We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel if you like Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacina Residence & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palacina Residence & Suites to your Saves list
Palacina Residence & Suites
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Caerphilly
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel if you like Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed here on a short stopover in Nairobi on our way home from Madagascar and Nairobi is something of a culture shock after 3+ weeks with the somewhat spiritual Malagasies. Kenyans are rather boisterous with a lively sense of humour it seems! It was all rather a bit of a fuss for a short stopover but Nairobi airport is hot noisy sticky and unpleasant so it was probably better than staying there for 8 hours. The hotel is very quiet and smart and the room was actually a suite, with sitting room, balcony sitting room, spa bath and all the trimmings. The furnishings were beautiful and we'd have liked to have more time to enjoy the room's facilities. We ate in the Moonflower restaurant which was al fresco and a bit chilly and with intrusive noise from the bar at first - until the live band of elderly Kenyans started up. They were very good too. So was the food - plenty of vegetarian choice and well cooked - shame we weren't eating much in advance of a long flight.
I would certainly like to stay here again if I'm ever in the area but doubt that will happen as Nairobi isn't really our thing.

Room Tip: I think they are all good but we had room 17 which was fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    28
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
53
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This was a lovely boutique hotel in Nairobi that we stayed at when we had two long layovers prior to flying to and from the camps we stayed at in Kenya. This little hotel was cozy and comfortable. When we arrived the first time (it was about 1:30 a.m.) and they had prepared sandwiches and cookies which they left in the room. We were able to grab about six hours of sleep before we woke up for breakfast which is served in a little dining room off the lobby. They had eggs, fruit, cereal, cinnamon muffins (these were great) and coffee. The front porch area was lovely and we were able to sit visit with others who were staying there. The Palacina provided transportation to and from the airport for a price. When considering this hotel, make sure you leave enough time to get to and from the airport. The traffic can be horrendous if you arrive any time around rush hour. The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was huge and there was a little balcony off the room.

On our trip back to the States, we again stayed at the Palacina for about 13 hours. When we walked in, it was tea time so there was a pretty big spread on the table. There were cookies, tea, coffee, etc. They upgraded us to the penthouse which was just lovely. There were two bedrooms, a kitchen, living room, two full baths, and enclosed porch overlooking the city. We ordered room service which took a little longer than we expected. I ordered a burger (should have known better) and my friend ordered a chicken curry. When traveling in Africa, I would order local dishes, rather than americanized meals. I'll never do this again. The hotel also offers two laptops with free internet in the lobby which was great, as I couldn't sleep and ended up on one of them for a couple of hours.

There is only one drawback to this hotel. There are no elevators and there are quite a few stairs in order to reach your room.

All in all, the hotel is a great little oasis and a place to relax before flying home. There is also a pool on the grounds.

Room Tip: I would try to stay on one of the lower floors if it's hard for you to climb stairs. The pentho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I should mention that I was only here for a single night and didn't arrive until 11pm. However, this was the perfect place to stay after the long flight from the UK. The staff were efficient and friendly and provided excellent service. The suite could not have been much better, large rooms and beautiful decor with a very comfortable bed. I only wish I could have stayed for another night to have really appreciated it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was an ideal place to stay in Nairobi at the start of our honeymoon. I didn't get a "Corporate" feel from it as some reviews suggested. We had a lovely and very spacious suite, with a bathroom that my new wife was very impressed by. There was a lot of space with a large bedroom and walk-in closet, a separate sitting room and a large balcony. The welcome platter layed out for us was also a nice touch.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were tired from our flight so we ate in the Hotel restaurant. We had a lovely meal in a relaxed open air surrounding with a very enjoyable Louis Armstrong style band playing.
The breakfast the next morning was tasty and substantial and the whole of the ground floor is very nicely decorated. My only regret was not having another night or two here to recoup after the wedding before heading on safari!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed at the Palacina Hotel for one night on our way from Rwanda to Masai Mara. The hotel is very nice with large, modern suites. The reason I am not giving this hotel a 5 star rating is the location - on a side road somewhere - and the condition of the road to the hotel. Right in front of the hotel the road is in a terrible condition - while I understand that the road is Nairobi City Hall responsibility, if I were the manager of the hotel I would have fixed at least 20 meters at the entrance of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
We were very pleased to host you and delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us.
I am also delighted to advise that the City Council of Nairobi has finally authorized the repairs of Kitale Lane and the work is currently underway to be completed within the month.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a smooth & pristine Kitale Lane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

The streets of Nairobi are pretty scary. The speed our cabbie travelled at from the airport to Palacina - doors locked and looking anxiously at the other drivers, didn't exactly set our fraught travel nerves at ease. But the Palacina did. What a little oasis! Our room was exceptional. Very big, beautifully decorated, a gorgeous bathroom and giant walk in wardrobe. I'm just so disappointed that it's in Nairobi as we'd love to have spent longer. The only downside was breakfast. The pastries were rock hard and if you don't eat cereal then you're out of luck. Coffee was great though as you'd expect.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

A delightful boutique hotel, clean, comfortable and friendly/helpful staff. Small relaxing pool area and a great partially open restaurant with local and international specialities. Breakfast was yummy with both hot and cold items. The perfect home away from home and start to my Africa trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi
Palacina Residence And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacina Residence & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.