We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macushla House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Macushla House
Save Saved
You added Macushla House to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect start”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is our 2nd stay. As before we booked in for a couple of nights before setting off on safari. It is a perfect spot to relax after the flight from London and all the stressful activity leading up to departing for any holiday, esp straight after the festive season.
We were lucky enough to get the same room so that felt familiar and homely. All the staff are attentive and helpful without being intrusive.
The birds and the vervets get the wildlife experience off to a great start, all whilst relaxing around the pool.
Thanks to everyone who made it such an enjoyable stay. When we return to Kenya we will start by booking back into Macushla House

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
31
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Well situated in Karen area near main attractions ans and and and Nairobis top restaurants. Feels more like visiting somebodys home and not a hotel. Well organised with large clean rooms in a quiet and peacefula area. Excellent food and drinks cooked by friendly staff. We had a couple or after dinner evenings in the sitting room around the fireplace which kick starts the African magic! Even our youngest who had a mild case of indigestion was very well taken care of by the staff. highly recommended and congrats to the friendly onsite owner for providing a

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at Macushla House for 2 nights on a recent trip to Kenya and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The guesthouse is small, peaceful and in a lovely spot in Karen - just on the outskirts of Nairobi. We had 2 breakfasts, 1 lunch and 1 dinner at the guesthouse and all the meal were fantastic and well priced. The staff were very friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. They have free wifi available in the lounge and laundry service too. The guesthouse is really close to the Giraffe Centre too which made for a great excursion during the day - you can easily (and safely) walk there which is nice. We had a great time relaxing by the pool, watching the squirrels and vervet monkeys playing in the trees, and would not hesitate to recommend Macushla House if you're looking for a relaxing place to stay in Nairobi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Macushla House is a wonderful inn about an hour outside of Nairobi - close to the Karen Blixen estate and the giraffe and elephant orphanages. The lodge and our room wreaked charm and romance and exceeded our idea of what an African lodge might be like. Although I gave value a 5 star rating (TripAdvisor made me say something), I cannot really comment on the price because the Inn was included in our tour package (Africa Travel Resources - an unbelievably good travel agent - ask for Lenny). The food here, and everywhere else we ate in Kenya, Tanzania and the CapeTown area was phenomenal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A great boutique hotel in the suburbs of Nairobi, this place is the perfect place to stay and relax in Nairobi. It is also close to the main attractions in the Langata/Karen area: the Giraffe centre is short (and safe) 10 minutes walk away, while the elephant orphanage and Karen Bixen house are nearby.

The hotel itself is very well decorated, is in a very quiet location, surrounded by a lot of vegetation. Te rooms are very spacious and comfortable.
Finally, the food is really excellent and it is really worthwhile eating at the hotel.
Definitely a highly recommended place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After surviving the commute from Jomo Airport in the hellish Nairobi traffic, Macushla House will feel like the most warm and welcome place in the whole of East Afrca. Our group of 4 spent just one night there on our way to the Mara, but we wished we were going to stay longer.

The gated House, originally designed as a duel residence, but turned boutique hotel, has an almost Meditteranean feel upon entering. Tucked away gardens and rooms, each decorated with cool artwork, feel totally cozy and elegant at the same time. The fires burning in the large wood burning fireplaces add to the movie-set feel while taking the chill out of the cool night air.

Ahhhh.

And then there is the food. Fantastic. And the staff. Friendly, attentive and great conversationalists. There's also a swimming pool, in a beautifully landscaped yard, but we didn't have time to enjoy it.

Only one snag in our stay and it was just our dumb luck. The owner was hosting a birthday party that night on the back patio. We were rudely awoken in the middle of the night by the drunken guests who carried on and on and even tried to get into our room! No doubt they were completely turned on their heads in their drunken state, but it was annoying and shameless. And who is there to complain to when the toublemaker is the one you're paying? Good thing birthdays only come once a year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

In the Karen region of Nairobi, Macuschla House is a delightful little oasis in the grimy city. Close to the sites, we spent two nights here with a full day visiting the Elephant Orphanage, the Giraffe Center, Utamaduni Crafts, and the Kazuri Bead Factory.

Nice rooms, good breakfast, great service, and a gorgeous pool out back. Pool could have been cleaner, but it was their winter in fairness.

Why drop $1K on the Giraffe hotel when you can stay here?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macushla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macushla House

Address: Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macushla House 3.5*
Also Known As:
Macushla House Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macushla House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.