We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi International Youth Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nairobi International Youth Hostel
Save
You added Nairobi International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Ralph Bunche Rd, Nairobi 48661 , Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

i arrived around 7 am.everything was fine and quick at the reception during checking in.this hostel located at a very nice place,quiet .it will take you about 15 minutes walk to the city center.few meters there is a very nice coffee house.there is cyber cafe,a tour desk and a restaurant.all the staffs were kind and nice but very slow.one must understand that this is Africa.if you expect a five star service then you better try nairobi serena,sarova stanley,or intercontinental.no hot water ,i stayed there for two nights and i was happy with everything they did.beckerjira@yahoo.com

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckerjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stop in Nairobi so we had two nights already paid up, however we knew within hours that we would not be staying beyond that. The good points... A roof over your head, toilets, a small shop insure that sells food and water.
The bad points... No hot water and cold water only between 6am and 8pm. No water to flush with certainly contributed to the lack of cleanliness in the bathroom. There was also no wifi, even though it is advertised. Rooms were acceptable if a little dirty. We also found this a very poor hostel for meeting other travellers, we barely saw another sole there. Price is not expensive but I expected it to be the cheapest which it certainly is not.

We stayed for the two nights by which time we had met other travellers in the city centre. We inquired as to where they were staying and never went back to the international youth hostel. We stayed at the milmani which I will write a review for shortly when we leave, but I'd recommend it, much nicer and slightly cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cd7698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I was here 9th 10th 11th 12th March. An awful dirty experience, food atrocious staff awful apart from James on reception. No water, only one working shower for 6 rooms a5 people. Toilets dirty and smelly. Th Manager was rude and insulting complaining to me that his staff were at fault so why harass me an idiot who does not realise how poor his accommodation really is.

Quite frankly not sure how this qualifies as a n International hostel!

Room Tip: If you want cheap this is the place always available rooms awful hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank how3hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is Africa...sometimes the water doesn't work - no showers, no toilet flush, etc... but at least the power stayed on all the time. There is 24 hour gated security guard. It has a basic restaurant and Internet cafe but no Wi-fi. They also offer long term baggage storage service. Downtown is 30 minutes away by walking downhill 2.5km or for 40 shillings (US50 cents) one can walk over the Valley Road pedestrian overpass and take the blue KBS public bus number 46 in about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyMaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Is a good place for every body that has an open mind for traveling with a low budget, attendants are very nice and helpful people, is close to down town, touristing places and parks.
MATATUS ( public transportation ) are very cheap and runs to different places like KAREN area, NOGONG HILLS, BOMAS, GIRAFF CENTER, NAIROBI NAT'l PARK, and many more.
Just across the street you will find the best thing in NAIROBI, the paradise for early coffee drinkers - The JAVA COFFEE HOUSE - with their good real KENYA coffee and pays, also you can find the delicious and exotic, passion fruit juice and good typical food for a reasonable price.
The hostel has a typical restaurant with good African dishes; ask to Edna for the dish of the day, she can make you a very good recommendation, you can order a NAN (flour typical arabic tortilla ) baked in a rustic oven with real charcoal at the moment you order your food; it will be grate.
Do not forget to keep your valuable belongings with you.

Room Tip: Any one is good, the fewest beds the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed hear in Dec 2010 for week and a couple of days before i flew back to uk in late March 2011,it was basic but i found the staff very helpfull,at the time they were putting a pizza oven in,for futher extension of the cafe,the staff were great and i met some very intresting people there including James an 80 year old back packer from the states,the hostel was used for community events,but it was basic but the people made my stay there..and even tough its not the ritz i would stay back ther as i liked the feel of the place..allthough the water was on certain times,it didnt spoil my stay,but overall i LIKED it.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in Nairobi, the International Youth Hostel located in community district if probably the best option in the city. Not far away from several useful places like pharmacy, fruit vendors, hospitals, southern Sudan embassy, etc.

The hostel staff is just great and very helpful. Great people. There is also a restaurant just aside the hostel where you can have a tasty and cheap meal.

Rooms are normal and you couldn't expect more from a East African youth hostel room, with bunk beds and shared bathrooms. I stayed here twice and last time I got a 2 bed room, so since no one else was staying there I end up having the room all for myself for 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joaoleitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Upper Hill Estate
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Meltonia Luxury Suites
#43 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#85 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel
#94 of 145 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#24 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#13 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi International Youth Hostel

Address: Ralph Bunche Rd, Nairobi 48661, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Also Known As:
Nairobi International Youth Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing