We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and cheap place for real, open mind backpackers.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi International Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nairobi International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Nairobi International Youth Hostel
Ralph Bunche Rd, Nairobi 48661 , Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good and cheap place for real, open mind backpackers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Is a good place for every body that has an open mind for traveling with a low budget, attendants are very nice and helpful people, is close to down town, touristing places and parks.
MATATUS ( public transportation ) are very cheap and runs to different places like KAREN area, NOGONG HILLS, BOMAS, GIRAFF CENTER, NAIROBI NAT'l PARK, and many more.
Just across the street you will find the best thing in NAIROBI, the paradise for early coffee drinkers - The JAVA COFFEE HOUSE - with their good real KENYA coffee and pays, also you can find the delicious and exotic, passion fruit juice and good typical food for a reasonable price.
The hostel has a typical restaurant with good African dishes; ask to Edna for the dish of the day, she can make you a very good recommendation, you can order a NAN (flour typical arabic tortilla ) baked in a rustic oven with real charcoal at the moment you order your food; it will be grate.
Do not forget to keep your valuable belongings with you.

Room Tip: Any one is good, the fewest beds the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
2
5
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed hear in Dec 2010 for week and a couple of days before i flew back to uk in late March 2011,it was basic but i found the staff very helpfull,at the time they were putting a pizza oven in,for futher extension of the cafe,the staff were great and i met some very intresting people there including James an 80 year old back packer from the states,the hostel was used for community events,but it was basic but the people made my stay there..and even tough its not the ritz i would stay back ther as i liked the feel of the place..allthough the water was on certain times,it didnt spoil my stay,but overall i LIKED it.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in Nairobi, the International Youth Hostel located in community district if probably the best option in the city. Not far away from several useful places like pharmacy, fruit vendors, hospitals, southern Sudan embassy, etc.

The hostel staff is just great and very helpful. Great people. There is also a restaurant just aside the hostel where you can have a tasty and cheap meal.

Rooms are normal and you couldn't expect more from a East African youth hostel room, with bunk beds and shared bathrooms. I stayed here twice and last time I got a 2 bed room, so since no one else was staying there I end up having the room all for myself for 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madremanya, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were there some days and all is correct for the price you are paying. My opinion is that they can increase the price a bit for the sleeping night and reform some places, change some matresses, condition the washrooms...

Room Tip: Opposite the hostel is a Java House Coffee... great place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Narobi Youth Hostel is a very basic place, with rooms that are not very clean. At this Hostel you will for sure get the best value in Nairobi, as everything else cost's a fortune. The restaurant is the strong point here, serving very good Indian food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I booked a 5-days safari tour with them (African Home Adventure Safaris, which is OK). On the way home, I stayed one nite with them. The location is clean and quiet, about 45 minutes' walk from downtown Nairobi - a bit far out from centre of action.
Beginning too tired of the jeep ride, I didn't check the room before I agreed to a shared room. Big mistake - a student has been staying in that room for months. His stuff were strewn all over the room -- really messy. I hardly had space to put my backpack! The room was too small for two persons, even with double-decker bunks. Shared bathroom was a bit dirty and run down.
Food from the cafeteria aren't great. However, food are available 20 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

My first impression of this place was actually good. Its located in a safe neighbourhood of Nairobi. The place looks good from the outside, has a nice cafeteria and a shop within its premises which stores everything that a traveller might need. However the biggest issue for me here was the level of cleanliness. The bathrooms/toilets are particularly dirty and the flushes weren't working well leading to a bad stench on some days. That completely ruined the stay for me. The management especially the manager James are very receptive to feedback. I hope they can fix the cleanliness of this place because on all other fronts, this place is actually quite decent

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.8 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#9 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Progressive Park Hotel
Progressive Park Hotel
#20 of 133 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#18 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manyatta Backpackers
Manyatta Backpackers
#28 of 140 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi International Youth Hostel

Address: Ralph Bunche Rd, Nairobi 48661, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Nairobi International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi International Youth Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.