We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable boutique guesthouse in a lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macushla House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Macushla House
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable boutique guesthouse in a lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at Macushla House for 2 nights on a recent trip to Kenya and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The guesthouse is small, peaceful and in a lovely spot in Karen - just on the outskirts of Nairobi. We had 2 breakfasts, 1 lunch and 1 dinner at the guesthouse and all the meal were fantastic and well priced. The staff were very friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. They have free wifi available in the lounge and laundry service too. The guesthouse is really close to the Giraffe Centre too which made for a great excursion during the day - you can easily (and safely) walk there which is nice. We had a great time relaxing by the pool, watching the squirrels and vervet monkeys playing in the trees, and would not hesitate to recommend Macushla House if you're looking for a relaxing place to stay in Nairobi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
31
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Macushla House is a wonderful inn about an hour outside of Nairobi - close to the Karen Blixen estate and the giraffe and elephant orphanages. The lodge and our room wreaked charm and romance and exceeded our idea of what an African lodge might be like. Although I gave value a 5 star rating (TripAdvisor made me say something), I cannot really comment on the price because the Inn was included in our tour package (Africa Travel Resources - an unbelievably good travel agent - ask for Lenny). The food here, and everywhere else we ate in Kenya, Tanzania and the CapeTown area was phenomenal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A great boutique hotel in the suburbs of Nairobi, this place is the perfect place to stay and relax in Nairobi. It is also close to the main attractions in the Langata/Karen area: the Giraffe centre is short (and safe) 10 minutes walk away, while the elephant orphanage and Karen Bixen house are nearby.

The hotel itself is very well decorated, is in a very quiet location, surrounded by a lot of vegetation. Te rooms are very spacious and comfortable.
Finally, the food is really excellent and it is really worthwhile eating at the hotel.
Definitely a highly recommended place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After surviving the commute from Jomo Airport in the hellish Nairobi traffic, Macushla House will feel like the most warm and welcome place in the whole of East Afrca. Our group of 4 spent just one night there on our way to the Mara, but we wished we were going to stay longer.

The gated House, originally designed as a duel residence, but turned boutique hotel, has an almost Meditteranean feel upon entering. Tucked away gardens and rooms, each decorated with cool artwork, feel totally cozy and elegant at the same time. The fires burning in the large wood burning fireplaces add to the movie-set feel while taking the chill out of the cool night air.

Ahhhh.

And then there is the food. Fantastic. And the staff. Friendly, attentive and great conversationalists. There's also a swimming pool, in a beautifully landscaped yard, but we didn't have time to enjoy it.

Only one snag in our stay and it was just our dumb luck. The owner was hosting a birthday party that night on the back patio. We were rudely awoken in the middle of the night by the drunken guests who carried on and on and even tried to get into our room! No doubt they were completely turned on their heads in their drunken state, but it was annoying and shameless. And who is there to complain to when the toublemaker is the one you're paying? Good thing birthdays only come once a year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

In the Karen region of Nairobi, Macuschla House is a delightful little oasis in the grimy city. Close to the sites, we spent two nights here with a full day visiting the Elephant Orphanage, the Giraffe Center, Utamaduni Crafts, and the Kazuri Bead Factory.

Nice rooms, good breakfast, great service, and a gorgeous pool out back. Pool could have been cleaner, but it was their winter in fairness.

Why drop $1K on the Giraffe hotel when you can stay here?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A great little find. We arrived from our 26 hr trek (USA to Nairobi) at 8 pm local time, expecting to go to bed without dinner. Happily we were wrong, and they cooked us a full dinner that was delicious. Mao, the resident cat, keeps you safe from critters, but does like to use the couch as a bathroom - just check before sitting down in the lounge area.
The bedrooms are nicely furnished, and the staff was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A most charming, well appointed inn with the feeling of home. Each public room is interesting with African style touches and cozy furniture and a nice fire to keep you warm when it gets chilly. The staff is most attentive which was exhibited when I asked one staff member if there was a heater I could use in my room. To warm myself up I took a hot shower and hopped into bed. Two seconds later there was a knock on the door by one of the staff bringing me a boiling hot rubber water bottle. That certainly impressed us plus it did the trick of keeping us warm while we napped.
Our one disappointment was the shower in room 6, a most beautiful room with a four poster bed and ethnic woven rugs. The water trickled out of the phone style shower head and it was a major task getting the temperature of the water cool enough to not scald myself . Otherwise, I have no complaints. If you come here, and you would want a better shower, request a room other than room 6, perhaps the shower is better in another room . Also there was no electric outlet in the bathroom which might be a problem for some people .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macushla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macushla House

Address: Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macushla House 3.5*
Also Known As:
Macushla House Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macushla House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Macushla House to your Saves list