We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water only supply for 6 hours a day!! My friend's laptop was stolen but they refused to investigate!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi International Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nairobi International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Nairobi International Youth Hostel
Ralph Bunche Rd, Nairobi 48661 , Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Water only supply for 6 hours a day!! My friend's laptop was stolen but they refused to investigate!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We only can take shower and use water in toilets from 8 to 11am and 7 to 9:30 pm. During the day time there is water on the roof but not in toilets. Sometimes the electricity and water were both turned off while I took shower. The most serious problem is that it is NOT SAFE there. My friend's laptop was stolen recently and she is the only one who lives in the room, which means only the staff got the key of the room. After her computer was stolen, the manager of this hostel refused to investigate!!! Please consider seriously before you book this hostel. And also the staffs in this hostel please find my friends' computer for her, otherwise I will keep reporting the event.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
2
5
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

From the outside this hostel looks a bit like a prison... but still I would strongly recommend to go to this place because it's cheap. The staff is honest and helpfull. The safari's the offer are not expensive, it;s customized for people with a small budget.
The internet is cheap (other hostels are way more expensive with internet). You can have a great meal across the street, en it;s about 30 minutes from the city (on foot). Although I've been to more cosy hostels in the past... it felt a bit like home, because it's a great place to arrange things for your holiday!

Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

I shared a room with someone who'd been staying there for 3months (who was studying nearby), the room was tiny and pretty grimmy, I didn't touch the sheets. Cold showers with no locks on doors and the toilets didn't lock either. People at the desk were nice although I think be wary. I booked a coach through them from Nairobi to Malindi which turned out to be a big scam and we were left stranded in Mombassa. Do not book through them. It turns out they took 4 times the amount it should have been and the journey was one big mess (I won't bore you with all the details). I get the impression all the people who stay here are studying nearby.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

The Nairobi Youth Hostel (NYH) is a great bargain located very close to downtown Nairobi. You do get what you pay for however. The rooms are small and not especially clean. The bathrooms can be a little scary if you are not a frequenter of third world countries. That said it is very hard to beat the value and the staff at the NYH. Shared rooms go for about US$9 per night, and private rooms are about US$15 per night. There are also two apartments that can be rented out that have private baths, a kitchen, and can sleep four easily. Apartments are frequently rented out so book in advance.

The food there is basic but cheap and not a health risk for travelers. A small on-site store allows purchase of basics. You can also cook in the main dining area, not a bad option if you are traveling in a group. The final advantage to the NYH is that it always has an international cast of travelers and many locals staying there. As with many youth hostels it is an economical place to stay, where you can get some good travel advice, and is generally safe. It is not the Hilton, but then you aren't paying $150 per night either.

Some recommendations are to shower downstairs where there is usually hot water, (ask at the desk if there is water! before you start), Pay for the private room, bring mosquito repellant, close your windows before it gets dark and spray room, this will reduce mosquitos. Bring your own towel and bedding, and a mosquito net if you have one.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Bathrooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring earplugs
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2005

I'll start off by saying that the staff we very nice. It's too bad that the Hostel couldn't live up to the same level. We stayed in a room for two people ($22 USD) for five days (we were stuck there because I had prepaid it online). For that price there are much better options in the central business district of Nairobi that have private bathrooms, hot water and bigger rooms.

The bathrooms at the Hostel were disgusting and where seemingly never cleaned, although we’d see the cleaning guy everyday. When we stayed there some floors didn't have running water, and none had hot water. The bed sheet provided were dirty and the double room tiny.

For the price they charge for two people, you can do much better staying somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.8 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#6 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#10 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
2.6 mi away
Progressive Park Hotel
Progressive Park Hotel
#20 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi International Youth Hostel

Address: Ralph Bunche Rd, Nairobi 48661, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Nairobi International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi International Youth Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.