soon as I can.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Maine
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Over the past five years we've enjoyed many good meals at Moonflower, Palacina's fine dining restaurant. Service is impeccable, and the decor is very interesting with its combination of colonial Kenyan and Zanzibarian influences. There is a nice feeling of continuity and comraderie among the staff since most are long-term employees. It IS quite pricey, but we have never been disappointed, nor have the many guests we have entertained here. Check out the hotel lobby and the Palacina Interiors showroom for some beautiful decorating ideas.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We visited Palacina twice for dinner.Its a quiet place tucked away near Dennis Pritt Road.The place is just awesome,live music in background,good food,Basically if u want a pleasant dinning experience .There was a live band playing(we visited on friday and saturday).They even sang hindi songs.They take requests for Hindi songs on saturday night .You may choose sit in the open space with a tent above or inside the restaurant.We tried both.Though its bit cold outside its nice.Food is good so also service.They take requests for Hindi songs on saturday night .If u are Indian avoid ordering grilled lamb since we used to more softer version of grilled lamb and its a bit harder here the way the cook.The crowd hardly had Indians ,but you wont feel out of place.Its a must visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong & Seattle
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed twice at this secluded hotel set in a garden, at the beginning and end of a lengthy safari. Beautiful room, large bedroom and living room (with microwave, sink, plates & DVD player). Large bathroom. Great decor (designed by Palacina Interiors). Go to the 'gift shop' which is the Palacina Interiors shop). Spacious balcony. The massage was fantastic. Terrific breakfast. Good though pricey food at . We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so ask for a lower room if you don't want to walk up lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence And Suites
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacina Residence & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;