We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be worse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi International Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Nairobi International Youth Hostel
Ralph Bunche Rd, Nairobi 48661 , Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Could be worse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for five nights around safaris. We thought it was quite expensive for what we got, but after speaking to other travellers, we thought this was good value for Nairobi. We had a private room which was very basic, with shared bathroom facilities. Hot water is practically none-existent so had many cold showers. The deputy manager, James, was friendly and helpful. Only toilet roll and sheets provided, no toiletries, quilt etc. On-site cafe is cheap and filling, and there is a coffee shop over the road with free wifi. Whole place could do with a spruce up but good location (30 mins walk from downtown Nairobi) and helpful staff made this place better than some other hostels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
3
4
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at this place with my family for two days, when we visited this city to attend a birthday party of my friend. All the things were good like the room, food, facilities, etc. But, the staff is really wonderful. My wife lost her diamond ring and they helped us for four hours in finding that. Thanks to the entire team. Thoroughly Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comoros islands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

toilets - aggggghhhhhhhhh. none of the flush works.
quiet dorms, neat sheets - plenty of mosquitoes, so carry a power adapter as well as mosquito mats.
restaurant is passable. but better options on the street.
the small shop at the car park charges you double for everything; so if you can just walk round the corner to the Total petrol station, the convenience store sells you almost all your needy stuff at cheaper rates.
taxi fare to airport is around $15 -17 outside and through the office or the tour operator, it comes to $25.

Room Tip: dorm no 1 ground floor has some passable toilets but the ones on the first floor is a disaster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

First impressions were not good as there was no water soothe toilets were disgusting, and however on my return journey was much better. For the price as a youth hostel it was very good.
I would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Friendliness of staff does not match the facilities. Toilets and Showers were terrible, and what's worse is that nothing serious is being done about it, considering the high number of tourists moving in and out!!
Location is good, but I would advice people to take good care of their personal belongings, especially electronics.

Room Tip: Book online before travelling. If you arrive at night, the nightguard can sometimes be misguiding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed in this youth hostel for a couple of days just after I came back from a Safari in Serengeti and Massai Mara. It is a very nice hotel, good location but the bathrooms could be a bit cleaner. The staff were friendly and arranged my airport transfer. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay, and i guess its just worth its price

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the hostel for one night before catching a flight back home. For a one-night stay on a backpacking trip I would definitely recommend this place as it is cheap and the staff is friendly. We had one room for the two of us so I cannot compare with people who had to share a (tiny) room with other people. The place was clean. They arranged a taxi at 5 in the morning to get to the airport, so again no problem there. I would recommend the place it you need a place to stay before going to the airport (quite close)!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi International Youth Hostel

Also Known As:
Nairobi International Youth Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi International Youth Hotel
Address: Ralph Bunche Rd, Nairobi 48661 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 88 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Nairobi International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.