We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freindly stay..........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi International Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Nairobi International Youth Hostel
Ralph Bunche Rd, Nairobi 48661 , Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Freindly stay..........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed hear in Dec 2010 for week and a couple of days before i flew back to uk in late March 2011,it was basic but i found the staff very helpfull,at the time they were putting a pizza oven in,for futher extension of the cafe,the staff were great and i met some very intresting people there including James an 80 year old back packer from the states,the hostel was used for community events,but it was basic but the people made my stay there..and even tough its not the ritz i would stay back ther as i liked the feel of the place..allthough the water was on certain times,it didnt spoil my stay,but overall i LIKED it.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
3
4
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in Nairobi, the International Youth Hostel located in community district if probably the best option in the city. Not far away from several useful places like pharmacy, fruit vendors, hospitals, southern Sudan embassy, etc.

The hostel staff is just great and very helpful. Great people. There is also a restaurant just aside the hostel where you can have a tasty and cheap meal.

Rooms are normal and you couldn't expect more from a East African youth hostel room, with bunk beds and shared bathrooms. I stayed here twice and last time I got a 2 bed room, so since no one else was staying there I end up having the room all for myself for 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madremanya, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were there some days and all is correct for the price you are paying. My opinion is that they can increase the price a bit for the sleeping night and reform some places, change some matresses, condition the washrooms...

Room Tip: Opposite the hostel is a Java House Coffee... great place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Narobi Youth Hostel is a very basic place, with rooms that are not very clean. At this Hostel you will for sure get the best value in Nairobi, as everything else cost's a fortune. The restaurant is the strong point here, serving very good Indian food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I booked a 5-days safari tour with them (African Home Adventure Safaris, which is OK). On the way home, I stayed one nite with them. The location is clean and quiet, about 45 minutes' walk from downtown Nairobi - a bit far out from centre of action.
Beginning too tired of the jeep ride, I didn't check the room before I agreed to a shared room. Big mistake - a student has been staying in that room for months. His stuff were strewn all over the room -- really messy. I hardly had space to put my backpack! The room was too small for two persons, even with double-decker bunks. Shared bathroom was a bit dirty and run down.
Food from the cafeteria aren't great. However, food are available 20 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

My first impression of this place was actually good. Its located in a safe neighbourhood of Nairobi. The place looks good from the outside, has a nice cafeteria and a shop within its premises which stores everything that a traveller might need. However the biggest issue for me here was the level of cleanliness. The bathrooms/toilets are particularly dirty and the flushes weren't working well leading to a bad stench on some days. That completely ruined the stay for me. The management especially the manager James are very receptive to feedback. I hope they can fix the cleanliness of this place because on all other fronts, this place is actually quite decent

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We only can take shower and use water in toilets from 8 to 11am and 7 to 9:30 pm. During the day time there is water on the roof but not in toilets. Sometimes the electricity and water were both turned off while I took shower. The most serious problem is that it is NOT SAFE there. My friend's laptop was stolen recently and she is the only one who lives in the room, which means only the staff got the key of the room. After her computer was stolen, the manager of this hostel refused to investigate!!! Please consider seriously before you book this hostel. And also the staffs in this hostel please find my friends' computer for her, otherwise I will keep reporting the event.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi International Youth Hostel

Also Known As:
Nairobi International Youth Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi International Youth Hotel
Address: Ralph Bunche Rd, Nairobi 48661 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 88 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Nairobi International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.