We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macushla House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Macushla House to your Saves list
Macushla House
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed at Macushla House for four nights during August 2014. It's the ideal place to recover from a long flight, or to recharge your batteries after safaris. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable beds and good bathrooms. The staff are friendly, kind and professional, food very good, with a wide choice each day, and excellent coffee and cakes! The surrounding gardens are delightfully wild, attracting birds and a few small mammals, with plenty of space to relax outdoors close to the pool. I felt at home from the moment I arrived, late in the evening, receiving a warm welcome and finding a hot water bottle in my bed! Ideally placed to visit the interesting Kazuri Bead establishment and Karen Blixen Museum, not forgetting the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust's Nairobi Nursery for orphaned baby elephants, where three of my foster babies live!

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms are quiet bearing in mind the peaceful situation of Macushla House. I used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
35
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I had heard about this place from many a person. Therefore I gave it a try. And got disappointed. Big time disappointment.

I mean it is just an old colonial house turned into a bland guest house and overpriced (emphasise on overpriced) drinks. You wanna know how expensive? I will let you in on that secret - $1.5 for a 300ml coke. Yeah, I know. just like you, I was left wondering whether theirs has salt and pepper added.

It seems to be a popular place for bridal photo shoots. I counted about three wedding parties coming to use their grounds for photo shoots. all that colour was actually the best part as there was enough eye candy to last a lifetime.

A bit notice on the gate shows that it is accessed via invites only. And it is quite hidden deep inside Karen area with no directions nor sign posts to guide you there.

Need a photo shoot for a bridal party? Try it. You may like it. Need a place for a holiday? Felt that the place is not worth the hype

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Black Hills, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I only stayed one night here, but I loved it. Great location in Karen suburb of Nairobi close to loads of must-see attractions. Room was clean and most comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. I arrived rather late at night, but staff was very attentive and accommodating and made me feel right at home. I was asked if I was hungry, and I requested just a cup of coffee. Before I knew it, she brought a lovely tray of French-press and pastries to my room! Slept very well and was on my way out early the next day before anyone else was up. Yet the cook quickly made certain I had a very good breakfast before leaving.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I've stayed at Macushla twice now and loved it both times. It is a reasonably priced, characterful peaceful haven away from the city of Nairobi in the suburb of Karen ("Out of Africa" fame) and within minutes of the Giraffe Sanctuary, Sheldrick elephant orphanage, Karen Blixens' house and Kzuri beads. Not far from Wilsons airport if you are going on to the Mara for safari too. The lounge/dining rooms, bedrooms and outside patio areas are inviting and tastefully furnished. Food is great . It is very welcoming to have plunger coffee or tea with cakes on arrival by the pool. Vervet monkeys run around the carpark,so good photo opportunities. Staff are also friendly and helpful. I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Macushla House was the two day preparation site for our safari with a family of ten. Excellent location away from the bustle of downtown, it is located in the western suburb of Karen near all of the "want to see" activities including David Sheldrick elephant orphanage, Giraffe Center, curio shopping and Karen Blixen House (Out of Africa author). The accommodations are wonderful as it is a small six room country home with all of the modern hotel amenities. Beds were great, the dining superb and the grounds beautiful. Kudos to the staff as they were most attentive and accommodating. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The detached cottage away from the main house has only solar power and does not provide the normal a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our first port of call was Macushla House Nairobi for 3 nights and then 3 nights after our safari. This is a country house located in the Karen area of Nairobi with easy access to the DSWT, Giraffe Centre, Karen Blixen museum and coffee garden and Matbronze museum/art gallery and close to the Galleria shopping complex. This is a beautiful, tranquil hotel that is just perfect for a stay in Nairobi. There are only 6 rooms with on-suite, a restaurant, terrace, swimming pool and the gardens are stunning attracting many birds and other animals. This is a little part of heaven and we will return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

very nice place very well owned we stayed there for only 2 nights but we were really happy to discover this very typical place , nice rooms full of place , familiar athmosphere nice food , good srvice , good breakfast and very nice environnment .
I recommand it for sure

Room Tip: our room was just perfect for us , lot of space colonial style , we enjoyed it a lot we had the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macushla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macushla House

Address: Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macushla House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Macushla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macushla House Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macushla House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.