We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, large suite and first rate service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacina Residence & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palacina Residence & Suites to your Saves list
Palacina Residence & Suites
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful, large suite and first rate service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I should mention that I was only here for a single night and didn't arrive until 11pm. However, this was the perfect place to stay after the long flight from the UK. The staff were efficient and friendly and provided excellent service. The suite could not have been much better, large rooms and beautiful decor with a very comfortable bed. I only wish I could have stayed for another night to have really appreciated it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    28
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
53
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was an ideal place to stay in Nairobi at the start of our honeymoon. I didn't get a "Corporate" feel from it as some reviews suggested. We had a lovely and very spacious suite, with a bathroom that my new wife was very impressed by. There was a lot of space with a large bedroom and walk-in closet, a separate sitting room and a large balcony. The welcome platter layed out for us was also a nice touch.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were tired from our flight so we ate in the Hotel restaurant. We had a lovely meal in a relaxed open air surrounding with a very enjoyable Louis Armstrong style band playing.
The breakfast the next morning was tasty and substantial and the whole of the ground floor is very nicely decorated. My only regret was not having another night or two here to recoup after the wedding before heading on safari!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed at the Palacina Hotel for one night on our way from Rwanda to Masai Mara. The hotel is very nice with large, modern suites. The reason I am not giving this hotel a 5 star rating is the location - on a side road somewhere - and the condition of the road to the hotel. Right in front of the hotel the road is in a terrible condition - while I understand that the road is Nairobi City Hall responsibility, if I were the manager of the hotel I would have fixed at least 20 meters at the entrance of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacina, General Manager at Palacina Residence & Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
We were very pleased to host you and delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us.
I am also delighted to advise that the City Council of Nairobi has finally authorized the repairs of Kitale Lane and the work is currently underway to be completed within the month.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a smooth & pristine Kitale Lane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

The streets of Nairobi are pretty scary. The speed our cabbie travelled at from the airport to Palacina - doors locked and looking anxiously at the other drivers, didn't exactly set our fraught travel nerves at ease. But the Palacina did. What a little oasis! Our room was exceptional. Very big, beautifully decorated, a gorgeous bathroom and giant walk in wardrobe. I'm just so disappointed that it's in Nairobi as we'd love to have spent longer. The only downside was breakfast. The pastries were rock hard and if you don't eat cereal then you're out of luck. Coffee was great though as you'd expect.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

A delightful boutique hotel, clean, comfortable and friendly/helpful staff. Small relaxing pool area and a great partially open restaurant with local and international specialities. Breakfast was yummy with both hot and cold items. The perfect home away from home and start to my Africa trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed at Palacina Residence & Suites on the last night of our trip to Kenya whilst waiting for a flight back to the UK. The complex has a very corporate feel – with many business people on extended stays whilst in the city on business. The overall standard of décor is good. The staff were not as friendly or attentive as others encountered on our trip in the country.

The ‘suites’ are spacious (lounge, bedroom and bathroom) and come complete with everything you could need to be self-sufficient – microwave, kettle, iron, sink etc – which demonstrates the staple clientele. We were unfortunate to coincide out arrival with a power failure and therefore the generators were whirring very loudly not too far from our window (Suite 18) – and as the room did not have air conditioning we could not open the windows for some cool air. Upon calling reception we were told that the situation would be rectified shortly – however it was still whirring away when we left the following morning at 10am. Not an ideal grounding to a nine hour flight home.

We had supper in the restaurant which was very decent (steak & chips and a non-flour chocolate cake - excellent).

The only complaint was the noise from the generators; something I assume is not a common occurrence however it would have been good to have had an apology. Upon being asked how our stay had been we replied – ‘if you consider sleep an important factor in assessing the success of a hotel stay then pretty poor’ to which there was no response.

Personally we would not return as it had too much of a corporate feel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip through Kenya and Tanzania! This hotel was by far the most impressive throughout out travel. The service was fantastic, the room equally so. Our only regret was that we only stayed one single night... We would have loved to stay at least a couple of days to enjoy the hotel more.

Highly recommended is the restaurant that belongs to the place that plays live jazz music while you are dining! The atmosphere and food is simply great!

Small things like having a DVD library where you can just pick your movies are just fab add-ons to this great hotel! We loved it!!!1

Honeymoon or just passing through Nairobi, this simply must be the best place to stay at !!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi
Palacina Residence And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacina Residence & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.