We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No water + communal toilets = URGH.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi International Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nairobi International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Nairobi International Youth Hostel
Ralph Bunche Rd, Nairobi 48661 , Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No water + communal toilets = URGH.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I've stayed in my fair share of hostels in my time and I have to say, this is one of the worst.
They staged a powercut whilst I stayed there to conserve electricity. They turn of the water in the bathrooms from around 8am so if you want to shower that day, you've got to fight for it.
Staying in the 18 bed dorm, normally fine, but when you piece together large amounts of people and no running water in the toilets...it's not a pretty sight. Or smell. I'm sorry, it's a bit crude but there were just piles and piles of excrement in the toilets just wishing, hoping, dreaming for a flush of water.
Disgusting.

The only saving grace is that Java house is opposite. Good food, good coffee, good wifi. Because yes, they say there's an internet cafe. That's a lie. It's never open.

I'd stay somewhere else if I were you...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
3
4
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

i arrived around 7 am.everything was fine and quick at the reception during checking in.this hostel located at a very nice place,quiet .it will take you about 15 minutes walk to the city center.few meters there is a very nice coffee house.there is cyber cafe,a tour desk and a restaurant.all the staffs were kind and nice but very slow.one must understand that this is Africa.if you expect a five star service then you better try nairobi serena,sarova stanley,or intercontinental.no hot water ,i stayed there for two nights and i was happy with everything they did.beckerjira@yahoo.com

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stop in Nairobi so we had two nights already paid up, however we knew within hours that we would not be staying beyond that. The good points... A roof over your head, toilets, a small shop insure that sells food and water.
The bad points... No hot water and cold water only between 6am and 8pm. No water to flush with certainly contributed to the lack of cleanliness in the bathroom. There was also no wifi, even though it is advertised. Rooms were acceptable if a little dirty. We also found this a very poor hostel for meeting other travellers, we barely saw another sole there. Price is not expensive but I expected it to be the cheapest which it certainly is not.

We stayed for the two nights by which time we had met other travellers in the city centre. We inquired as to where they were staying and never went back to the international youth hostel. We stayed at the milmani which I will write a review for shortly when we leave, but I'd recommend it, much nicer and slightly cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I was here 9th 10th 11th 12th March. An awful dirty experience, food atrocious staff awful apart from James on reception. No water, only one working shower for 6 rooms a5 people. Toilets dirty and smelly. Th Manager was rude and insulting complaining to me that his staff were at fault so why harass me an idiot who does not realise how poor his accommodation really is.

Quite frankly not sure how this qualifies as a n International hostel!

Room Tip: If you want cheap this is the place always available rooms awful hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

This is Africa...sometimes the water doesn't work - no showers, no toilet flush, etc... but at least the power stayed on all the time. There is 24 hour gated security guard. It has a basic restaurant and Internet cafe but no Wi-fi. They also offer long term baggage storage service. Downtown is 30 minutes away by walking downhill 2.5km or for 40 shillings (US50 cents) one can walk over the Valley Road pedestrian overpass and take the blue KBS public bus number 46 in about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Is a good place for every body that has an open mind for traveling with a low budget, attendants are very nice and helpful people, is close to down town, touristing places and parks.
MATATUS ( public transportation ) are very cheap and runs to different places like KAREN area, NOGONG HILLS, BOMAS, GIRAFF CENTER, NAIROBI NAT'l PARK, and many more.
Just across the street you will find the best thing in NAIROBI, the paradise for early coffee drinkers - The JAVA COFFEE HOUSE - with their good real KENYA coffee and pays, also you can find the delicious and exotic, passion fruit juice and good typical food for a reasonable price.
The hostel has a typical restaurant with good African dishes; ask to Edna for the dish of the day, she can make you a very good recommendation, you can order a NAN (flour typical arabic tortilla ) baked in a rustic oven with real charcoal at the moment you order your food; it will be grate.
Do not forget to keep your valuable belongings with you.

Room Tip: Any one is good, the fewest beds the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed hear in Dec 2010 for week and a couple of days before i flew back to uk in late March 2011,it was basic but i found the staff very helpfull,at the time they were putting a pizza oven in,for futher extension of the cafe,the staff were great and i met some very intresting people there including James an 80 year old back packer from the states,the hostel was used for community events,but it was basic but the people made my stay there..and even tough its not the ritz i would stay back ther as i liked the feel of the place..allthough the water was on certain times,it didnt spoil my stay,but overall i LIKED it.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi International Youth Hostel

Address: Ralph Bunche Rd, Nairobi 48661 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Nairobi International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi International Youth Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.