We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place, close to Blixen & Sheldrick's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macushla House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Macushla House
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Maun, Botswana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Quiet place, close to Blixen & Sheldrick's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

As part of a pre-safari tour, I stayed 2 nights beginning December at Macushla. The trip was organized by a friend who chose this guesthouse. It’s located in the Karen district of Nairobi, a good 45 minute drive from the International Airport. It’s a good location if you want to visit the Karen Blixen Museum, Giraffe centre and Sheldrick’s Elephant orphanage as all is very close by. Wilson airport is also in good reach. I can recommend Macushla to those who seek the quiet away from the buzz downtown. However, if you are staying longer and want to venture out into the city centre, I recommend staying downtown.
Macushla House is like a typical African house with big fireplace and lots of decoration and artefacts which make you feel being in a friend’s house. The fact that this is also a small guesthouse adds to the intimate atmosphere. They have a lovely garden with pool and terrace seating. It seems to be a popular place for wedding photo shoots. The room I stayed was spacious and had a cozy alcove from where I could watch numerous birds on the bird feeder. It was a nice touch to find a hot water bottle in the evening in my bed. On the second day though, they brought it very early in the afternoon so that it was not to hot anymore by the time I went to bed. The shower in the bathroom had an interesting design and because the showerhead is fixed in the wall it can be a bit tricky at first until the water is hot. The water pressure was unfortunately very low, so washing longer hair is not easy. I liked the fact that they offer biodegradable amenities. The staff is friendly and attentive. The food is mediocre as far as lunch or dinner is concerned, but good in terms of breakfast. I did not check if they have internet

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
31
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Coming to Macushla House is always like coming home, the friendliness of the people, their care, the welcome of the cat and the homely atmosphere of the house itself. There is only one thing, the water pressure of the showers should be higher, but I don't know, if this was a temporarily thing. Otherwise it's lovely and good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I spent one night at the Macushla House this month. My flight arrived from London at 1:30 am, so I didn't arrive there until almost 3 am. The manager could not have been kinder. Breakfast was simple but good and I was able to have a look around while waiting for it to be served. The Macushla House is decorated beautifully and has a warm and cozy atmosphere. My room was lovely and very comfortable. Since I got in so late, staff was very kind about letting me keep my room and napping until my driver came to take me to Wilson Airport at 1 pm. I would love to come back and stay again sometime when I can spend more time there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay at the start or end of a safari if you want a quiet and peaceful small character hotel with pool and big comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff (even at 04.30 am when we were served breakfast with a smile) and homely atmosphere. There were lovely fresh flowers in the bedroom which disappeared the following day ... only to be replaced by fresh ones. There's a nice terrace to eat or drink outside when weather permits or an open fire inside when not.

It is in a residential area within safe walking distance of the Giraffe Centre (15-20 minutes) and not far by car to the Elephant Orphanage. The staff will arrange a car for you.

We found it much nicer than any of the bigger hotels in Nairobi as long as you don't want to be near the shops or the town centre. We were very well looked after and could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Room 6 has direct access to a small courtyard . Rooms 4 and 5 are opposite each other at the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Don't come here if you want glitz and glamour. Come here if you wnat to meet interesting people who enjoy somehting a bit different, if you want good home style food, if you wnat to be pampered and treated like one of the nice family members. This is one of the most divine places I have ever stayed. Homely, comfortable but still with all the mod cons, a lovely restaurant with great choices, fabulous service, beautiful grounds. Just heavenly.

Room Tip: Quite out of the way but superb location if going to the Giraffe centre or any of the other nearby a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aargau
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Macushla house has attractive rooms, either with view to the pool or to the garden. It is situated absolutely quiet in the Karen/Langata area. The place is absolutely safe - no need to lock your room. Food is excellent, great hospitality from the waiters and the management.
It is an excellent opportunity to start a safari, situated rather close to Wilson airport.
Not designed for people who want to go shopping closeby.

Room Tip: rooms at the pool side have a more attractive view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Macushla House is definitely my Nairobi home. Situated in Karen, right next door to the Giraffe Manor is Macushla House. Macushla House is just short drive to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and Karen Blixen Museum, and by far the best place to stay if your are visiting either. The food is wonderful, the rooms are perfect and charming, as well as the staff. I can't think of a more special place to land after 26 hours of travel. I will return here again and again, whenever I visit Nairobi.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at Macushla House are so charming. My favorite is 3 because of the large open wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macushla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macushla House

Address: Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 90 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macushla House 3.5*
Also Known As:
Macushla House Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macushla House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Macushla House to your Saves list